User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

Clapham Tap, Clapham, SW4

128 Clapham Manor Street
SW4
SW4 6ED
Phone: 02076222894

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about Clapham Tap

At last, a decent pub. Bar in the centre as you enter. Various hand pumps, including Jaipur which I naturally had. Beer garden to the rear, seating out front. I would return to this place

On 20th October 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1673 recommendations about 1671 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Craft Beer Co

The interior consists of a U shaped lounge and bar with oak panelled walls and red leather banquette seating throughout. Ten Pumps with 7 in use, on our visit, so we went for the Pale Ale brewed by Kent Brewery especially for the pub and Crouch Vale EL Dorado. A good mix of music was played on our visit, which helped as the two staff members behind the bar wouldn't have inspired you. Especially the young barmaid with dyed blue hair, who only smiled and acknowledged us when we were leaving. The pub wasn't very busy on our Friday eve visit, I wonder why.

On 5th April 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about Craft Beer Co

A couple of picnic tables sit under a jumbrella on some fake grass outside the front of Craft Beer Co. Some steps lead up to the entrance of the J shaped bar with basic décor. The major draw is the ten hand pumps, most of which I had never heard of. There are no distractions such as background music or televisions, just beer and conversation.
Out the back is a large decked area that was also covered in fake grass. Here there are lots of picnic tables and another two jumbrellas. I found the service to be polite and would return.

On 19th May 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about Craft Beer Co

Called in late Saturday afternoon,there was a decent crowd in attendance,very much a pub in the traditional category, along with an excellent range of beer,my pint of Tiny Rebel IPA was in good form ,a must visit pub if you find yourself in the locality.

On 8th June 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1354 recommendations about 1340 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Craft Beer Co

Tucked away down a side street, just off the busy Clapham Road, this is another London venture from the successful Craft Beer Co chain. This place differs somewhat from their other venues, in that it occupies a former back street boozer (The Manor Arms), giving it more of a traditional pub feel than its sister venues. The interior is U-shaped, with the bar positioned directly in front of the entrance, creating a limited space with room for a few high tables and stools along the front wall. There is a drinking ledge down the left hand side of the room, leading eventually to a nice padded banquette which runs around the rear corner. Over on the right hand side, there is a much cosier looking space with a few comfy seats along the side wall and some beer themed books on shelves to the rear. The whole pub has bare floorboards and plain walls which have been decorated with a few bits of breweriana. Both sides of the pub have doors leading out to a fairly large rear garden, the first half of which is sheltered under an enormous umbrella. Beyond this is an open, split-level area with lots of metal chairs and tables, flowerpot ashtrays and Astroturf grass. A few enamel beer signs complete the look of a very pleasant garden and I enjoyed relaxing out here as the sun set behind the surrounding trees. A smaller, sun-free garden can be found to the front of the pub.
The usual strong ale line-up was available, although perhaps with fewer handpulls in operation than in some of their busier branches. The range on my visit comprised Tiny Rebel Goldie Lookin’ Ale, Weird Beard Dark Hopfler, Marble Ginger, Great Heck Powermouse and Blonde, Craft Beer Co Pale, Thornbridge Lilith and Gadds Common Conspiracy, with two unclipped pumps at the end of the row. The usual vast keg and bottle range applies, with a board behind the bar listing their regular keg offerings. I tried a pint of the Powermouse, which was in great condition, as you would expect.
This is an interesting venture from the Craft Beer Co team – perhaps their biggest risk yet, although there seem to be enough beer tickers and hipsters in the Clapham area to suggest they will do well. I thought this was a very good pub and comfortably the best that Clapham has to offer.

On 6th June 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2512 recommendations about 2512 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Craft Beer Co

The interior of this one has remained largely unchanged since its Manor Arms days. They basically have banquettes and normal tables and chairs around a central horseshoe bar. If anything its a little less pretentious than it was – which is obviously a good thing. It’s like chalk and cheese in comparison to the mightily comfortless version of this chain in Brixton. It was only moderately busy, and thus very comfortable, when I dropped in on Saturday afternoon.

They seem to have linked up with “Forty Burgers” for the provision of food, as an advert for this chain was the only indication I saw regarding the provision of food. All the tables had on them a beer menu, listing the cask ales with prices plus strengths, plus an amazing range of bottles. Some of the prices for the bottled beers are also absolutely amazing and need to be seen to be believed – many in excess of £20 a bottle. I can’t imagine paying that sort of money for a bottle of beer, but I suppose they reckon some people are going to, otherwise they wouldn’t stock them. They had the full complement of ten ales on, which makes it a winner in my book - I’m sure to visit again.

On 17th December 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Manor Arms

Now Craft Beer Co. Quite a small pub but packed with the usual 20 odd cask and keg beers you would expect from this chain.Nice smart interior and looks a comfortable pub but it was packed on my visit.Bench style seating at the front and a big covered and heated rear garden. Astro turf instead of grass but its still a garden.Plans for an in-house brewery.Will return when its quieter.

On 13th December 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about The Manor Arms

Has closed down, Enterprise Inns has taken possession of it and boarded up the windows & doors.
Judging by the damage done to the front door it was not an easy entrance.
Update, it is now open again. No real changes inside, just a few more tables & chairs. Real ale still on sale, but at £3.60 a pint. Still has the marquee out the back.
Update: It is now being managed by Graham, manager of the Priory Arms. The marquee has gone so the back garden now has sunshine. The TVs have gone for now. They still have the 5 real ale taps, 4 were on when I visited. The price is £3.80 a pint.
Update: Graham decided not to run this pub as Enterprise Inns wouldn't let him increase the range of real ales he could sell. It is now being run by someone else, only had 2 ales on at the time I visited, though advertised 5 on the blackboard. Still £3.80 a pint.
Update: Premium ale, i.e. Spitfire is £4.00 a pint

On 25th July 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 753 recommendations about 716 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about The Manor Arms

Just to let readers know, the Manor Arms now have a quiz evry other Thursday from 5th August at 8pm and they will be having live music from 18th August. The first group will be Redgrave.

On 8th August 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 753 recommendations about 716 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Manor Arms

The pub looks to be one of those upmarket modernised types from the front where there are a few bench seats behind a clipped privet hedge and a small garden gate, but this feeling is soon dispelled once inside where you find a bar with five handpumps in front of you and a number of drinkers sipping pints of good ale. The carpeted red painted room surrounds the central bar and has generally traditional seating at small tables although there are a few sofas to the rear and in the covered outdoor area at the back. My table had a chess/draught board inlaid. There are a few boxing photos on the walls amongst other pictures. Two TVs, one showing originally women's football then followed by rugby while I was there.
A good welcome at the bar, the barman was serving a large round but acknowledged my arrival straightaway. Five pumps, one reversed, the others had Hepworth Prospect, Isle of Purbeck IPA (v good), Harvey's Sussex Best and Downton New Forest. London Drinker available.
I enjoyed my stay here, its the type of pub you can easily settle into and relax.

On 25th July 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]

Page: 1 2