User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 10th November 2019) with Thuck Phat on the Pub Forum

Clapham North, SW9

409 Clapham Road
SW9
SW9 9BT
Phone: 02072742472

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


custodian 42 left this review about Clapham North

Nothing special about this one. Bar to left, two hand pumps, one reversed. Various TV screens. Will not be returning.

On 23rd September 2019 - rating: 3
[User has posted 1474 recommendations about 1472 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about Clapham North

A large corner pub divided into two bars, the front bar slightly more pubby, but not a lot than the larger more dimly lit rear area that had a couple of Tv screens showing muted football. The furniture is as described by Rex a couple of years ago. Three handpumps on the bar with two operational serving the same duo also mentioned by rex, Doombar and London Gold, the latter being in not particularly good shape.I only came in here due to the early opening,10:00 on a Sunday, I'll catch a later train next time.

On 25th September 2016 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1293 recommendations about 1281 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Clapham North

This looks to be as much a restaurant as a pub, but there were a couple of ales on - Young's London Gold (£1.85 a half), and Doom Bar of course. I did see clipboard menus on some of the tables, but there wasn't one where I sat so I didn't get to peruse one. But I did see meals delivered to the occupants of the next table, and all the food looked OK. It was obviously served on blocks of wood rather than plates. A lot of the tables were laid for diners.

I didn't see any of what I would regard as traditional furnishings. Along the front of the room was a rank of upholstered bench booths; in the middle of the room were loads of tall tables/tall stools, and at the window were some banquettes with pedestal tables and some standard chairs. I sat at the window of course, where my table was overly sticky (but maybe I was just unlucky), and where the banquettes were too low for the tables. The normal chairs had their backs to the room, which feels a bit odd if one is on one’s own. Everything looks uber modern in here, from the copper lightshades on the lamps suspended above the booths, to the exposed brickwork on the back wall and the bar counter front. To add to this, there was a popcorn machine at one end of the bar counter. All the tables had a little vase of flowers on them; there were a couple of TVs (only one on, and muted); and some unnecessary pop music was playing.

My feeling was that this bar was more appearance over substance. It seemed a cross between a canteen and an American diner. On the one hand it looked OK (as long as you like these massively madeover places), but I didn’t feel that it was particularly comfortable here. But maybe that’s just me; anyway, I won’t be rushing back.

On 25th August 2014 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2543 recommendations about 2461 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about Clapham North

Large long pub with the rear bar given over to music.Lots of outside seating to the front.Sad beer selection with two handpumps with Doombar and Youngs-london Gold.

On 12th April 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 913 recommendations about 901 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Clapham North

Light café-style front bar, part of which comprises a raised seating area along the side windows. Much darker back bar. Patio tables under stripey awnings at the front. Rather dull choice of Doom bar and Youngs Ordinary (£3.70) from two of three handpumps. Handy for the eponymous underground station.

On 6th November 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 5796 recommendations about 5796 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Clapham North

This is a largish pub just across the road from Clapham north tube station,it has one large room with the bar on your left as you enter there are no real ales here so it was a guinness which was ok this pub seemed it bit trendy and food orientated and this was 11 in the morning i dont rate this pub at all.

On 18th June 2010 - rating: 3
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Chris 87 left this review about Clapham North

This bar opposite Clapham North tube is one of the darkest establishments I've ever visited; Everyone should be told to wear bright colours so you can distinguish from one another. There is no ale but a reasonable selection of decent lagers but this place is more notable for its regular Thursday evening Parmo slot and its for this in which our party (featuring two smoggies) chose to partake. It was pretty good, although the novelty aside there's little memorable about this place.

On 13th November 2009 - rating: 3
[User has posted 179 recommendations about 179 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about Clapham North

This is a very dimly lit pub that has a standard and premium draught selection (no ale) and I counted five plasma screens stretching the length of the bar area which is split into two. Food is served, but most of the other customers seemed to be gathering for the start of the football which was being shown on Sky Sports and I'd imagine that the loud dance music would be turned off at kick off.

I was served a decent pint of Guinness by a friendly barman. Whilst supping my pint I noticed a sign that advertises the closing times as 11pm everyday except Friday and Saturday which are 2am, so handy for a late drink if in the area.

This isn't really my sort of pub as it was full of twenty-somethings drinking premium lager, but I would pop back in if using the tube station again.

On 16th January 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3546 recommendations about 3525 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about Clapham North

This is now called Clapham North. The map is a bit off, as the pub is directly opposite Clapham North underground station. Does food all day, though I haven't tried it.

On 17th October 2006 - rating: 6
[User has posted 749 recommendations about 713 pubs]