User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pub Snacks with Aqualung on the Pub Forum

The Spotted Horse, Putney, SW15

122 Putney High Street
SW15
SW15 1RG
Phone: 02087880246

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Spotted Horse

A Young's pub in the middle of Putney High Street, modernised inside to the point of being bland,it's open plan with seating areas throughout.There are eight hand pumps in all, all were clipped but only a choice of three beers, Young's Bitter and Special along with Well's Bombardier.My visit was early in the day at 10.15 and the place was empty,my main purpose was to get a breakfast (which was fine), but with that at £10.00 and another £4.40 for a pint of Young's Bitter. The experience didn't justify the expense, and one I am unlikely to repeat.

On 27th May 2017 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1321 recommendations about 1308 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Spotted Horse

This is still a Young's pub that had the predictable ales on - Bombardier, Young's Special and Bitter (£4 a pint). The food looked to be fairly expensive - e.g. the cheeseburger, lettuce, ale onions (whatever they are), gherkins, ketchup and mayo is 13 (or £13 to you and me), with chips an extra 3.5 (£3.50).

An atractive frontage with its bay windows suggests an olde worlde pub, but being a Young's pub it's nothing like an olde worlde pub inside, having been madeover to death over the years. It doesn't seem to have changed appreciably since Maldenman's visit exactly 5 years ago - it still has that hotel lounge look, with some booth seating, bucket armchairs, and jazzy carpet. The area at the back still looks to be reserved for diners, but on the plus side there are enough normal tables and chairs towards the front of the pub for drinkers.

This is an OK pub. There's nothing wrong with it and nothing special either. This is not one for those who like the traditional pub. My pint of Young's Bitter was in good shape though.

On 2nd September 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tom Fairburn left this review about The Spotted Horse

The SPOTTED HORSE:- In the middle of Putney High Street, this pub has well-served the people of Putney (...and Fulham!) for decades (of which I can remember 4)...! A welcome watering hole for any thirsty horse or old nag. (!) And I do believe they're serving 'Meantime Brewery' beers here now. There's a welcome sight on a Saturday afternoon :o) TJ

On 20th November 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 78 recommendations about 59 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Holliman left this review about The Spotted Horse

We enjoyed both the food and drinks in this high street pub that was well maintained. it also had some character and was not the modernised "Plastic" pub so often found nowadays.It is a larger once inside than it looks from the exterior as it stretches back some ways. On Match days when Fulham are playing at home at Craven Cottage it does get very crowded and unless you are going to watch the match it is best to avoid Fulham home game days.

On 10th January 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 16 recommendations about 16 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Spotted Horse

This is a modernised and trendied up Young's pub. The bar is along a side wall, seating is mixed with sofas, high tables and colourfully upholstered banquette types with scatter cushions. Lots of grey and green paint, dark coloured wallpapers, wooden and fake stone flagged flooring, a stove in the middle of the room, candles, bar menus written on little wooden boards on the tables, it's that type of place. To the rear is a formal restaurant with tables set, there are also a few sofas and a large bookcase here. The menu prices were a little above average, eg steak and ale pie, £11, Burger and chips £10.20, sandwiches around the £4-5 mark.
Youngs Bitter, Special, London Gold and Bombardier. The Ordinary Bitter was ok, £3.25.
Not my sort of place really being more of a traditionalist, but there is a market for this type of place, even if I can't see there being regular trade.

On 2nd September 2011 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1685 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Spotted Horse

Young's bar/restaurant. Bigger than you initially think with the bar leading through to a dining area at the back.

On 22nd February 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2692 recommendations about 2636 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Spotted Horse

It's obviously been done up a bit, but I found it a reasonable mixture of old and new. Plenty of people in for the pub quiz as well as the food, and a top pint of Kew Gold (one of four real ales on).

On 5th August 2009 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about Ye Olde Spotted Horse

There is a dining area at the rear of this place and it is full of sofas and high tables as many gastro pubs are. I was pretty uninspired even though there was plenty of lager alongside Bombardier and Youngs Ordinary and Special.

There was some strange music playing whilst I was there, maybe they should have just left the plasma screen on!

I think I'll give this place a miss in the future.

On 30th September 2008 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]