User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with Spinko on the Pub Forum

Prince Of Wales, Clapham, SW4

38 Old Town
SW4
SW4 0LB

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about Prince Of Wales

Small one room pub with bar to the left. Four hand pumps including a cider @ 7% ABV. Some outside seating. Various items on the walls and ceilings, including two sets of traffic lights. One of the stop lights wasn't working.

On 2nd September 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1693 recommendations about 1691 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about Prince Of Wales

As Steve mentions below a very quirky and quite atmospheric pub,all manor of things adourn the walls and hang from the ceiling,from stuffed animal heads and various puppets to all sorts of impliments and ceramics. In comparisson the three beers on were a little ordinary, Harveys Bitter,Woodefords Wherry and Sambrooks Pumphouse Pale, the latter was perfectly good though. Another good pub in this area.

On 25th September 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1582 recommendations about 1563 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about Prince Of Wales

After visiting other pubs in the area that have undergone gastro makeovers or are aimed a twenty-something crowd I was taken aback as I entered the Prince of Wales. My surprise was due to the plethora of curios that hangs from every square inch of the ceiling and walls in this dimly lit pub. Surprisingly there is also space for a television which was off, which I imagine is its normal state. The background music was very depressing and nearly had me reaching for some black nail varnish.
The single room interior is laid out with some tables under the front windows and along the right hand wall. The bar on the left hand wall supports a premium keg selection and I counted four hand pumps. These were drawing Harveys’ Best, Truman’s Swift, Sambrook’s Pumphouse Pale Ale and Millwights’ Cider. There was also a large selection of bottled beers from around the world. Food is not available and I doubt that children are welcome. There is a quiz on Thursdays from 20:00 and it should be noted that this pub does not open until 16:00 in the week and 13:00 at the weekend. The late opening is accompanied by late closing which happens at midnight Monday to Thursday and 01:00 on Fridays and Saturdays.
This is a very quirky pub that is certainly worth a look, but I found that a pint was enough before I had to escape.

On 8th May 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3948 recommendations about 3925 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Prince Of Wales

Just off the north-eastern corner of Clapham Common, the Prince of Wales is a small, single room pub made distinctive by its bright neon 'POW' signage and remarkable collection of objects displayed throughout. The interior comprises a fairly narrow room with the servery running down the left hand side and banquette and standard seating arranged along the front and right hand walls. There are a couple of tiled fireplaces at either end of the room, both depicting images of birds and the room has scuffed floorboards and walls painted in a decent red and black colour scheme, not that you can see much of them thanks to the crazy collection of seemingly unrelated items picked up by the landlord on his travels. I noted, among other things, various stuffed animals and birds, a model airplane, a typewriter, numerous antlers, a small cart, an ancient looking (and presumably out-of-action) juke box, fully functioning traffic lights, musical instruments, kites, a windsurf board and an old cigarette machine. In amongst all of this, there are larger collections of pots, pans, kettles and street signs, whilst the ceiling is covered with posters and the walls with cigarette cards. A collection of board games stand on a shelf next to the bar and country music was playing quietly in the background at a level which disturbed me considerably less than some of the rude customers who were sitting on the seats provided outside the front of the pub.
The handpulls were offering Harvey's Best, Brains Final Whistle and Sambrooks Junction, as well as two real ciders. A very pleasant French barmaid served me a good pint of the Final Whistle, which I enjoyed in the solitude of the empty room rather than sitting in the sun next to the charmless other customers. A quick look at the fridges revealed a well considered bottled beer selection and the keg range was a mix of well known brands and one or two less commonly seen offerings.
I've got a bit of a soft spot for this type of eccentric pub and I really enjoyed my time spent here. It would be interesting to see what the place is like when the interior is busy, as I clearly caught it at the wrong time for any kind of lively atmosphere, so I'm sure I'll return sometime soon.

On 5th June 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2813 recommendations about 2813 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about Prince Of Wales

Small quirky pub overflowing with euphemera.The more you look the more you find but I didn't find it OTT.Three beers on Landlord, Junction and a beer called Dragon fire with a handwritten sign with no brewery name.The barman didn't know where it was from and wasn't interested in finding out for me.Quick Google search says Shep Neame.Any pub that cant be arsed to find which brewery beers they are selling loses points.So there.

On 12th April 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 965 recommendations about 951 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Prince Of Wales

This pub doesn’t open until 4.0 PM on weekdays. There’s probably more bric-a-brac in here than I’ve seen in any pub, and that’s saying something. Goodness knows how they managed to get everything suspended on the ceiling, but I hope they’ve got strong joists. I spotted all manner of things – model bi-plane with a six foot wingspan, a surfboard (not a model!), a cart, some boots (?), turtle shell, musket, lamps, jugs, and traffic lights (in working order). The decor on the walls was a little more restrained, with things like framed cigarette cards, prints, stuffed animal heads, busts, clocks and the like. Seating is mainly banquettes, with a bunch of mismatched chair and stools (including one made from the Corinthian capital of a pillar, that won’t get moved around much) and various shaped tables, including a couple constructed from re-cycled sewing machine frames. The flooring was some indeterminate black stuff – possibly grubby pre-war lino! Music was courtesy of Jimi Hendrix – thankfully not being played too loudly. I didn’t see any sign of food, although there were littly flyers on the tables said that a pizza menu was available from the bar. Copies of London Drinker were on a small table by one of the entrances – a definite plus factor in my book..
There were three ales on – Sambrook’s Wandle and Junction, and Harvey’s Best. So, a reasonable ale selection. This is the sort of quirky characterfull pub that I like, although it obviously helps if you are looking to fulfil a life-long yearning to have a pint in Steptoe’s yard! This one is definitely worth a visit if you’re in this part of the world.

On 20th March 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2599 recommendations about 2513 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Prince Of Wales

This is a small pub that is opposite the Sun and close to the Rose and Crown there is a lot of brick a brack and the pub seems quite olde worldy,there were three real ales on the bar i had Sambrooks Wandel which was a very nice drink the other beers were Harveys Bitter and Taylor Landlord,i was quite happy in this pub and would have enjoyed staying for a few more,well worth a visit.

On 19th June 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about Prince Of Wales

Smallish pub, but has interesting character. Lots of objects hanging from the ceiling. Not sure if they do food.

On 30th November 2006 - rating: 6
[User has posted 757 recommendations about 720 pubs]