User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How much? with Spinko on the Pub Forum

The Falcon, SW4

33 Bedford Road
SW4
SW4 7SQ
Phone: 02072742428

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Castle (Mitchells & Butlers)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


custodian 42 left this review about The Falcon

Largish corner pub with two entrances on the railway side. Four hand pumps, three reversed and the other Doombore. Rest keg.

On 23rd September 2019 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1474 recommendations about 1472 pubs]


Graham Coombs left this review about The Falcon

A much modernised pub with a designer interior appealing to the hipster brigade. A large patio garden at the rear includes covered areas and a barbecue section, while the roadside tables out the front are more basic. Serried ranks of keg taps line the bar with a few handpumps offering Ghost Ship, Proper Job, Doom Bar and Old Rosie cider.

On 5th August 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1999 recommendations about 1955 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Michael Ayres left this review about The Falcon

A decent sized, opened out pub, I felt the interior was a little bit plain,wooden floor and a cream and dark brown colour scheme,being fairly quiet on a Sunday lunchtime didn't help the ambiance.Four ales on,Doom Bar,Hogs Back TEA,Moorhouse Stray Dog and a decent Oakham GFB. It was actually Ok here but I wouldnt go too far out of my way to return.

On 25th September 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1284 recommendations about 1272 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Falcon

When I was in here on Wednesday evening they had on Sambrook Junction, Doom Bar, Purity UBU, and Hook Norton Lion (£2.10 a half). I didn't see a menu, but there were salt and pepper pots on all the tables, so they must do food. The main bar area at the front has a couple of spaces that are bare-boarded, with another in between them that, most unusually, has red earthenware tiles on the floor. They look to be fairly old, rather than a modern affection. The low ceiling is fielded panelling, but now painted white, with some of the walls also a light pastel shade and others that charcoal grey so beloved of gastropubs. Furnishings are all normal tables and chairs, and all the tables had a little sprig of flowers on them. The floral theme is continued on the bar counter, with a couple of large floral displays (featuring heliconias I believe) on it. The room continues back and around to the right of the bar counter, leading to a garden at the back. There's some more outside seating at the front in an enclosed patio area. Other items worth mentioning are the ATM built into the wall inside the pub (undoubtedly not free to use); the pile of board games at the end of the bar counter; and the ancient Bass Brewery mirror on one of the walls.

This really ought to be a gastropub by the look of it, but can't be sure as I didn't see a menu. Even though this pub has been completely opened up having been given something of an upmarket makeover, and thus losing much of its original pub character, I quite liked it in here. The furnishings are comfortable, the beer is good (albeit not cheap), and I was given a top up without having to ask for it. It's certainly not good enough to be a destination pub, but I would recommend dropping in here if you find yourself in this corner of North Clapham.

On 24th August 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2529 recommendations about 2447 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Falcon

Lovely one roomed pub with low ceilings.Great outside seating to the rear and some out front.Very busy on my visit.Good keg selection and 4 handpumps.Adnams -Mosiac and Weltons -blackcurrent mild were superb.Felt comfortable to me.

On 13th April 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 902 recommendations about 890 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Falcon

The brightly-painted facade is visible from some distance, even though it is now partially screened by some large umbrellas above the front terrace tables. Inside, the gentrified interior won't be to everybody's taste but the 'J'-shaped bar (with additional seating to one side) has been reasonably well decorated. Annoying little step in front of the bar. Supply of board games at the back. ATM (fee £1.75). Four handpumps - the regular Tribute, Castle Rock Harvest Pale and Scottish Joker IPA (nice enough, but a bit pricey at £3.35) as the guest ales and a draught cider. Not the weather to explore the beer garden, but I expect I will be back again sometime...

On 5th December 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 5759 recommendations about 5759 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Falcon

This pub is fairly close to Clapham North tube it looks fairly decent from the outside except for the bright yellow paint there are a few picnic tables outside once inside i was a bit dissapointed as the pub seemed more of a gastro type pub there were two real ales on i tried Taylor Landlord and this was ok the other beer on was St Austell Tribute i found this pub a bit of a dissapointment but at least its better than the Clapham North which is nearby.

On 29th June 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Falcon

This is a good sized dimly lit island bar gastro type pub that had Adnams Abbey Ale and Tribute available during my fleeting visit alongside Old Rosie cider and a premium selection of lagers. I found the staff to be friendly enough and my Guinness was very good, but it took a while to be served as it does in most bars with four sides that only have three staff.

There are a couple of plasma screens, but I didn't see any sport advertised so I'm not sure what they are used for as I cannot imagine this place putting music channels on during the evening. However, there are plenty of picnic tables out the front for use on sunny days and I'd imagine the much lauded garden out the back gets very crowded in the summer as it is very nice.

This place isn't really my cup of tea and although I can see the attraction I'll probably never return.

On 21st January 2009 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3527 recommendations about 3506 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about The Falcon

Close to Clapham High Street railway station and Clapham North tube station, this pub is popular with the smart Clapham set, for wont of a better name. It sell Thai food all day and has a good wine selection. There is a large garden at the back and seating at the front, where you can watch the trains go by, if you like that sort of thing. If so, pay a visit soon, as this is the route taken by the Eurostar train which will be going to St pancras in the near future.

On 9th January 2007 - rating: 6
[User has posted 747 recommendations about 712 pubs]