User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Favourite Bands with Delboy20 on the Pub Forum

The Priory Arms, SW8

83 Lansdowne Way
SW8
SW8 2PB
Phone: 02076221884

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Pub SignMan left this review about The Priory Arms

This is a cosy, single room, street corner pub which has the feel of a proper ale-house to it. The split-level interior has been bare boarded and sees the servery run along the full length of the rear wall. High tables and stools squeeze into the space directly opposite the bar, but the rest of the room is full of tatty banquettes and standard chairs, most of which can be found on the raised platform to the front of the pub. Aside from a few blackboards listing various food and drink options, a few random bits of breweriana, and the occasional inactive TV screen, the walls in here have been pretty much entirely covered with pump clips, attesting to the pub’s commitment to cask ale and demonstrating just how long they must’ve been dishing out the good stuff. The lighting throughout is fairly muted, which creates a nice ambiance, with fairy lights strung in most of the windows adding to the effect. The servery has a dark wood counter, a heavily pump clip lined gantry and a collection of bottle caps on the bar back, whilst over to one side, an open kitchen churned out plate after plate of food to a packed house, although I never had the feel that I was in a particularly food-led establishment. Elsewhere, I spotted a large board game collection, a beer fridge near the entrance, perhaps for takeaways and a small pavement-ide seating area.
The pump clips around the room were perhaps a little misleading, as the bar supported seven handpulls, of which only three were operational, with options on this visit comprising Great Heck Trafalgar, Black Jack New Deck and Oakham Citra. There’s a decent keg selection and I noted at least one bag-in-a-box cider too. My pint of the New Deck was poured by one of the friendly and efficient bar team and was in excellent condition. It was apparent that a lot of people were drinking cask beer, so perhaps I’d just timed things badly and arrived at a busy time when beers hadn’t yet had time to be replaced.
I’d been aware of this pub for some time but had never pictured it as being an ale house, assuming instead that it was more of a gastro pub. On this evidence though, I’d say it was definitely wet-led and well worth further investigation, as it had good, well-kept beer, pleasant and hard-working staff and a cracking atmosphere.

On 11th February 2020 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2429 recommendations about 2429 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about The Priory Arms

Haven't been in here for a while. Every time I have been near, it is closed. Seems the opening times is just evenings. Looking through the window no change inside. Will not give a rating as unfair due to no visit

On 8th December 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 753 recommendations about 716 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about Priory Arms

Nice but dated locals pub.Had a little beer fest on with 6 on stillage.Mainstream cask beers.German keg beers on but from the mega brewers so uninspiring.

On 28th September 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 933 recommendations about 920 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about Priory Arms

I had been meaning to visit this pub for sometime have read and heard of its reputation as a real ale destination pub,I am afraid I was left very disappointed. From the outside it looks like a decent backstreet boozer, once inside you find a one room pub with a split level floor,the upper level providing seating with basic chairs and tables.The plain decoration inside had an air of slapdash cheapness about it with white paint smeared here and there on the varnished woodwork, it didn't give the pub any discernible ambiance and the awful piped 1970's/80's disco music didn't help the fact.There was a blackboard proudly proclaiming the ales available at the bar, and not a bad looking selection, unfortunately none of the advertised were actually on. Five handpumps ,one unused,one dispensing a cider leaving three ales, Three Friends Pale, Darkstar American Pale Ale and a third I failed to note, my choice of the Three Friends Pale although drinkable didn't impress. I understand there has been a change of management in the last year or so and maybe this pub has fallen from the pub I perceived it to be but it left me rather unimpressed and cant see any reason to return in the foreseeable future .

On 6th April 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1322 recommendations about 1308 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about Priory Arms

Visited in June 2010

Externally resembling an archetypal back street local, The Priory Arms, situated off the Wandsworth Road, is another pub that has, over a number of years now, been a real ale specialist pub and has won a number of local CAMRA branch awards in that time.

It's a Grade 2 listed building, but it's a rather featureless, modernised interior with a light and airy stripped out feel, wooden floors, large windows and a mixture of traditional seating and taller perches. A notice inside the pub points us in the direction of a "sunny balcony up the stairs", but then goes on to advise us that it has been "closed by Lambeth Council". There's some seats outside in front of the pub where you can watch the traffic go past - unusually, for what at first glance is a quietish side street, it's on several bus routes.

Food plays a prominent role in proceedings and there seemed to be an emphasis on steaks and burgers ( eg - Tex Mex burger with sour cream, salsa, guacamole and jalopenas - £ 5.50p ) . A Sunday roast is offered.

There's 5 handpumps which, on my recent Saturday early evening visit, were serving Sambrooks Wandle, Sharps Cornish Coaster, Hop Back Summer Lightening, Downton Mad Hare and a beer from Cottage Brewery, Jack the Whippet. The Sambrooks - £ 3.20p - was in good form. The pub is a CAMRA Good Beer Guide regular.

It doesn't have enough of that traditional pubby feel for my liking, but it's worth popping in if passing by.

On 18th October 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Priory Arms

This looks to be a traditional street corner pub from the outside, but the interior has been modernised to a degree with half of the floor area being raised a couple of steps, the lower area having a series of black high tables with stools and the raised area having black leather effect benches and chunky red round pouffes at small circular tables. Decor is a mix of darkish and lighter green walls with a tube containing green LED type lights winding around the walls. The raised area has a few board games including several Scrabble sets, plus a few books on a shelf. There are a few bench seats outside to the front where there are also a number of planted baskets. It seems there may be a room upstairs from previous reviews but I confess I didn't notice it. Very quiet on my Saturday afternoon visit with just a couple of customers and the noise of the overhead fan whirring and some low volume background music.
The bar is across the end wall of the lower area, and has five pumps. The selection was Sambrook's Wandle and Junction, Downton Quadhop and Maltsters Best plus Hop Back Summer Lightning. A decent range however my Quadhop was a little warm and tasted as if it was on the turn if not quite rejectable. Top end prices for a back street pub too at £3.35. A chalkboard also advertised a selection of bottled German beers. Paper menus on the tables suggest food is limited to steaks, burgers and a range of tapas.
I'm sure that this is a decent pub and provides good choice to the local ale scene but there is something about it that I didn't really take to, and not just my pint. I suppose the intention is to market the pub to the residents of the pockets of gentrification in what is really a rather mixed area, but I don't personally feel that there is anything wrong with tradition.

On 25th July 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1685 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Priory Arms

Stumbling from Stockwell tube towards this place in the dark after a good few beers earlier on in the day may not have been one of my better ideas but in the end it was worth it. A pretty street corner pub in a fairly quiet area, the inside has been modernized a bit and is obviously aimed at the younger more upmarket type. Still, there were five ales on and the ones I had came out well. One of my companions delved into the wide selection of foreign bottles. The Czech lagers and country wines were deemed a little too much at that point. As mentioned, the interior has been modernized but looks fairly good, a single room with large windows, a couple of black sofas, wooden floor and subtly lit. The chessboard tables were a nice touch. There were a number of board games available and the atmosphere was relaxed and friendly.

I enjoyed this one and will make a point of returning.

On 30th December 2009 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3969 recommendations about 3957 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Priory Arms

Nothing very distinctive about this place from the outside, but the interior has been part-modernised in a reasonably sensitive way. Five real ales on, including something called Dials' Pumpkin Ale from Downton Brewery which was rather better than I expected from the 'trick or treat' pump clip... Enjoyed my 'fried cod in a bap' lunchtime bite (which was again better than I was expecting). Friendly and efficient, and really rather good.

On 30th October 2009 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Priory Arms

Some good ales on when I was in at lunchtime during the week: Cottage Smooth Hound; Doom Bar; Summer Lightning; Summer Gold; and Sambrook's Wandle. I had the excellent Wandle, but it was a top of the range price of £3.30 a pint. This is a one-room pub (although they advertised an upstairs lounge to which I didn't venture), the interior of which is decorated in a modern style – bare-boarded, big, chunky stools, some high tables and stools, plus some normal tables and chairs. They have (for a pub) an extensive lunch menu, but I went for the simplistic tuna/mayo/rocket sarny, plus a bit of side salad, for a very reasonable £3.
I received a friendly welcome on entering the pub from a chap who I assumed must be the guv'nor. This looked to me to be a clean, friendly and welcoming pub, and comes highly recommended, especially in view of its ale selection.

On 22nd August 2009 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about Priory Arms

Great food, especially on Sunday. Gets very busy though so arrive early. Children are allowed (check age limit)but only in the upstairs room.
Good variety of real ales and German & Belgium bottled beers. Update, Children are allowed in the main bar now. There are new seats in the bar. Also, there is now a balcony area upstairs facing the back. Now running a poker night.

On 27th July 2009 - rating: 10
[User has posted 753 recommendations about 716 pubs]

Page: 1 2