User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 26th June 2022) with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

The Stonhouse, Clapham, SW4

165 Stonhouse Street
SW4
SW4 6BJ

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 5 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Stonhouse

Standard pub with the bar to the middle. Two weakish real ales. Eating area to the rear. Not worth a return.

On 20th October 2019 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1693 recommendations about 1691 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about The Stonhouse

Paid a visit today, June 15th. Had 2 ales on tap. Ordered a Timothy Taylor Landlord. The place wasn't busy so the pint didn't need to be rushed. The froth reached the top of the glass but it was still settling. We both waited as the ale cleared in the glass and the head shrunk. It wasn't one of those over sized glasses, so the pint should have reached the top. The barmaid said, it looks okay to me, even though I could see clear glass for the top 1/4 inch. J asked for a top up an as usual, it was pulled fast, so lots of spillage down the sides. After all that, it cost me £4.50. Don't think I will return unless really desperate for a pint.

On 16th June 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 757 recommendations about 720 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Stonhouse

The Stonhouse was busy with a Morris dancing group and their entourage when I visited on a recent Saturday afternoon. Thankfully most of them were banging their sticks and ringing their bells outside the front of the pub so I was left in peace to have a good nose around. To the left of the entrance is a seating area where access can be gained to a staircase that climbs to the toilets. The bar faces seating that runs down the right hand windowed wall and there is more seating around to the left at the rear where there is also a disabled toilet. Many of the tables were reserved for dining and the gastro mains started at £11.50 for burger and fries. Available from the bar alongside a keg range were Timothy Taylor’s Landlord and Belleville Brewing’s Battersea Brownstone. I didn’t spot a television, but there was some background music playing.
Out the back is a paved beer garden with some covered seating. I found the service to be offhand and, although pleasant enough, I saw nothing that would have me rushing back to this pub.

On 19th May 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3929 recommendations about 3905 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Stonhouse

Nice pub that is very food orientated.Very busy with diners.Two decent beers on Landlord and Sussex best.Another good back street gastro.

On 14th December 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 965 recommendations about 951 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Stonhouse

This pub has definitely tried to move upmarket, but based on my short Wednesday afternoon visit I’m not sure that it has worked, although of course it could be a very different place in the evenings. Unfortunately when I was in so was the mummies’ club, with a blockade of buggies at the choke point, although as it was quiet it didn’t really matter. Although most of the little treasures were well behaved, one of them let out an occasional shriek just to keep you on your toes. The pub has been completely made over (some might say trashed), with peacock themed wallpaper, black fake leather armchairs and sofas, and battleship grey painted girders. There are no tall tables/tall stools however, and although there are enough normal tables and chairs for drinkers, the area at the back and to the right of the bar counter contains tables all laid for diners.

The only real ale on was Sambrook Wandle (£1.95 a half), although there was a Timothy Taylor Landlord clip reversed on another pump. The pub is owned by renaissance, and as they had recently celebrated their tenth anniversary, they had had on a special Sambrook brewed ale called Ten Ale. Unfortunately it was all gone by the time I visited. The upmarket aspiration is demonstrated by the chalkboard cocktail menu being displayed. They obviously do food, but I didn’t get to scrutinise a menu.

This pub just about gets in the “alright” category. I certainly wouldn’t go out of my way to visit again.

On 20th September 2013 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2599 recommendations about 2513 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Stonhouse

This is a back street pub that has gone upmarket and probably spoilt it.The pub seemed to be a bit to foody for my likeing there were two real ales on the bar i tried Taylor Landlord and it was ok the other beer was Deuchars iPA,not my type of pub.

On 20th June 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about The Stonhouse

Undergoing a renovation at the moment, looks like it will be more of a restaurant than a pub.
Update: Now open and has changed it's name to The Stonhouse. Sells Real Ale. Just paid another visit, everything seemed ok, until one of the staff wearing an apron went past. He was wearing tatty jeans with rips in them, showing off his boxer shorts. Hate to think he was the chef, even if he was just a waiter, I wouldn't like him handling my plates. Have dropped my rating.

On 4th July 2009 - rating: 2
[User has posted 757 recommendations about 720 pubs]