User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
My reasons for removing a photo that I posted. with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

Coach & Horses, Barnes, SW13

27 Barnes High Street
SW13
SW13 9LW
Phone: 02088762695

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about Coach & Horses

Maintaining its looks and feel of a coaching house - with entrance through an archway into a covered courtyard, where they have setup additional heated dining areas.

The front bar looked authentic - with dark wooden pannelling and lead windows, letting in beams of sunlight.

Youngs House.

All tables were booked at regular slots in the near future - so I could only stay for a drink. I did look at the menu and would have stopped for Sunday Lunch, if only so I could have told people I had paid £19.

On 20th January 2022 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1355 recommendations about 1340 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about Coach & Horses

Nice little pub with an great outdoor area to the rear.This would be great in the summer.Loved the beautifully shape windows looking out to the rear with every style of glass yo could imagine.Great workmanship.Couple of dull Youngs beers on cask plus Ghostship which seems to be a regular in Youngs pubs recently.I went for the Brixton beer on keg.

On 7th December 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1023 recommendations about 1009 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Coach & Horses

Entered via the side courtyard, this is an attractive, warm and cosy little pub with a number of retained features. Lots of cut glass, decent leaded windows and a real fire. Carpeted and with traditional style seating at well upholstered benches plus small stools and regular chairs. There is also a nice bit of dark wood panelling, and the rear leaded bay window is worthy of special mention. Youngs beers now although the green and amber Charrington's banding in the front window shows that this was not always the case. Bitter, Special, Bombardier and Otter Mild as a guest comprised the selection.
Decor includes lots of brasses, including a trumpet, old framed local scenes, a few 60s style lampshades and a shelf of old and not so old beer bottles over the fireplace.
Toilets are in the old stables across the courtyard, and there is an extensive outdoor area to the side and rear.
In all, a really nice proper old pub with a country inn feel, Youngs/Wells interior "designers" please stay away.

On 15th April 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1708 recommendations about 1681 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about The Coach & Horses

Situated in the centre of Barnes, on the High Street, is The Coach and Horses, an 18th century coaching inn.

Ann attractive small frontage, featuring fine leaded, stained glass windows depicting a coach and horses motif leads, via the passageway entrance, into a small traditionally furnished interior featuring much dark wood panelling, oak beams, and what looks like an original lapped bar front.

The pub has had a bit of a spruce up since my previous visit 18 months or so ago – nothing too drastic, thankfully – which has seen the introduction of a new carpet and the fixed seating by the front being recovered with a dark padded covering. Pleasingly – and I’m sure Rex will agree – most of the cushions which gave the pub a bit of an old peoples’ home feel have gone. The etched glass screen behind the bar is still in situ. Less pleasingly, the iron gantry surrounding the bar and which acted as a glasses shelf, has also gone, giving the bar area a rather more open feel. The dark oak beams are still decorated with horse brasses and, although rather oddly, some musical instruments have now been affixed to the walls, the pub still very much retains its country village pub feel. For nostalgia addicts, we still have the now famous outside toilets.

The small frontage belies the size of the long garden behind, accessed via what looks like the original horse drawn coach entrance. Here there is a childrens play area, an outside bar called The Beach Hut and a function room called The Walnut Room.

The Coach and Horses is a Youngs pub and, on my recent visit, the day before The Royal Wedding, the pub was advertising a “Great British Beer Festival from 18 April to 2 May”. As well as Young Ordinary, Special and Bombardier, the pub was serving Youngs Royal Wedding Ale - £ 3.37p – plus a beer called Brysons Union Flag 1606, the provenance of which I didn’t record.

The pub was advertising a Royal Wedding breakfast in The Walnut Room, which I gather used to be a skittle alley in days long gone. Royal Wedding Ale was being offered at £ 2.00p per pint between 10am and 2 pm on the big day.

Rex is not wrong – this is still the best pub in Barnes, and by quite a long way.

On 3rd May 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Coach & Horses

They had the usual range of Young’s ales on. I had the Special, which was fine. There’s lots of dark wood that gives it an old feel. The wood panelling looks original, as does the etched and cut glass screen behind the bar, and the leaded windows in the main bar and door look pretty ancient as well. This remains an excellent pub. It’s pretty comfortable inside, although as a traditionalist I rather think that they have overdone it with all the cushions everywhere. There is a surprisingly large beer garden at the (surprising for such a small-fronted pub) which boasts an ice cream parlour that opens between 3 and 6 PM. This is a good pub – probably the best in Barnes.

On 10th July 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2606 recommendations about 2520 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about The Coach & Horses

A small pub with dark wood interior. Has a large garden out the back. Quite a few customers when I got there. Lunch & evening meals served. Try not to sit at the table by the door, you risk getting hit with the door handle.

On 28th February 2009 - rating: 8
[User has posted 757 recommendations about 720 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Coach & Horses

This is a very friendly boozer and from my experiences of the other local pubs I think that this is the best pub in the area.

Youngs Ordinary and Special were on during my visit along with Tribute, Bombardier, Scrumpy Jack, Fosters, Kronenburg and Guinness. The Bombardier was on good form as was the barmaid.

Although the pub is very small it has a large well kept beer garden with children's play area at the rear which leaves the pub for the adults and their boozing.

This is a beer drinker's pub – and a very good one at that.

On 7th October 2008 - rating: 8
[User has posted 5303 recommendations about 5271 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Coach & Horses

The Coach and Horses is a small and nice looking pub in the centre of Barnes.
This pub is a Youngs tied house and once inside there was one room that i noticed which had dark wood panelling and this gave the pub a warm cosy feel to it.
There were two real ales on the bar i had a drink of Youngs bitter and this was a very nice drink the other beer was Youngs Special.
I quite liked this pub and i was very content having a drink in here.

Pub visited 14/12/2002

On 14th December 2002 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]