User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
WHERE are you drinking RIGHT NOW. with Brainypool on the Pub Forum

The Eagle Ale House, SW11

104 Chatham Road
SW11
SW11 6HG
Phone: 02072282328

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


moby duck left this review about The Eagle Ale House

First return here for some 3 or 4 years,I shouldn't leave it so long next time,the Eagle remains an extremely good "proper boozer" totally unspoilt by the march of time and fashion yet manages to appeal to customers of all ages and alcohol preference,ale drinkers are well catered for across the 8 handpumps and most beer styles were covered in the ever changing selection. Well worth the hike or bus ride up the Northcote Road.Will return soon.

On 1st March 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1257 recommendations about 1245 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Eagle Ale House

Really friendly locals pub with a good selection of real ales.Usually visit when fests are on and gets really busy but a large covered garden helps.Probably the best kept beer in the area

On 23rd March 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 887 recommendations about 875 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Chris 87 left this review about The Eagle Ale House

Popped in here late on a sunday afternoon after pints in The Falcon and The Draft House (where there are interesting beers at eye watering prices). Northcote Road is a rather pretentious area so this was a superb find - a Proper Pub with carpets, tables and a rectangular bar. Twickenham Sundancer, Westerham William Wilberforce and Andwell Gold Muddler were among the offerings and in good form. Somehow we ended up staying here for 4 hours - always a sign of a good pub. A GBG regular and no surprise - should definitely be sought out.

On 29th March 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 179 recommendations about 179 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Eagle Ale House

I spent a nice hour or two in this pub recently, having made my way past numerous trendy and pretentious bars on my walk from Clapham Junction which served only to make me further appreciate a decent traditional pub like this. The interior has a nice homely feel to it, with plenty of seating in the large open area at the front. There is a nice fireplace with a large mirror above it and bookcases flanking its sides. Some partitioning along one side of the room creates cosy nooks to hide in and the partitions have an impressive collection of champagne bottles on top of them. The bar had a number of tankards hanging from it, perhaps belonging to devoted regulars?
Entry to the pub takes you through a small patio area at the front and I noticed that they also have a garden to the rear, although given the late hour of my visit, I didn't go out to investigate it.
As befits an Ale House, there was a fine selection of beer available at the bar including Sharp's Doom Bar, Surrey Hills Ranmore, Ringwood Best, Harvey's Best, Purbeck Fossil Fuel (£3.20) and Hepworth Prospect. My pint of Purbeck was in good shape and the barman who served it was quick and friendly. There was a sizable crowd in on a Saturday evening generating a good atmosphere enhanced by a fine 70's music soundtrack. A large TV screen was prominent but it was turned off whilst I was there. A selection of board games were available to keep punters entertained as well.
All in all a nice pub with a good selection of beer and a welcoming feel to it. Well worth a return visit.

On 7th October 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2313 recommendations about 2313 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Eagle Ale House

I counted eight hand pumps on the bar, four of which were on, but the governor was in the middle of changing barrels and pulling pints through so I’m sure that there is usually more choice, although four is enough anyway in my opinion. There is not much of a draught choice as this is primarily an ale drinker’s pub, but my Guinness was very good and the governor was polite. The other customers were at least a generation above me, but I did visit on a quiet week night.

There are a couple of TVs that were off during my visit and I also spotted a rolled up projector screen above the front window. There is a sign outside stating that sporting events are shown, but I didn’t spot any signs for Sky Sports so I’m not sure if it is present. Looking at the other clientele I would imagine that this is more a rugby pub anyway.

It is a comfortable enough place with standard tables and chairs which were not being used as all of the other customers were standing and sitting at the bar. Some sofas are found by a fireplace and there are some board games on the side shelf for people that have got bored of talking.

There is a garden out the back that I did not visit as it was cold, but apparently there is a dartboard in it – maybe someone could clarify this.

I’m not sure that I’d make a special trip to visit here again (maybe to check the garden out) but I can see why it is a popular destination pub.

On 9th February 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3470 recommendations about 3449 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Eagle Ale House

Tucked away on a side street off the main drag, this is one of those ‘hidden gem’ pubs that you don’t expect to exit in such a location. The interior, though opened out, is quite traditional in feel with a nice touch being the Chesterfields in front of the real fire. Décor of note are the many books and empty champagne bottles lined up in a built-in wall arch. There were a couple of TVs that were turned off. Dog friendly. The star here is the beer; five available on my visit (Harveys Best, Loddon Hoppit, Meantime Pale Ale, Isle of Purbeck Fossil Fuel and Flowers IPA) and the ones we sampled were in good order. In addition, there is also a good range of single malts and a slightly better wine list than the average pub.

It’s a bit of a schlep to get here but worth it.

On 30th December 2009 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3904 recommendations about 3892 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Eagle Ale House

An excellent place for a pint, with a large range of real ales from two arrays of handpumps (including 'Fossil Fuel', which I guess must come from somewhere in Dorset). Interesting interior, with a sensible selection of bar stools, chairs and sofas to suit your personal preference. A proper pub, and well worth a detour.

On 31st October 2009 - rating: 8
[User has posted 5697 recommendations about 5697 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


train man left this review about The Eagle Ale House

nb. doesn't open until 15:00 Mon-Thurs.
I don't see mention of this in previous reviews, and hadn't noticed myself until yesterday - is this a new policy?
It would be helpful if pubs keeping unusual hours would indicate opening times at the door. Frustrating, but rating unchanged.

5 June 2009
My previous couple of visits offered a choice of ‘only' four ales, but yesterday had a good selection across 7 of the 8 pumps: Surrey Hills Shere Drop & Ranmore, Tribute, Doombar, Westerham William Wilberforce Freedom Ale, Downton Honey Blonde, Ringwood Best, tried both of the Surrey Hills & in fine fettle, £2.90. Pub has a welcoming woody feel, some banquette seating around front area, proper wooden tables/chairs, & it's one of the few places that manage to properly incorporate sofas – 2 leather ones and a wingback chair giving the lounge area to right of bar a nice feel, arranged around the fireplace. To the rear some good wall decoration as noted by others, but I'm surprised no-one mentioned my favourite – the front page of the Sydney Herald after we won the rugby world cup, an ‘apology' from the Aussie nation for all the sledging they handed out down the years, & recognising the performance of an outstanding English team, then finishing with the smallprint ‘ye Pommie Bastards, …oops that just slipped out!'. I checked it would be ok to take my little dog in (it was) and, when re-entering, noticed the sign on the door, ‘all owners must be kept on a lead'…

On 15th October 2009 - rating: 8
[User has posted 411 recommendations about 410 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Eagle Ale House

Worth the hike from Clapham Junction (or you can jump on the 319). Large imposing frontage particularly for a pub on a side street, one area inside however semi divided by a brick pier, arch and glass screen, giving the area around the fireplace a feeling of seperation. The pub dog appears to like this area, although he didn't seem to mind me sitting on the opposite sofa.
The main bar area has a mix of seating, wooden settles in front of the windows, chair and tables and bar stools.
Board games are aplenty, a couple of tellys for sport, book cases, film posters and sporting photos( some boxing stuff includes "Our Enry" blood splattered) adorn the predominantly red walls. A big display of beer, wine and champagne bottles fills a shelving display.
A very comfortable and laid back feel, 8 handpumps, but only 4 in use on the day, Hogs Back TEA and Hop, Harveys Sussex and St Austell Tribute. Not sure whether there are normally 4 or sometimes more?
An outdoor gazebo/marquee to the rear caters for smokers and outdoor drinkers.

On 24th March 2009 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1681 recommendations about 1658 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Eagle Ale House

What a little gem of a pub. Décor consists of numerous prints and the like around the walls, plus a shelf or two of empty Champagne bottles and some books. Also the imaginative choice of prints in the Gents' (the Kylie “Spinning Around” was my favourite) is rather innovative.
Comfortable seating, friendly service and excellent real ale make this a definite winner. There were several real ales when I visited on a quiet Saturday afternoon – I had the excellent Loddon Best Bitter at £2.70 a pint. And a big black friendly dog on the floor getting in everyone's way – marvellous; I don't think there are many places like this left in London. Definitely worth the effort of seeking out.

On 6th September 2008 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2518 recommendations about 2436 pubs]