User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
My reasons for removing a photo that I posted. with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

The Bell & Crown, W4

72 Strand-on-the-Green
W4
W4 3PF
Phone: 02089944164

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Fuller's
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Bell & Crown

This pub is a bit of a newbie compared to some of these riverside pubs, dating from only the early 18th century as the Bell, renamed the Bell & Crown in 1787, this incarnation arriving only in 1907.
It’s as described below: multi-level, a fairly traditional interior with a good patina to the older woodwork, dark wood field panelling, duck egg paintwork, traditional furniture with oxblood studded banquettes. The bar array is less traditional, with a tubular steel gantry and modern back. Décor arrived in the form of trendy framed prints, then some taxidermy; customers were mixed, local and unobtrusive.
A Fuller’s range, with a half of Hophead costing a stiff £2.90 and fine.
This isn’t a half bad pub, but it really can’t compete with the Bull’s Head a short walk to the south-east.

On 21st May 2023 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2009 recommendations about 1975 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Bell & Crown

This is a decent sized Fullers pub on the Thames Path, close to Fullers’ offices a short distance up the road. The bar is in the front part of the pub, with a nice servery down the right-hand wall boasting some fine woodwork features around the L-shaped counter and bar back. High tables and stools under the front windows provide basic seating options for drinkers, whilst lounge-style furniture emerge further into the room, which opens out a lot past the end of the bar. There’s a basic brick fireplace to the left, where the walls have nice panelling and a dark paint scheme and have been decorated with contemporary art and various classic board and pub game boards. A pillar towards the rear has some nice etched glass panes on it, and left of this is a door out to the riverside garden, with a modern etched glass pane in the door depicting a river scene. The space to the right leads you through to a separate dining room which has plenty more seating and a smart colour scheme, with a few seats in the rear section having good river views. The garden has a small raised decked area and a number of picnic benches along the path, although this wasn’t enough for a large post-work crowd, who also perched on the riverbank wall, which is very high above the river, so make sure you’re still steady on your feet before sitting here. With this being the Thames Path, it’s busy with walkers, joggers and cyclists, and so collisions are a very real possibility if you’re not vigilant moving around out here.
Just the three cask ales available on this visit - Fullers London Pride, Gales Seafarers and Dark Star Hophead, with the latter coming in at £5.00 a pint. The Hophead was in pretty good condition and the barmaid was very friendly in spite of a packed crowd.
This seemed like a nice Fullers pub which benefits from its prime location, but was nice enough inside to merit an extended stay regardless. The beer was in good nick, service was friendly and prompt and whilst there was nothing beyond the location to elevate this above your average Fullers pub experience, it was pleasant enough to recommend the short detour from Kew Bridge.

On 6th November 2022 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3126 recommendations about 3126 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Bell & Crown

A Fuller's tied house,with entrances both from the Thames Path and street level,beware at high spring tides the towpath becomes impassable and the tables here unusable.There is a raised lower Cobblers Bar(dining area) which will stay dry but you can't enter from the towpath,climb the metal stairway to the main body of the pub.
The decor is tidy and refurbished to look old,faux wood panelling much used.There is a small conservatory with seating giving great Thames views.Opposite the bar is a charming spot with a wood burner and two side fitted benches with brittania tables,a great spot in the dead of winter.Towards the street entrance there is a long high bench seat running below the window.An open kitchen churns out good looking food with a Friday fish special menu and a short regular menu from a named chef with a median main £15.
I was just in for a beer ,the 4 handpumps were offering Fullers London Pride,Olivers Island (NBSS 2.5) and Dark Star Hophead.
Slightly too food orientated to feel comfortable for a session and the ale selection is lighweight.

On 4th September 2021 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2748 recommendations about 2748 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Bell & Crown

An attractively located riverside Fullers pub, very spacious inside, food is a big thing here and I did eat and it was very good though not cheap. There are two banks of four handpumps with just the choice of three ales on my visit, Pride, Seafarers and Dark Star Sunquake. Not a bad pub but not a place I'd hang out all day either.

On 13th August 2021 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1889 recommendations about 1862 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Bell & Crown

A very plush and well run Fullers pub, facing out along the Thames footpath. We got here early evening, after the Sunday lunch crowd had moved on. I also preferred our timing as the pub looked very well with the subdued and ambient lighting. This is a large pub, so finding a seat was no problem and there was a lot of comfortable areas to choose from. I went for the Butcombe Rare Breed, which was good.

On 7th November 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3389 recommendations about 3388 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Bell & Crown

After the disappointment of the Bulls Head, this restored my faith in the London boozer. Fair more outside seating.

Much quieter with plenty of staff on. The ESB was as good as I have had anywhere.

On 21st June 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1355 recommendations about 1340 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Bell & Crown

Attractive Fullers pub overlooking the Thames. Various seating areas in the (upper) Terrace and (lower) Cobblers bars. Fairly traditional furniture and decor. Some wooden benches on the riverside path, and further tables on a small terrace at a slightly higher level. Plenty of staff. Chiswick, Pride, ESB and Seafarers (£3.60) available from a total of 11 handpumps scattered along the bar counter. Very busy on a sunny Friday afternoon, and its easy to see why.

On 15th September 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 8159 recommendations about 8159 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Bell & Crown

Have utilised the Bell and Crown on several occasions over the years for a decent pint of Pride by the river, but was forced inside on Saturday due to the inclement weather and can concur that it is equally comfortable inside. Usual Fullers Pride and ESB were on but went for the Honeydew which was a decent pint and in line with previous experiences.
Never eaten here as I tend to utilise the Bull further up the river for this.

On 13th June 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2147 recommendations about 2019 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Bell & Crown

A traditional Fullers pub, with entrances either from the street or off the river path. There are attractive and well tended floral displays to the frontage. Once inside it is clear this is a proper pub, wood panelled walls, comfortable upholstered banquette seats, the central brick fireplace has a cast iron grate and exposed flue. There are plenty of mirrors and a variety of pictures of local history and interest. One caught my eye showing a Fuller's Brewery worker being ritually tarred and feathered in order to celebrate the completion of his apprenticeship, I'm guessing this was prior to current Health and Safety legislation! The bar sits approximately central along one side of the main area, and has some carved detail and curved end sections. Around from here is a small food servery. Generally carpeted with a boarded area in front of the bar itself.
Down a couple of steps at the rear is a lean-to conservatory area, popular it seems with diners, and affording good river views. You can go outside from here to the river path itself where there are a few benches on a small terrace.
Three sets of four pumps all dispensing the same, Pride, ESB, Chiswick and Gale's Festival. Service was efficient, the pub was fairly busy and what I assume to be the pub dog was busy entertaining everyone popping balloons.
There is a TV screen near the food servery but this was switched off at the time of my visit.

On 2nd May 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1708 recommendations about 1681 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Bell & Crown

A quality pub indeed. I spent a few hours sitting outside by the river on a warm late September afternoon/early evening - until an unusually high tide came up over the footpath forcing us inside. Lovely place to sit and watch the river roll by. The food in here is pretty good, but it's not cheap. The service has invariably been very friendly when I've been in there.This being a Fuller's house you expect the beer to be good, and I was not disappointed. It's very comfortable to sit inside as well as out. However, when I was in there in November 2008 they were still using sparklers for some reason, but they removed them on request. There can't be many Fullers pubs in London that use them – this is the only one that I know that does. Notwithstanding the foregoing, this remains a decent riverside pub.

On 23rd November 2008 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2606 recommendations about 2520 pubs]

Page: 1 2