User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Yet another list with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

The Packhorse & Talbot, W4

145 Chiswick High Road
W4
W4 2DT
Phone: 02089940360

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Taylor Walker (Spirit Pubs)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Packhorse & Talbot

Not a pub I would use regularly but they have 4 beers usually from regional brewers.My Adnam,s was okay.

On 9th November 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 887 recommendations about 875 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about The Packhorse & Talbot

Update – December 2012

Now branded as a Taylor Walker pub, this is a large cavernous main road pub with adjoining areas served by a central three sided bar and very much a generic chain pub feel.

On my recent Saturday morning visit, I counted a total of 7 TV screens dotted around the pub showing the Wigan v Arsenal game. Whilst the volume was not over loud, it would have been nice to have had a TV free area.

Beers on were Doom Bar, Thwaites Wainwright and Santa’s Spirit from the Sole Bay Brewery, which I presume is Adnams, although the pump clip wasn’t in the usual Adnams house style and shape. It was pretty good, although no one else in the pub seemed to be drinking it.

It’s OK for a quick pint in passing, I suppose, but The Tabard ( near the Tube Station ) is likely to have a better beer range.

Original review - June 2010

The Packhorse and Talbot is a large roadhouse type of pub on the main Chiswick High Road.

Outside the pub, an information board tells us that a talbot acted as a guide dog for a traveller with a pack horse, and that this pub was simply called The Pack Horse between 1698 and 1811. It was frequently confused with the other Pack Horse ( this being The Old Pack Horse - the Fullers pub further down on the other side of the road ).

The Packhorse and Talbot is part of the Punch Taverns empire and is a typical large chain pub outlet with a variety of different areas and that rather generic impersonal feel that such pubs often have. There's a few TV screens dotted about and a food orientated area at the back of the pub, but it's one of those pubs that's trying to be all things to all men. In this respect, it's a notable exception to the rule for Chiswick.

On my recent Sunday afternoon visit, it was doubtful whether the John Bonser 3 minute service standard was met, despite their being hardly any other customers waiting. Beers on were GK Abbot, London Pride and Youngs London Gold. The London Gold - £ 2.75p - was in reasonable form and probably represents better value for money than the London Pride at £ 3.15p.

This is one of those typical template pubs that are difficult to specifically like or dislike, and I'm not putting it down for a return visit any time soon.

On 7th January 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Packhorse & Talbot

Large open plan pub with a central square bar. 4 real ales and food served.

On 1st March 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2580 recommendations about 2524 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Packhorse & Talbot

There were four ales on here, all drawn from the ranks of the usual suspects. But the Young’s London Gold was remarkably good value, being on offer at £2.25 a pint. Being a Taylor Walker branded pub the standard pub grub menu is available throughout the day. The interior of the pub is one large expanse, but with a courtyard area at the back on the right equipped with a large canopy to protect smokers from the elements. It’s typically furnished, with a number of tall tables/stools, but mainly with normal (but scrubbed and/or distressed) tables and chairs. I suspect that there was also a sofa or two lurking in a corner somewhere. The area to the front of the bar counter is bare-boarded, with the room’s extremities being carpeted. There are a handful of aluminium framed tables and chairs on the pavement at the front of the pub. The inevitable large TV screens are present of course (muted and showing the news), plus a selection of fruit machines.
There was nothing particularly wrong with this pub that I could see. It definitely lacks the small pub character, but it’s OK for a (cheap at the moment) pint if you’re passing.

On 5th November 2011 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2513 recommendations about 2431 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Packhorse & Talbot

A large pub situated on the main drag through Chiswick, but more at the Turnham Green end. An open plan layout inside, wrapping around the central island bar. The pub is mainly carpeted, but with a wood floor and black and white tiled area directly in front of the bar. It was fairly dark inside, on a bright day, but the decor is darkish, and it probably benefits the view of several large screens dotted around.
Four pumps served Youngs London Gold, Taylors Landlord, Pride, and guest Sheps Canterbury Jack. A change from the prevalent Fullers in the area.
Personally I found the large space to be rather lacking in character or any sense of history or interest. The beer however was fine.

On 25th April 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1681 recommendations about 1658 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Packhorse & Talbot

Popped in for a very quick one, and was disappointed that the Youngs London Gold ran out part-way through pouring. However, the barman asked whether I would like him to try to get a pint directly out of the barrel rather than wait for it to be changed. Took the risk, and off he went to the cellar and returned with a nice clear pint. Inside, the building has the look of a town pub trying to compete with a nearby Wetherspoons rather than the sort of fancy gastro-bar so prevalent in the area. Not great, but certainly better than I was expecting.

On 28th November 2009 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5639 recommendations about 5639 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Packhorse & Talbot

I had to wait to be served as the lone barmaid was messing about with the coffee machine behind the bar. Whilst I waited I noted that there were lots of different lagers available along with Pride, Tim Taylor, Honeydew and Bombardier. When I was finally served the barmaid was friendly although she may have waited until she had given my change back to me before answering the ringing phone.

I had a quick look at the food menu and it seemed like reasonably priced pub grub, but I didn't see anyone eating even though it was lunchtime.

There is a covered outside seating to the rear and the front of the pub for warmer days. There are worse pubs in Chiswick.

On 28th April 2008 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3458 recommendations about 3437 pubs]