User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 2nd August 2020) with Thuck Phat on the Pub Forum

O'Neills, SW4

196 Clapham High Street
SW4
SW4 7UD
Phone: 02074984931

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Castle (Mitchells & Butlers)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 5 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Philip Carter left this review about O'Neills

Now gone back to being O'Neill's. From what I was told, The Stane Street Syndicate experiment wasn't working. The back area on the right has now been boxed in and will be used as a function room. £4.80 for a pint of Guinness, which isn't bad for the area.

On 12th December 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 753 recommendations about 716 pubs]


Graham Coombs left this review about Stane St. Syndicate

A big old pub which changes names from time to time and goodness knows what this one is supposed to be about. The half-timbered frontage covers a huge barn of a place, divided up into different areas and generally lacking much natural daylight although there is a small patio at the back. I have to say the rather high air conditioning was very welcome on a hot day. There are various sports screens dotted around, including a large one in its own section in the centre. Handpumps offered By the Horns Hopadelic, Hophead with another ale not ready, plus a cider and the beer did seem in fair condition.

On 5th August 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2196 recommendations about 2147 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about Stane St. Syndicate

Big place with room in front, bar to right middle and a seating area to the rear. Quite full on Bank Holiday Monday. Various TVs around the pub. Two real ales that I could see, one of which was a strong Great Heck IPA.

On 29th August 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1673 recommendations about 1671 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about Stane St. Syndicate

Stane St. Syndicate is a sprawling pub that was reasonably busy during a recent Saturday afternoon visit. The bar midway up on the right hand wall separates large seating areas to the front and behind. The rear area was closed for painting during my visit, but I stuck my head through a curtain to eye an air hockey table and small stage area. I didn’t see any events advertised that warranted the need for the stage. To the left of the entrance is a games area that houses table tennis, table football and a pinball machine. More seating along the left hand wall stretches down to the rear some way back.
The bar is stocked with premium keg products and I counted four hand pumps. One of these was unused leaving St Austell’s Proper Job, Sambrook’s Session Pale Ale and Celt Experience’s Otherworld Batch II Pale as the cask ale options. The only food I spotted were burgers which were priced between £11 and £13. I found the service to be very friendly, but I prefer darts and Sky Sports to pinball and air hockey so I will probably drink in one of this pub’s peers when back in the area.

On 14th May 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Stane St. Syndicate

There were two handpumps on here, one Doom Bar clipped and the other with something from Wild Beer Co. I think I got Wild Beer Bibble, but I'm not certain. The clip had a Wild Beer Scarlet Fever clip on it; the barman drew me a half (£2); then another barman came along and changed the clip for a Wild Beer Bibble one; I point at the new clip and asked the first barman if that's what I've got. "Yes, that's what you ordered" he said. Oh well, probably a better bet than Doom Bar whatever it was. I was in on a Wednesday evening, and the menus on the tables advertised chicken wings, chilli fries, sliders, and that sort of stuff. Sarnies were around £7.

This ex O'Neill's is really a massive sprawling drinking barn, a la 'spoons, with several interconnected drinking areas. But it's probably better than when it was an O'Neill's. One of the areas at the back has a table tennis table in it, and I also spotted a pinball machine (Batman) against one of the walls, and in the front area there was an ancient set of stand-on weighing scales, as a decorative feature I guess.

I found it a little too gloomy, soulless, and cavernous for my taste, but the Wild Beer Bibble (if indeed that was what it was) was OK.

On 11th April 2015 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about O'Neill's

Started out as The Plough, then The Goose & Granite and is now called Bar SW4. Large pub, very popular in the evenings. Does food every day. Small No Smoking area by the window, which sometimes gets taken over with smokers.
Is under going another refit, O'Neill's is taking it over. Now open as O'Neills, more tables and brighter interior, than the Bar SW4. Small garden at the back for smokers.
Another refurbishment is under way, as of 2nd November 2014. M&B have decided that the Irish theme is n o longer attracting customers, so This O'Neill's will become an American Diner type of bar. Therefore, the price of Guinness will rise by 50p a pint, so I've been told. A lot of the regulars are of the older generation, so they will probably going elsewhere. American football will be the norm here. As far as I know, only 2 O'Neill's will be unchanged, Kings Cross & Soho.
I wrote this poem in memory.

Happy Times And Tears

This is probably my last poem
Its for the O'Neill's staff
We had great times together
You could always have a laugh
It was such a friendly place
But will all that now change?
As it becomes a diner
With a different food and drinks range
The regulars may move away
To be replaced by another type
Who will embrace the diner theme
And the American hype
So thankyou staff at O'Neill's
My second home for many years
I leave with happy memories
And maybe a few tears.

On 2nd November 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 753 recommendations about 716 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about O'Neill's

This impressive mock-tudor building, just off Clapham Common and practically opposite the tube station of the same name, has been through several different identities in recent years. It is currently operating as the area's O'Neill's outlet, supposedly bringing a little bit of Ireland to South London, but in reality bringing another nuisance binge-drinking barn to an area flooded with vertical drinking venues. Entering past the obligatory doorman, you find yourself in a spacious L-shaped front section, with the bar tucked away to the rear right. There are some awkward looking raised banquettes on a platform down the left hand side of the flagstone floored room, with standard seating on a larger raised section to the right. Moving further into the room, you soon notice a lounge area of sorts, opening out in a carpeted space to the left, split from the rest of the pub by some small dividing walls and pillars. The pub extends a surprising distance to the rear, where another large seating area can be found behind the servery and a few nice, curved padded banquette booths are lined up along the left hand wall. Décor is limited to the usual depressingly predictable Irish brewerania, and whilst the TV screens were off in favour of quiet background music, live sports were being advertised which suggests they get regular use.
Two hand pumps were clipped when we arrived, but the Doom Bar had just gone off, so I was left with Everards Wonderland as the remaining option. This was my first pint of 2014 and I hope I don't encounter another as flat and lifeless as this one. The bar staff were friendly enough, but mind-blowingly slow, so that a simple order of four drinks took the best part of ten minutes to be prepared and paid for.
There are quite a few decent pubs around Clapham Common which makes me wonder quite how we ended up in this place. Whilst things were relatively civilised throughout our visit, I can imagine the place is a nightmare at certain times of the week and I really can find very little to recommend.

On 4th February 2014 - rating: 3
[User has posted 2472 recommendations about 2472 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about O'Neill's

O'Neils is a very large pub not far from the Alexandra i only went in here because the upper part of the pub looked nice and my recent guide to pubs in SW4 said it sold real ale.Once inside the pub seemed fairly comfortable and there was lots of seating sadly the handpump was unused if you wanted bitter it was fizzy Smithwicks Bitter i opted for a Guinness which was a decent drink,not a bad place to go for a drink but would be better if it sold real ale.

On 19th June 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]