User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 17th February 2019) with aleandhearty on the Pub Forum

The Red Lion & Pineapple (JD Wetherspoon), Acton, W3

281 High Street
W3
W3 9BP

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Red Lion & Pineapple (JD Wetherspoon)

Wedge-shaped building (with a curious semi-circular single-storey extension instead of an angled end) in a prominent corner position on the main road. As a traditional pub, isn't obviously a 'spoons either externally or (more surprisingly, perhaps) within. Features a triangular island bar, with further seating in a back room to one side and a patio area to the rear on the other. Large windows, so not much wall space for decoration. Reasonable selection of real ales from total of nine handpumps, including a very acceptable Dark Star Hophead at just £2.29.

On 3rd June 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5216 recommendations about 5216 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Red Lion & Pineapple (JD Wetherspoon)

This large Wetherspoons venue on Acton High Street was previously a Fullers pub and takes its unusual name from two local pubs that were demolished to build Acton tram depot which was itself demolished in 2010. The pub has an unusual layout, comprising one large, almost circular room with a huge island servery in the centre, and a smaller rectangular room to the rear. Seating in the main bar area is predominantly restricted to high tables and stools around the perimeter, a small handful of regular tables and chairs and a couple of padded bench booths with attractive stained glass partitioning screens. The room is nice and bright thanks to the large windows running around three sides of the room, all with bright, colourful glass inserts. Bunting and flags decorated the room in order to promote an upcoming beer festival and towards the rear there were a few interesting old photos of the local area. Moving into the raised rear seating area, some more booths and banquettes provide comfortable options to relax over a pint whilst enjoying the view out to the busy junction outside. There is a nice fireplace at one end of the room and the walls in here are decorated with more local photos, newspaper clippings and some Rebus puzzles that were positioned too high to be able to solve them. There are also a couple of paintings of lions, which compliment the large lion above the main entrance and the other statues on the bar counter. I failed to spot a pineapple equivalent though.
The beer options were a little underwhelming, with the various banks of hand pumps offering three 'Spoons regulars, three 'Coming Soon' clips and just the two guest ales, with one turned clip on the final pump. I tried a pint of the Windsor and Eton Guardsman which was in undeniably good shape. The bar staff seemed a no-nonsense bunch, coping well with a rough bunch of customers propping up one end of the bar, whist the waiting staff were very friendly, helping an old lady sort out a taxi home.
I quite liked this place, especially the rear seating area which I found had more of a pub-feel to it than the open plan bar area. The guest options were a little disappointing, but a limited offering was offset by a very good quality pint, which is always fine by me. One of Wetherspoons better pubs and up there with the best I found during a mini-crawl round Acton.

On 18th October 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2252 recommendations about 2252 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Red Lion & Pineapple (JD Wetherspoon)

As stated by previous reviewers, this 'spoons is housed in an original pub - and judging by the name is a combination of two old liquor licences. As 'spoons go this is a good one. As is usually the case with pubs these days, there's a central island bar in the main room surrounded by comfortable furnishings, which has avoided it looking like the drinking barns of most 'spoons conversion pubs. There's a separate room at the back end, reached up a step or two, and which contains one or two booths and more normal tables and chairs.

We were in at around 11.30, but didn't notice any of the groups of all day drinkers seen in many 'spoons. Beer prices seem to be at the cheaper end of the 'spoons pricing spectrum as well, with guest ales at £2.05 a pint, and with the traditional breakfast at £3.09. I like this pub quite a lot, and reckon that if I lived locally I would be a regular visitor.

On 13th December 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2437 recommendations about 2360 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Red Lion & Pineapple (JD Wetherspoon)

This is an unusual Spoons as not only is it an original pub, but was a Fuller's house.
I remember visiting it not that long before they sold it off in late 1993, but don't remember too much about it.

It's a classic corner pub with an island bar plus a separate room at the back that is reserved for diners which was empty at around midday.

It is also GBG listed.

There were two banks of handpumps, the main six at the front and the three further back taken up with GK IPA and Abbot (there was no Ruddles). The main six had one unused, Deuchar's IPA, Cotswold Spring Ambler, an uninvited guest in the form of a Marston's Single Hop beer and two Locale beers, Twickenham Vanguard and Bingham's Doodle Stout (from Berkshire!).

I went for the Doodle Stout (£2.25) which was in great condition and made me ask for the second time that day the question "Why does anyone drink Guinness?".

Spoons that are original pubs are usually worth a look and this is no exception.

On 13th September 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2101 recommendations about 2096 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Red Lion & Pineapple (JD Wetherspoon)

Unusual on two counts. Firstly this was a pub before Wetherspoons was even thought of, secondly the name. I have no concrete proof but I'm advised the unusual name is due to to combination of two pubs. Makes sense to me. Nowadays however the old red lion stands guard over the entrance, and once inside other members of the pride in brass version stand by the door and over the bar. A large sort of wedge shaped pub now, due to the road junction it sits across, large windows all around give a bright aspect. Mixed seating , standard 'Spoons style, booths by the window seperated by half height screens. There is an outdoor area at the back.
Plenty of handpumps in banks around the island bar, 6 festival ales on. Not bad, retaining some pre Spoons character.

On 23rd April 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1672 recommendations about 1649 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Richard Arwkrite left this review about The Red Lion & Pineapple (JD Wetherspoon)

On a visit to the stepsons he invited us out for Sunday lunch.He has short arms and long pockets and so it came as no surprise that we ended up here.Only a short walk from his flat we had no worry about parking which was good because there isn't any.Wheelchair access is ok if you pick the proper door but once inside the furniture makes it a tight squeeze.It is on two levels but it should be no problem.The large bar had only one bar person,the rest of the staff were delivering food which was a lot better than I expected. I did not get to try the beer as I drink red wine when eating.Most of the customers appeared to be drinking lager.Plenty of people eating and drinking so it became quite crowded.There is a small railed area for the smokers to sit but its next to a busy set of traffic lights and the fumes were very strong.An average Wetherspoons, I would have no fears visiting it again.

On 9th October 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 197 recommendations about 185 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Red Lion & Pineapple (JD Wetherspoon)

This place has nine hand pumps and there were six different ales on during my visit alongside a large selection of Standard lagers. It is a very big pub with a large island bar and a separate dining area towards the rear. There are a couple of plasma screens and the Arsenal Champions League game was being advertised, although this was on ITV so being a Wetherspoons there is no Sky Sports.

The pub is on a busy corner, but there is a reasonably sized paved beer garden at the rear for the smokers.

This is better than the average Spoons.

On 9th April 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3344 recommendations about 3324 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about Red Lion & Pineapple (JD Wetherspoon)

Large single bar Wetherspoon's with a side drinking/eating area and also an outside drinking area. usual real ales on offer but not much in the way of guest beers on my visit.

On 18th January 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2043 recommendations about 2023 pubs]