User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Disappearing and 'in peril' breweries with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

Hand In Hand, Wimbledon Common, SW19

11 Crooked Billet
SW19
SW19 4RQ
Phone: 02089465720

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Hand In Hand

Young’s pub that like the nearby crooked billet had an atmospheric interior on my dark winter night visit. The 2 pubs make a good double header.

On 31st October 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2802 recommendations about 2744 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about Hand In Hand

More of a proper pub than the The Crooked Billet just down the way, although food is a part of its makeup, there is a wider range of beer available and simply just feels more traditional pubby.A central bar servery catered for several distinct areas throughout the pub,eight pump handles in total with a choice on my visit of Young's Special, Bitter, and Hummingbird, along with Wells Bombardier, Courage Directors , Twickenham Spring Ale and Adnams Ghost Ship. Maybe not the most exciting choice of beer, but at least some choice.

On 31st March 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1436 recommendations about 1420 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about Hand In Hand

really nothing to choose between this and the crooked billet.

Even the prices are the same.

Youngs Special comes without a head.

More info and photos at my blog - http://bit.ly/1Tf0AGO

On 15th May 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 846 recommendations about 838 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Hand In Hand

We visited this decent sized Young's pub in search of a Sunday roast after spending some time walking round nearby Wimbledon Common. The pub's main room is dominated by the large servery, leaving a horseshoe shaped area which is filled with a mixture of seating, including in a couple of alcoves towards the back of the room. There is a smaller room to the front which was pretty much full up with diners when we visited and even busier was the fine outdoor patio area to the front of the pub, which was unsurprising given the good weather.
The place seemed to be mostly full of people who, like us, had been out walking and as such, there were a fair number of dogs in attendance as well. A TV screen to the rear of the main room was showing muted Grand Prix racing, but otherwise the place retained a charming traditional and almost rural feel to it. The menu was pretty good with a decent range of dishes, albeit at expensive prices, but I have to say that my roast was a bit of a letdown given how much was charged.
Despite being a Young's pub, there was a varied ale selection of Young's Ordinary and Special, Sambrooks Wandle and Junction (although the latter went off), Courage Directors, Wells Bombardier and Hogs Back TEA. My pint of Wandle was in great shape (possibly the best pint of this I've had) and the landlord clearly enjoys good beer as there was a real ale tuition evening advertised for the first Wednesday of each month.
I think this is a very nice and welcoming pub and it seems to complement the nearby Crooked Billet quite well, despite the fact that they are both Young's pubs in virtually the same location. I'd mark this one down for a return visit.

On 29th September 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2620 recommendations about 2620 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Hand In Hand

A perennially pleasing and welcoming pub with good beer and good food. I didn't eat on this visit but I have previously and I can vouch for the food from Caroline's Kitchen. I found a surprisingly broad selection here for a Young's pub, Youngs Ordinary, Special, London Gold, Bombardier plus Courage Directors, Sambrook's Wandle and Hook Norton Hooky Bitter. There is also handpulled cider from Addlestone's. The main room wraps around the central bar, and there are a couple of good sized alcoves at the back. The side room I understand has a children's licence, but they are not permitted in the main bar. The small courtyard to the front is a pleasant spot if you can grab a seat, and is shaded by a large horse chestnut tree. The grassy area across the lane is easily large enough to take any overspill on a sunny afternoon.

On 30th May 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1690 recommendations about 1664 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Hand In Hand

This pub has always felt very comfortable when I have visited. The (wooden) seats in the front area with the low ceiling are nice and light being next to the windows. There are also some more comfortable seats further to the rear, and today there was a real coal fire on the go. It’s also obviously dog friendly, as there were a couple of well-behaved mutts in the front of the bar, one obviously lying in the most inconvenient place of just inside the front door. This is a Young’s pub, so the beer choice is inevitably limited but the full range was on during my visit – Young’s Special; Bitter; Winter Warmer; London Gold; Well's Bombardier; Courage Directors; and Deuchar’s IPA. I must have missed one because the manager said that he had eight on. The Bitter was excellent and at the reasonable price (for Wimbledon anyway) of £3.05 a pint. The food menu seems to be a cut above the normal pub grub, but it’s not cheap – e.g. the steak, ale and mushroom pie was £10.95. I had the ciabatta brie and bacon with a handful of chips, which came in at £7.50 – but the quality was excellent.
The pub itself has an enviable location right on the edge of Wimbledon Common, and a grassed area in the front that can be useful in the summer. There’s also a small courtyard in the front of the pub with a handful of tables that clearly accommodates smokers’ needs. The front part of the bar has flagstones on the floor, and the area at the back is carpeted, all with normal tables and chairs. There is also a separate room on the left (as you look from outside) which I have only seen used by groups of ramblers about to set off over the common, but the Manager, Andrew, has also used it for beer tastings. The current pub started life as a bakery in the 19th Century, although the baker was apparently also selling beer. It did not have a full licence until 1974 when it was acquired by Young’s, who subsequently opened it up thus creating the larger pub we see today. Apparently before acquiring the full licence it also sold alcoholic fruit wine, to satisfy the needs of those who wanted something with a higher alcoholic content than beer! It also has a ghost – supposedly a young girl with long dark hair. It’s also been nominated for the CAMRA South West London pub of the year title. I wish them well, but they are up against some stiff opposition.
But what I really like about this pub is the fact that there is no piped music; no cash machine; no games machines and no one-armed bandits. That is a very rare combination these days. There is a TV tucked away on one of the walls, but it is only deployed when it is needed, which it seems is usually when the rugby is on. A good, clean, friendly, pub with good beer and good food, in my view it’s easily the best pub in Wimbledon.

On 10th February 2010 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2590 recommendations about 2504 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about Hand In Hand

A country in SW19 very cosy and just off the common, a bit foody but the Young's beer was in excellent condition. A bit pricey but if you are lucky enough to live in this very nice and exclusive area of Wimbledon this should not be a problem.

On 10th February 2009 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2044 recommendations about 2025 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Hand In Hand

The Hand in Hand is close to Wimbledon commom and almost next door to the Crooked Billet.
This pub looks quite nice from the outside with a small outside seating area at the front of the pub,it was also quite nice inside and it had an olde worlde feel to it.
This pub is a Youngs tied house and there were three real ales on the bar i had a drink of Youngs biter and this was a decent drink the other beers were Youngs Special and Winter Warmer.
This was a very nice pub but not as good as the one next door in my opinion.

Pub visited 14/12/2002

On 14th December 2002 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]