User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Summer 2018 crawl with Real Ale Ray on the Pub Forum

The Morgan Arms, E3

43 Morgan Street
E3
E3 5AA

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Metropolitan Pub Co (Greene King)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


moby duck left this review about The Morgan Arms

I probably picked the wrong day or time to visit this pub, Sunday afternoon, as the place was rammed solid with the Sunday roast brigade, every inch of floor space was taken up with occupied tables and chairs, which you had to weave in and out of to reach the bar, where for drinkers there was standing room only. The beer choice however was decent, four beers, one of which I didn't note for some reason and now escapes me, the others being Truman's Runner, Hackney Pale and Signature Brew Session . I can't say given the masses crammed into the pub, it was a great experience, but can imagine it being better at another time.

On 27th November 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1091 recommendations about 1080 pubs]


Komakino . left this review about The Morgan Arms

I've always associated Bow with Grime music and walking past stary locals at the nearby Coborn made me think this would be another "interesting" area. Not so. As I neared this corner pub, located on a crossroads, a chalk A-board out front proclaimed "New Menu Launch Today" and a light grey hue to the external wood made it look inviting along with the yellow and black stained glass inserts at the top reaches of the tall windows. High-ceilinged and a distressed bare-boarded floor, this has a squat, L-shaped bar against the rear centre wall, with seating of varying heights and comfort occupying the space in front and to its left. The bar itself has some superb (original?) wooden reliefs. Despite a handpump proferring GK IPA and another unclipped, the remaining three stumps offered up Wimbledon Copper Leaf, Southwark Two Bridges and an excellent Signature Brew Backstage IPA - a 5.6% monster in great shape. A friendly barman allowed me tasters of the two latter beers before I parted with £4.65 for the privilege of the IPA. Muted background muzak which allowed conversation and caricatures of deceased pop-culture icons including Michael Jackson, Prince, Bowie, Elvis and Carrie Fisher (as Princess Leia of course). This is a good'un and is less than a 5-minute walk from Mile End Tube and can be combine to make a three-pubber with the Coborn and Lord Tredegar. (Original Review 4th October 2017)

On 14th October 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 780 recommendations about 780 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Morgan Arms

Nice ornate interior serving 4 real ales and food.

On 18th March 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2418 recommendations about 2368 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Morgan Arms

The Morgan Arms is a decent sized corner corner pub that is in a pretty upmarket area of Mile End.
Once inside i had a deja vu moment,but i soon realised i had'nt been in the pub before, but had been in loads of London pubs that look the same as this one.
There is single L shaped room with the bar facing,the seating was a mix of too many types to mention,the ceilings were high and the floor bare boarded.
There were four real ales on the bar,i had a drink of beer called The Morgan,not sure who brews this but it was ok,the other beers were Doom Bar,Crate IPA which had an hand written note on the pump clip saying unfined,or in other words Cloudy,the other beer was from Trumans.
The pub was fairly busy with young trendy types who you always see in these types of pubs.
Food seemed to a big draw here.
This pub was ok for a quick half,but not really my sort of pub.

Pub visited 19/2/2014

On 19th February 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ted Jones left this review about The Morgan Arms

This place rules! :) so casual. Nice drinks, friendly staff. Coming back soon

On 1st April 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3 recommendations about 3 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Morgan Arms

Capital Pub Company gastro pub, with all that entails in terms of menu, furniture, decor and prices. Quite a small 'L'-shaped bar around the sides of the interesting, part-screened bar counter. Fancy dining area to the rear. Annoying tea light on the tables. Quite a laid-back atmosphere, with some KT Tunstall on as background music. Also has a few wooden benches out front. Three of the four handpumps were in operation, offering Greene King IPA, Doom Bar and Broadside (£3.70). No doubt aimed squarely at the residents of the nearby gentrified Tredegar Square area, and so long as you are not expecting a old-fashioned East End boozer then it is a reasonable example of its type.

On 3rd March 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 4769 recommendations about 4769 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Morgan Arms

This is essentially a gastropub, with food at gastropub prices. They did have three ales on though – Darkstar Saison, Sharp’s Doom Bar and Adnam’s Bitter. I just had the time for a swift half (of the Adnam’s) and at £1.75 for a half (£3.50 a pint?) the drinks are also at a premium price. This pub is in many respects much like hundreds of others of the genre that I have been in – painted pastel grey/green exterior, bare-boarded, sofas, armchairs, tall butcher’s block style tables and tall stools, and some normal tables and chairs. In fact furnishings are pretty much a mish-mash of odds and ends, with hardly any two pieces matching. It has the trademark high ceiling of a Victorian pub, and has some interesting features remaining such as the very nice stained glass panels at the top of the large plain glass window panes and the wooden surrounds above the bar counter. But these are the best features, with some very modern and arty decor elsewhere such as the stylised mural of a classical Greek (or perhaps Roman) head covering one wall and enormous depictions of chillies and a garlic head on another. A very mixed bag then.
But the welcome I received was friendly enough, the ale tasted OK. This is a reasonably comfortable enough place if you like sitting on sofas in these sort of madeover pubs.

On 5th June 2011 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2333 recommendations about 2259 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Morgan Arms

Nice comfortable single bar street corner local,2 beers on,Landlord and Adnams. 10 minutes from Mile End Station

On 6th June 2007 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2041 recommendations about 2021 pubs]