User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Disappearing and 'in peril' breweries with hondo on the Pub Forum

Stags Head, SW14

24 Priests Bridge
SW14
SW14 8TA

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Braks Lover left this review about The Halfway House

Reopened following a limited makeover (lick of paint, couple of new sofas etc) but still recognisable as the pub it's always been. New landlord friendly and attentive, happily turned down the overly loud "background" music. Uninspiring beer range - Pride, OSH & Youngs Special (OSH was OK, but Pride not in absolute best condition) served in randomly branded glasses. I was informed that a fourth guest ale would be added "if there was demand". Still very much has the feel of a locals pub. OK if in the area, but not worth a special visit.

On 25th February 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 9 recommendations about 8 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Halfway House

Basic pub with wood panelled interior. Few customers on my Sunday night visit. The church organ music being played gave a depressing feel to the pub. Not comfortable for me. Good selection of beers with Pride,Downton -quadhop and new forest and my half of Trumans -emperor was good but served in a Carling glass.

On 1st February 2014 - rating: 4
[User has posted 933 recommendations about 920 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about The Halfway House

Update - July 2012. Enjoyed a good pint of Twickenham Naked Ladies in here yesterday - £ 3.50p - which is cheaper than it is in Youngs pubs. Pub unchanged from my previous review. The longstanding landlord, Mike, is still going strong and still wearing those awful snazzy shirts. There's a real community feel about this pub, although I have to report that some of the customers engaged in anti - Murray heckling yesterday during the Wimbledon tennis final were a bit OTT and probably the worse for wear.

It's not a must visit pub by any stretch of the imagination, but I'll no doubt call in again one day.

Original review from March 2009 - Traditional wood-pannelled pub just off the busy South Circular. It's situated halfway between Richmond and Putney which, according to the pub's very informative own website, is how it got its name.

Externally, it's an attractive looking building, with what is probably a mock-Tudor exterior with several old gas lamps hanging down.There's leaded windows at the front, with that unusual semi-circle shape on top that you more readily associate with churches.

Internally, it's a pleasant wood-pannelled pub with a bit of a feel of a gentleman's club, despite the presence of several fruit machines. Several screens and pillars help divide the floor space and create a cosier feel than if it were completely open.

There's a more upmarket, select feel to the place than in several other pubs round here that I shall refrain from mentioning by name.

Being away from the river, it doesn't seem to get much passing trade and trade seems to be predominantly local.

There's the seemingly obligatory pub quiz on Tuesday. Jazz and Blues nights are Saturday and sometimes Thursday.

There's a dartboard, although the seating arrangements would appear to suggest that it is hardly , if ever, used.

There's a bank of 4 handpumps. On my recent Saturday morning visit, Brakspears, Black Sheep and London Pride were on. I've seen a Twickenham beer in here previously. Copies of London Drinker on a windowledge indicate that the pub is CAMRA friendly.

I quite like this pub. It's not a must visit pub, but worth the short bus ride down the South Circular to seek out.

On 9th July 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about The Halfway House

Real ale on sale, Doombar, Hobgoblin & Pride. Darkwood interior. friendly staff & locals.

On 12th March 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 753 recommendations about 716 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Halfway House

This is a very good pub with a friendly landlady and regulars to match. There was a good selection of ale available on my visit with Pride, Black Sheep, Brakspear, Twickenham Ales' Grandstand and Nelson Brewery's Friggin' in the Riggin' adorning the bar. There was also a selection of standard lagers alongside Staropramen.

The dart oche has a table on it, but I'm sure that it could easily be moved if the pub wasn't that busy and some arrows needed to be thrown. There is also a tiny plasma screen, but I can't imagine it being turned on that often.

The atmosphere in here was very relaxed and the Black Sheep was very good so I would go out of my way to drink here again.

On 18th February 2009 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3565 recommendations about 3544 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Halfway House

Very mixed clientele and a very dark interior with wood panelled walls.A decent beer range, with Twickenham Summer Gold and Grandstand taking centre stage, supplemented by Sharps Doombar and Brakspear Bitter.

Real historic appearance from outside, but the 1970's carpet and musty smell needs sorting. Standard style seating and friendly staff.

Traditional dartboard but with a table and chair set in front.

On 23rd August 2008 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1685 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


train man left this review about The Halfway House

Heard that they used to regularly serve Dark Star, but hasn't been on during my handful of visits. Yesterday offered a couple of mainstreams (Pride/IPA?) but supplemented by a very decent pint of Brakspear. Music calendar for Nov/Dec looks good and has variety.
If walking from Barnes station you can cut the corner by taking the public footpath across the common but that route might not seem so attractive in the dark.

On 8th November 2007 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 411 recommendations about 410 pubs]