User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pubs Old & New with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Coborn, E3

8 Coborn Road
E3
E3 2DA

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Coborn

A surprisingly plush pub for a side street off the Mile End Road, although the whole area seems to be getting a bit gentrified. In typical Young's Pub Co fashion, it has been thoroughly modernised in a posh drawing room style, with lots of leather settees and armchairs. The rear part is tabled with one side being a restaurant. To the side is a 'snug' room with a screen for major sports events and there are some roadside tables outside at the front. Draught beers were Young's Special and Ordinary, with Redemption Pale as a very drinkable guest. A shade upmarket but pleasant enough.

On 14th March 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2194 recommendations about 2145 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Coborn Arms

Large Young's pub where food seems to dominate, it did on a Sunday afternoon anyway. However there were four ales on along with a mix of ordinary and corporate craft keg, the real ales were Youngs ordinary and Special(of course) and guests of Sambrooks Wandle and Purity Mad Goose,the Wandle being in decent nick.
Far from first on the visit list but fine for a pint.

On 27th November 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1325 recommendations about 1311 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Komakino . left this review about The Coborn Arms

Despite a stare or two from smokers out front on passing this place, I returned to find it rather harmless inside, even if some of the clientele seemed at odds for the demographic this Young's pub is trying to achieve (plenty of lager imbibing going on). Interior has been described below and the four ale line-up offered Young's Bitter and Special, Sharp's Doom Bar and Purity Mad Goose which was in good nick, despite a price tag of £2.35 for a half. Nice enough place, but they could take a leaf out of the nearby Morgan Arms' "muted muzak" policy.

On 4th October 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 962 recommendations about 962 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Coborn Arms

Tucked away just off the main drag. As described below plus a dartboard.

On 18th March 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2693 recommendations about 2637 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Coborn Arms

The Coborn Arms is a nice looking pub that is set in a terrace of nice looking houses.
There were a few benches to the front of the pub for warmer weather,once inside there was a decent sized room with seating wrapped around the bar,the seating was very comfy bench type and normal tables and chairs,there was a small area up a few steps to the front right,the room was carpeted throughout giving it a nice warm cosy feel.
The pub is a Youngs tied house,there were three real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Youngs bitter which was a very nice drink,the other beers were Youngs Special and a beer from Twickenham brewery.
There was some background music playing from the Carpenters,not what you usually here in pubs these days.
I felt very comfortable in this pub,the sort of pub you could settle in for a good session.


Pub visited 19/2/2014

On 19th February 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Coborn Arms

Solid-looking Youngs pub, part of a long terrace mostly constructed of the traditional yellow bricks used widely in the area. Large 'L'-shaped room, extending into a slightly lower painted building on one side which provides a separate lounge. Tiny games room located on the other side. Well lit, with semi-traditional decor and a good range of furniture. Large patio area under large umbrellas out front. Reasonable-looking menu. Two banks of three handpumps, offering Ordinary, Special and the seasonal London Porter (£3.50, but in first class condition). Overall, well worth seeking out.

On 3rd March 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Coborn Arms

This is a Young’s house, so nothing very exciting in the way of ales. But I don’t mind Young’s. They did have Winter Warmer on today, although I didn’t see any Bombardier. The Bitter was good, and at a pretty decent price of £2.75 a pint. It’s nice to report some particularly good service in a pub. I ordered a pint, sat down, had a gulp of beer, looked at the menu then went up to the bar to order a sarny. The barman was pulling through one of the handpumps, and when he finished he pulled a pint and plonked it in front of me. As I hadn’t ordered a pint I said it must be for someone else. “No”, he said, “I could see that your pint was a bit cloudy, and this is the replacement”. Now, that’s what I call service. The sarny was pretty good as well.
The pub consists of one large room with a large bar on the left. Furnishings are all normal tables and chairs with some banquette seating – the pub ideal in my view. It’s carpeted throughout, and has a warm and comfortable atmosphere. There were a number of obvious local regulars in there, and a few others in there for a bite to eat. A decent enough mix then. On the down side I did see a sparkler in use, and there were a couple of one armed bandits, a games machine, and a ciggy machine around the room. But they did have a Spiderman pinball machine, and the TV was muted. I would be very happy to drop in here for another pint when I am next in the area.

On 2nd December 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]