User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Is the Coronavirus affecting pub trade? with NickDavies on the Pub Forum

Wibbas Down Inn (JD Wetherspoon), Wimbledon, SW19

Gladstone Road
SW19
SW19 1QT
Phone: 02085406788

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Graham Coombs left this review about Wibbas Down Inn (JD Wetherspoon)

A reasonably adequate Wetherspoons in a Z-shape between two frontages, which breaks up the layout nicely. It is furnished in the old library style, with a green colour scheme. There are two sets of handpumps in different areas which tend to carry different beers, but they helpfully list the others too and there are usually some good and well-kept guests alongside the usual suspects.

On 30th October 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2194 recommendations about 2145 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about Wibbas Down Inn (JD Wetherspoon)

Massive and quite likable pub.Only stillaged beers from the fest on and they were dire.I have used and probably abused this pub a few times and usually the beer is in good nick so just an anomaly tonight.

On 21st March 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Wibbas Down Inn (JD Wetherspoon)

As you enter this place from Gladstone Road it doesn't seem that different to any other Spoons shop conversion until you realise that one side of the bar across the room as you enter is at the end of another huge area that leads to the other entrance in Russell Road where there is a second bar.

Of the 18 pumps I counted 9 festival ales plus remember seeing a Dark Star Original and Dorking Red Ale. This was only on day 2 of the festival, so presumably later there will be even more of them on.
The whole place seemed well run, and busy for a mid afternoon. I tried seven of the festival ales, all were in good condition and were priced at £2.49. This is up to 50p a pint more than other Spoons are charging, the most common price being £2.15 or £2.29, however it's probably worth it just to get the huge selection.

I've been to quite a few GBG listed Spoons that this place puts to shame. I would definitely return.

On 20th October 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Wibbas Down Inn (JD Wetherspoon)

Very Large 2 bar 2 entrance wetherspoons. The entrance i used was opposite the new wimbledon theatre.

On 13th March 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2693 recommendations about 2637 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about Wibbas Down Inn (JD Wetherspoon)

A deceptively large Wetherspoons named after the ancient name for Wimbledon with entrances in 2 streets and almost a bus journey between them. For the most part it is a pretty formulaic ‘Spoons although with 18 hand pumps the capacity for ales is well above the norm. I may have been spoilt on my visit as there was a LocAle Festival going on doubled with a “meet the brewer” session so the extraordinary number of ales available may have been somewhat inflated from the normal stock.

There are separate bars at both ends of the pub but with a couple of sharp turns you cannot see all the way through to the other end. The central area is a bit on the dark and claustrophobic side thanks to the low ceilings and lack of natural light.

Even when it is at its busiest it would be hard not to find a table such is the size of the place and, taking advantage of the curry club, I was surprised that the food arrived so quickly given that it was presumably busier than normal due to the festival events.

I didn’t encounter any of the usual unsavoury clientele (that is not to say it doesn’t attract any) and, as ‘Spoons go it was certainly above average although I would like to see what is on offer on a nomal day.

On 16th September 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Wibbas Down Inn (JD Wetherspoon)

This is just about the most strangely shaped pub I have known – a bit like a couple of dog legs bolted together. Anyway, there is little I need to add to Maldenman’s review, except to say that on one of the corners between two of this pub’s drinking areas there is a ceiling high metallic tree-like entity – possibly modelled on the Ent called Treebeard. Its other claim to fame is that it is where I quaffed my favourite ale of the recent beer festival, the most excellent Moorhouse Ambler Rambler.

On 29th April 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Wibbas Down Inn (JD Wetherspoon)

A large Wetherspoons in a former Tesco I believe, which can be entered from either end off different streets. The interior dog-legs around the two seperate bars. Lots of wood panelling, mixed seating types. Eighteen handpumps in three banks, two on one bar with the other on the front (Broadway end) bar. This can however cause logistical complications if the round you are buying includes beers from the different bars! There were 16 festival ales on last Tuesday night, with a couple changing over, none of that "Coming Soon" nonsence. It was good to see the new beers being properly pulled through on changing.
Much improved from my earlier visits I would say.

On 25th April 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1686 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Chris 87 left this review about Wibbas Down Inn (JD Wetherspoon)

Standard JDW joint - big, spacious, entertaining some 'characters' and cheap ale. Not much to say about this really, had a pint of Sharp's Nadelik which was adequate, although it took ages to get served on New Years Day with one member of staff behind the massive bar. Not very smart if you ask me, or other disgruntled punters.

On 3rd January 2010 - rating: 4
[User has posted 179 recommendations about 179 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Wibbas Down Inn (JD Wetherspoon)

Very unprepossessingly-looking building, and a fairly standard 'spoons interior with the ambience not helped by the low ceiling in the front section. However, with some 17 festival real ales on at the bargain price of £1.69 one really shouldn't complain too much. The beer was fine, the tables clear and the bar service was efficient too. The toilets were disgusting, though...

On 29th October 2009 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Wibbas Down Inn (JD Wetherspoon)

This has to be just about the most bland Weatherspoons pub I've ever been in. The beers are okay, but nothing out of the ordinary, whilst the grudging, unsmiling service is perhaps the only thing that sets this apart from other pubs in their chain.

On 28th May 2009 - rating: 3
[User has posted 2446 recommendations about 2446 pubs]