User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pubs Galore 10th Anniversary Crawl with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

Dog & Fox, Wimbledon Village, SW19

24 High Street Wimbledon
SW19
SW19 5EA
Phone: 02089466565

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


hondo . left this review about Dog & Fox

Large split level interior serving 6 real ales

On 31st October 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2700 recommendations about 2644 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about Dog & Fox

Upmarket treatment of and old and once grand hotel, not surprising in view of its location in the middle of Wimbledon Village. Many parts of the old fabric survive, but generally covered by a layer of arty decorations and furnishings, although it still has something of a genteel feel to it. One side is mainly used by drinkers, with the other end by the kitchen given over to diners. The 'Library' function room stands behind while there is a patio area by the road. The beer range is expanded beyond the usual Young's brews, with Proper Job and Wimbledon Common Pale on offer.

On 18th December 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2259 recommendations about 2207 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about Dog & Fox

Sixth and last of the Wimbledon 8. That stat tells its own tale.

I quite like this place - big, airy, full of paraphernalia , great location and beer as indifferent as the other six pubs.

Photos and more info at my walking blog - http://bit.ly/1Tf0AGO

On 15th May 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 669 recommendations about 663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Dog & Fox

The Dog and Fox is a huge Young’s pub in the middle of Wimbledon Village. The pub was last rebuilt in 1869, but there has been an inn on the site since at least 1617. The current building has clearly undergone the Young’s refurbishment treatment in recent times, which sadly means that it’s now quite tricky to pick out anything of historical interest. The pub has a corridor running from the front door to the bar, either side of which are two very different areas. To the left is the dining area – a huge split level room with some banquette lined booths on the lower level and a draped off area higher up which stretches surprisingly far back, before reaching a conservatory type room. The overall look is that of a restaurant, and it’s only by moving to the right of the corridor that you are reminded that you are actually in a pub. The servery is sited on the rear wall and there is a centrally located fireplace opposite. The room has a lot of seating including some nice banquettes and the sort of fancy wallpaper that you seem to find in Young’s pubs nowadays. Several TV screens were dotted around the room, each showing different action from the Olympic Games whilst loud music played over the commentary. There are two outdoor seating areas including one which had a BBQ on the go. We tried some of the food off the standard menu and whilst quality was good, it didn’t come cheaply.
Disappointingly there were just three ales available – Young’s Ordinary, Special and Wells Bombardier – although the full range of Young’s bottled beers were also on show in the fridges. I tried the Ordinary and thankfully it was pretty well kept.
This place may once have been an appealing proposition, but it has been messed about with so much that it barely feels like a pub anymore and certainly not one with any history. It might be a worthwhile option for a bite to eat – it is after all, no more expensive than other eateries in the village – but I can’t imagine me coming back here for a pint.

On 22nd September 2012 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2492 recommendations about 2492 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Dog & Fox

The Dog & Fox is set in the very heart of the very upmarket Wimbledon Village, and it shows. This pub has been part of the Young’s estate since 1834, although the current building results from considerable rebuilding in 1900, after which it was renamed the “Wimbledon Hill Hotel”. Thankfully it’s now reverted to its previous name. The usual range of Young’s ales was on during my visit, as well as the excellent Butcombe Bitter (£3.40 a pint). They do food of course, but cheap it ain’t.
It hasn’t changed since my last visit a year or two ago, and Maldenman’s description this summer remains valid. It is a good example of a Young’s pub made over to such an extent that any original pub character has long gone. High tables, high stools, high benches, and sofas abound. The only decent feature remaining is the mosaic flooring in what would have been the entrance hall in days gone by. But maybe this is the sort of pub that the patrons in this very upmarket part of London want. However, on the plus side, it was open when I was in Wimbledon Village at 11.30 AM, and the Butcombe Bitter was excellent. But there are better pubs down the road, or across the Common if you’ve got the time to walk to them.

On 16th October 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Dog & Fox

This is a large Victorian pub in a prominent position in Wimbledon Village, although records show that there has been a pub or inn on this site since the days of Henry VIII. Such a large building would clearly once have been divided into a number of seperate areas, however these days the main pub part is one large space. There is a seperate restaurant area to one side with in my opinion the pretty naff names based on Womble characters, eg Orinoco Lounge, Mme Cholet Room. Again beyond here part of the large building has been converted into a seperate Chinese restaurant.
There are a few hints of the pub's previous life, a mosaic tiled floor and hall remain in what would have been a main entrance once. The lobby of the "Tap Room"...marked in etched glass...is now thoughtlessly blocked over by high bench seating.
The main pub area feels too big and lacks pub atmosphere, the majority of the seating has been given over to those high tables and similar seats.
There is an outdoor seating area to the street, partially screened by planting.
A long standing Young's pub, I could only see three handpumps on my recent visit, of these just two on, Ordinary Bitter and Waggledance.
I suspect the pub has a target market of diners during the day, perhaps younger drinkers later on. It just seems to completely lack character and ambience to me.

On 14th July 2010 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Chris 87 left this review about Dog & Fox

This pub is big, I mean massive; On a friday night you could arrange to meet a mate in here and spend the whole night looking for him. The emphasis on the place is very much on the food side which I don't really have a problem with - it is Wimbledon after all. Its probably the area's most popular boozer and that is reflected in the pricing which is fairly steep although my pint of Youngs Special was in reasonable order. Perhaps for a quieter, more traditional setting I'd suggest the Rose & Crown up the road.

On 19th November 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 179 recommendations about 179 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Dog & Fox

The Dog and Fox is a large old pub at the top of the hill and in the very posh Wimbledon village area.
Once inside there was one very large room that i noticed and i did'nt really like this room that much,this is a Youngs tied house and there were three of their beers on the bar i had a drink of Youngs bitter and this was'nt on top form the other beers were Youngs Special and Winter warmer.
This was by far the worst pub i visited in Wimbledon on my crawl.

Pub visited 14/12/2002

On 14th December 2002 - rating: 5
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]