User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 19th January 2020) with ROBCamra on the Pub Forum

Royal Albert, Crystal Palace, SE19

42 Westow Hill
SE19
SE19 1RX

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Moby Duck left this review about Royal Albert

A rather basic but decent locals pub, just the choice of two ales, both from Timothy Taylors, Landlord and Bolt Maker. Good enough for a pint but there wasn't much to make me want to linger any longer.

On 7th June 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1307 recommendations about 1294 pubs]


john gray left this review about Royal Albert

Nice traditional looking pub from outside and basic interior.Two cask beers Timmy Taylors -landlord and Boltmaker.This is the pub for the older locals who avoid Wetherspoons.Nice enough.

On 2nd February 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 923 recommendations about 910 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Royal Albert

The Royal Albert is a decent looking pub that is set back from the road.
Once inside there is a single oblong shaped room which runs to the rear,the bar is one the left side,the room is bare boarded,the seating is bench seating down the right side and normal tables and chairs to the rear.
There were three real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Harveys Bitter which was a very nice drink,the other beers were Taylor Landlord and London Pride.
I found this to be a decent pub and it was very busy on my late Saturday afternoon visit.

Pub visited 16/4/2016

On 30th May 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Royal Albert

There were three handpumps on the bar counter - one had a clip reversed, one was dispensing London Pride and the third Harvey's Best (£1.80 a half). There was no sign of food on Wednesday afternoon.

This still seems to be a traditional locals' pub. It's bare-boarded inside, but is entirely traditionally furnished with banquettes and normal tables and chairs. There's no decor worth mentioning, although at this time of year there was some tinsel and a bit of other Christmassy stuff around the place. There was a large TV above the front door, showing a Sky News programme. The windows have the trademark Charrington's green-banded glazing, but I suspect that it's a modern replacement, as the green looks just a little too bright. The bar back and bar counter front are fairly plain, but look to be inter-war features - the unused doors in the bar counter front once used to service the beer engines is the clue. There are some seats in a small courtyard outside at the front.

This is an ordinary pub, with nothing much of great interest about it, but if you like basic boozers you'll like this one. I felt quite comfortable sitting in here - and it does do at least a couple of real ales.

On 19th December 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2561 recommendations about 2479 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Royal Albert

This is a fairly large, single room local’s boozer and now the only pub of its sort left in Crystal Palace after the closure of the Cambridge and the conversion of the Hollybush. The room is long and has the bar down the left hand side with a mix of banquette and standard seating opposite, before widening at the rear to incorporate an additional seating area. It’s carpeted throughout and has high wood paneling and some stained glass in the windows. The bar back is quite nice and has been decorated with a collection of jugs and other such items. Several TV screens are dotted around the pub, including one which is hung over the front door and was showing Formula One racing on my visit. There is a bit of outdoor seating to the side of the pub and the building is set quite away back from the road, so there are several benches at the front as well.
A blackboard outside the pub states that ‘Ales are now available’, but the three hand pumps were all unclipped on my visit, so I had to take my pick from the keg range which included the likes of John Smith’s and Guinness. The landlord seemed like a friendly guy and the clientele were a bit rowdy but no real trouble.
It’s not a bad place to spend a bit of time but, as the previous reviewer correctly points out, I find it really hard to believe that the pub can’t make at least one of their hand pumps viable. I preferred the feel of this place to the likes of the Sparrowhawk, but with no decent beer, there’s no point in making a return visit.

On 6th January 2013 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2394 recommendations about 2394 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


very wellinformed left this review about Royal Albert

Stopped selling real ale, no call for it, is the reply i received. Funny that cos' The Westow has eight, The Sparrowhawk has two, The Alma has four, The White Hart has three, The Paxton has Three and the Grape and Grain 18 ales and ciders. All of these pubs within three minutes walk.
Shabby, shabby, shabby

On 29th September 2012 - rating: 1
[User has posted 30 recommendations about 19 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


very wellinformed left this review about Royal Albert

Not much has changed since my last visit, the ales are still too warm, the service slow at best, the customers slowly decreasing and deceasing !

On 18th July 2012 - rating: 3
[User has posted 30 recommendations about 19 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


very wellinformed left this review about Royal Albert

Adnams Bitter, and London Pride both in ok form although i always think they are served too warm, even in this cold snap. Cellar issues maybe ? The pub is very much a boozer, not unfriendly, but not overly so. Its a strange one, decor is very IKEA meets Homes under the hammer, if you see what i mean. There is a quite nice garden which is busy in Summer, but otherwise i get the feeling its customer base is slowly dieing off. Whilest not exactly recommending it, there are worse pubs in the area.

On 30th November 2010 - rating: 3
[User has posted 30 recommendations about 19 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Lager Lout left this review about Royal Albert

Not a bad little boozer, it is the only "real" pub left in the Crystal Palace triangle. Adnams and London Pride available which is generally well kept. You can even get a bottle of Gold Label barley wine!!! Sometimes service can be a little slow as staff often seem to prefer spending time on mobile phones than serving punters. Reasonably priced Sunday lunches available that always prove popular. Good mix of customers, not a bad place to while away a few hours if you are in SE19.

On 17th November 2007 - rating: 8
[User has posted 5 recommendations about 5 pubs]