User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

The Bell & Crown, W4

72 Strand-on-the-Green
W4
W4 3PF
Phone: 02089944164

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Fuller's

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Bell & Crown

A very plush and well run Fullers pub, facing out along the Thames footpath. We got here early evening, after the Sunday lunch crowd had moved on. I also preferred our timing as the pub looked very well with the subdued and ambient lighting. This is a large pub, so finding a seat was no problem and there was a lot of comfortable areas to choose from. I went for the Butcombe Rare Breed, which was good.

On 7th November 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Bell & Crown

After the disappointment of the Bulls Head, this restored my faith in the London boozer. Fair more outside seating.

Much quieter with plenty of staff on. The ESB was as good as I have had anywhere.

On 21st June 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 688 recommendations about 682 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Bell & Crown

Attractive Fullers pub overlooking the Thames. Various seating areas in the (upper) Terrace and (lower) Cobblers bars. Fairly traditional furniture and decor. Some wooden benches on the riverside path, and further tables on a small terrace at a slightly higher level. Plenty of staff. Chiswick, Pride, ESB and Seafarers (£3.60) available from a total of 11 handpumps scattered along the bar counter. Very busy on a sunny Friday afternoon, and its easy to see why.

On 15th September 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6175 recommendations about 6175 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Bell & Crown

Have utilised the Bell and Crown on several occasions over the years for a decent pint of Pride by the river, but was forced inside on Saturday due to the inclement weather and can concur that it is equally comfortable inside. Usual Fullers Pride and ESB were on but went for the Honeydew which was a decent pint and in line with previous experiences.
Never eaten here as I tend to utilise the Bull further up the river for this.

On 13th June 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1704 recommendations about 1653 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Bell & Crown

A traditional Fullers pub, with entrances either from the street or off the river path. There are attractive and well tended floral displays to the frontage. Once inside it is clear this is a proper pub, wood panelled walls, comfortable upholstered banquette seats, the central brick fireplace has a cast iron grate and exposed flue. There are plenty of mirrors and a variety of pictures of local history and interest. One caught my eye showing a Fuller's Brewery worker being ritually tarred and feathered in order to celebrate the completion of his apprenticeship, I'm guessing this was prior to current Health and Safety legislation! The bar sits approximately central along one side of the main area, and has some carved detail and curved end sections. Around from here is a small food servery. Generally carpeted with a boarded area in front of the bar itself.
Down a couple of steps at the rear is a lean-to conservatory area, popular it seems with diners, and affording good river views. You can go outside from here to the river path itself where there are a few benches on a small terrace.
Three sets of four pumps all dispensing the same, Pride, ESB, Chiswick and Gale's Festival. Service was efficient, the pub was fairly busy and what I assume to be the pub dog was busy entertaining everyone popping balloons.
There is a TV screen near the food servery but this was switched off at the time of my visit.

On 2nd May 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Bell & Crown

A quality pub indeed. I spent a few hours sitting outside by the river on a warm late September afternoon/early evening - until an unusually high tide came up over the footpath forcing us inside. Lovely place to sit and watch the river roll by. The food in here is pretty good, but it's not cheap. The service has invariably been very friendly when I've been in there.This being a Fuller's house you expect the beer to be good, and I was not disappointed. It's very comfortable to sit inside as well as out. However, when I was in there in November 2008 they were still using sparklers for some reason, but they removed them on request. There can't be many Fullers pubs in London that use them – this is the only one that I know that does. Notwithstanding the foregoing, this remains a decent riverside pub.

On 23rd November 2008 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Bell & Crown

I’m a big fan of Fullers pubs and this is one of my favourites as I have been using it for the last six or so years as my work local. The governor is nice enough in a dry sort of way and his wife is always very friendly to all who walk in. In the past the staff have been a bit miserable, but the current team are very friendly and on the ball. The bar runs most of the length of the main pub area and there is a range of Fullers beers alongside some standard draught. There is a conservatory with large windows at the rear of the pub and it has great views of the Thames. There is also a kitchen service area and some more seating around the corner of the pub at the rear, but strangely I have never had the need to venture around here.

There is some seating railed off from the tow path at the rear of the pub and there are also some picnic tables on the tow path for riverside drinking.

This pub is well worth a visit and in my opinion is the best in the area.

On 22nd May 2008 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Bell & Crown

Large Fuller's pub along the side of the Thames.A bit foodie but the real ales are first class.Conservatory at the back and an outside drinking area at the side of the river which is a great peaceful place to sit in the summer.

On 13th January 2007 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2044 recommendations about 2025 pubs]