User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Date for Summer 2022 crawl in Winchester. with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

The Camel, E2

277 Globe Road
E2
E2 0JD
Phone: 02036202333

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Camel

A first for us a few nights ago into this late Victorian corner pub and what a treat! The most noticeable thing on arrival is the beautiful glazed burgundy tilework with raised scroll motifs, the name picked out on cream coloured glazed tiles to the fascia, all of which probably dates from around 1900.
Inside it's a very dinky place, broadly L-shaped with bar to the rear, which is attractive and probably original, featuring an unusual brass handrail; to the rear is a lovely brass Victorian cash register. The floor is bare boarded and there's wainscoting to the rear, above which are some old prints. A couple of mirrors adorn the wall, which are covered with black and red floral wallpaper; wooden fittings are dark lacquered with lighting comprising mainly glass and brass hanging lanterns with similar sconce lights and gas effect spherical sconce lights to the rear snug.
There's food, but it's along the likes of pies, or what looked like stew and mash, all of which looked very good.
The pub was full barring one table - it's a small pub - and most customers seemed to be under 40. The staff were very friendly and efficient, delivering my pint of Adnams Sea Strange to my table and for just £4.20 - very good it was too. Sambrook's Wandle was also on offer, though two pumps were sadly unused. In all, there was a great feel to the place.
This makes for a good double with The Florists Arms next door and is a must-visit if in E2 - for once, you'll look forward to a pub that gives you the hump.

On 18th October 2020 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1515 recommendations about 1495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Camel

Update
A consistently good pub, beers on latest visit were Sambrooks Wandle, Adnams Broadside and Oakham Citra, upgraded to 8/10.
September 2015
An attractive Brown tiled pub, one single long room with the bar running centrally along the back.Just two beers on, on my Tuesday afternoon visit, both from Sambrooks,Wandle and Pumphouse Porter.I like the ambiance of this pub, this was my second visit ,I'm sure there will be a third.

On 27th November 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1559 recommendations about 1540 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about The Camel

A classic, small, Victorian, street corner local.
The welcome from the staff was friendly and the pub popular on our Thursday lunchtime visit with many choosing to eat on the benches at the front of the pub. There's also a small courtyard at the back.
The Camel specialises in pies and there were many varieties on offer. They all looked good and a brisk trade was being done.
A chalk board inside advertises various cocktails with Bloody Mary's a speciality and there's a selection of board games available.
Beers were Oakham Citra, which flew down, Sambrooks Wandle, Adnams Ghost Ship and Five Points Pale. A decent selection for such a small boozer.
An unexpected gem in Bethnal Green which richly deserves a visit.

On 3rd October 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 674 recommendations about 673 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Camel

I was impressed by this little place,with it's wonderful glazed tiled exterior and street corner location.The small interior doesn't feel cramped with the clever use of several wall mirrors,there are a few high tables at the front ,and more traditional wooden furniture as you go to the rear.There are 4 handpumps ,and I went straight to the Oakham Citra,which was on top form.There was a friendly reception from behind the bar,and food tended to focus on pies ,but with upmarket fillings.They looked good,although I was just in for a beer.
I could have stayed much longer ,and would have been happy to sample both Adnams Ghostship and Five Points Pale from a good real ale offering.Benches outside were being well used on my lunchtime visit.
This pub is on the list for a revisit ,it sits in a road which is gentrifying but it retains a pub atmosphere and hasn't gone gastro. Dont miss it when you are next in Bethnal Green .

On 2nd September 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2338 recommendations about 2338 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Camel

We searched this one out for a lunchtime beer and bite to eat whilst visiting the nearby Museum of Childhood and really glad we did.
A very attractive small corner Victorian boozer with the traditional exterior brown tiling still intact and festooned with hanging baskets. The interior is as described below and I agree with other comments, still has a fair amount of character with its bold red-rose-on-black wallpaper and stressed wooden table and chairs seating.
Four Ales available on the bar for our visit and these were Adnams Ghost Ship, Sambrooks Wandel, Five Point Brewing Pale and an excellent Oakham Citra. But we were also here to eat and the straight forward Pie and Mash menu did the trick with the Moo Pie, Mash and Minty mushy peas really hitting the spot. And for a very wallet friendly lunchtime offer price of £6.95.
I understand the Camel has struggled in recent years and has shut down on a couple of occasions within recent memory. But really pleased to see it now performing well with a decent real ale policy and simple but excellently delivered pie menu.
I wish this one all the best and long may it serve the locals of Bethnal Green.

On 17th August 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1816 recommendations about 1754 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Camel

Attractive little corner pub, with its longer frontage on a side alley. Some impressive brown tile-work on the façade, but the compact interior seems to have been knocked around quite a bit. Still, it has a fair amount of character in its own way, with some rather startling red-rose-on-black wallpaper in the narrow bar and (mostly) traditional furniture. Also has some wooden benches along the side. Four real ales on handpump: Broadside and Tally-Ho from Adnams (with several more of this company's clips on display behind the bar), Tribute and Wandle (£3.60).

On 27th December 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 7021 recommendations about 7021 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Camel

There were three ales on when I visited at Saturday lunchtime – Sambrook’s Wandle (£3.45 a pint), Adnam’s Flame Runner, Crouch Vale Brewer’s Gold, and Hackney Brewery American Pale Ale. There was also a cider on tap, but I didn’t see which one it was. Food is a big deal here, with some specialist pies (Thai green curry, steak and chorizo) as well as the standards of steak and kidney and steak and ale. I think they were around £10 a throw. The pub doesn’t open until 4.0 PM during the week, and although they open at midday on Saturday, they don’t serve food until 1.00 PM.

There is a beautiful brown tiled exterior to this Victorian pub, and a few benches outside along the side alley. Inside it’s a fairly small one-room pub. It’s mainly furnished with those hard and uncomfortable re-cycled school chairs, solid wood tables, and more uncomfortable solid wood in the handful of tall tables and tall stools near the front of the pub. Walls are covered with extravagant black and red floral wallpaper, and there’s a large mirror at the back with a photograph of Winston Churchill in the centre brandishing a sten gun. Not the typical image of our gold standard Prime Minister, although the trademark cigar was also present. Other features are the model of the eponymous camel, complete with urn on its back, on the bar counter, a few black and white photographs on some of the walls, and (I assume it’s decor and not waiting for the DJ to turn up), a 78 record sleeve of Mrs Mills’classic album “Let’s Have Another Party”. An attractive “Camel” mirror sits on a ledge by the window.

This should be a really good little pub, and no doubt is on some levels. But the absence of any comfortable furnishings, and playing reggae music (as they were) are negative points in my book, but of course that’s just my subjective opinion. On the plus side it does do some decent real ale, and doesn’t have any fruit machines or their ilk to disrupt the serious business of ale consumption. Having said all that, it still retains a “pubby” atmosphere, and I’d be happy to give it another go.

On 9th September 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2599 recommendations about 2513 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Camel

A small narrow pub with a charming tiled façade, located on a street corner. The inside has been modernised but is more tasteful than some of the ghastly interiors London can offer. A fair range of four ales were on and the keg and cider choices were decent too. It was the end of a long crawl and I have no idea what I was given to drink but I was happy enough to consume it. The place seemed friendly and was pretty busy. I’d happily pop back to sample again and maybe this time make some proper notes.

On 24th March 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 4401 recommendations about 4387 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Camel

This is a simple street corner pub a short walk from Bethnal Green tube station. The single room is quite narrow with a wooden floor and half panelled walls, above which is black wallpaper with large red roses printed on it. Whilst this may sound pretty awful, the overall effect is pleasant enough. The right hand wall is covered by large mirrors which try to create the illusion of more space although this only really works if you're stood at that end of the room. Walls are otherwise decorated with some old pictures of the pub, most of which are group photos, perhaps of old regulars. Nowadays there are some benches where these people had been posing and on the hot day of my visit, they were all fully taken up. At the left hand end of the bar there is a table with books and board games and the day's papers were available from the bar counter itself.
Four handpulls offered Sambrook's Wandle and Junction, Crouch Vale Brewer's Gold (£3.60) and Adnams Ghost Ship. Cider was also available in the shape of Sandford Orchard Devon Scrumpy and Fanny's Bramble Cider with Blackberries. The tap selection was also pretty interesting, with mainstream lagers replaced by the likes of Freedom Four and Organic, Sam Smith's Wheat Beer, Frulli and Bitburger. I tried the Brewer's Gold which was in decent enough shape, even if the barman didn't seem to know how to operate the beer engine.
Not a traditional pub by any stretch of the imagination, but a friendly and cosy enough place to enjoy something from the tidy array of drinks on offer.

On 22nd July 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2795 recommendations about 2795 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Camel

Small cosy pub at the top end of Globe Road.Adnams beers on tap.Recently re-opend after closure.10 mins from Bethnal Green Tube station.

On 28th January 2007 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2044 recommendations about 2025 pubs]