User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 21st July 2019) with oldboots on the Pub Forum

The White Hart, SE1

30 Cornwall Road
SE1
SE1 8TJ

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Castle (Mitchells & Butlers)
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Ian Mapp left this review about The White Hart

Beautiful, traditional looking pub a stone's throw from Waterloo.

Central bar, surrounded by traditional tables - discreetly setup for dining with flowers, condiments but at least no wine glasses.

4-5 real ales on - I went for Black Sheep Holy Grail which was both average and a round fiver. Meant no hassles with coin change.

Parts are better than the sum.

On 23rd September 2018 - rating: 5
[User has posted 535 recommendations about 530 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about The White Hart

A single bar Victorian back-street pub, adequately described below. The atmosphere was convivial during an early evening visit, mainly commuters enjoying a last pint or a quiet liaison before going home for the night. There was overpriced pub grub for diners and tiny portions of expensive bar snacks on sale, tables with candles which presented a fire hazard for those of us trying to read papers, and a foreign barman with no people skills. Ales on draft were Doombar, Hobgoblin Gold, Long Man's American Pale Ale and Sambrook's Wandle. Craft beers on tap were Oskar Blue, Camden Other Pils, Harpoon Take 5 and The Wild Beer Company's Pogo. There was also a passable wine list. While it's not bad, the high prices mean it's not my first choice.

On 30th January 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2327 recommendations about 2307 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The White Hart

There were five real ales on in here - Doom Bar, Adnam's Ghost Ship, Rooster's Little Bird, Bad Co Whiter Shade of Pale, and Purity UBU (£4.55 a pint). This is the sort of place that must do food, but there were no menus on the tables when I dropped in at around 2.00 PM on Friday. There were wine lists on the tables however, and although I don't generally concern myself with such things, I noticed that the cheapest wine was a South African plonk at £18.50 a bottle. That price seems consistent with the beer prices.

But nonetheless I quite like this pub, although it's obviously not the backstreet boozer that I remember from many years ago. There are no tall tables/tall stools or sofas - just standard tables and chairs. There are no fruit or games machines either, but I did spot a nasty little cash machine (which will charge you) lurking behind one of the doors. The wine and beer prices testify to its upmarket aspirations, as does the vase of roses on the tables, and the water flagon on the bar counter.

On the heritage front, the central island servery looks original, but with some modern embellishments like coffee machines and dishwashers. The bar counter is original - Victorian probably - with the telltale hinged door at the front originally for access to the beer engines. The dumb waiter housing looks original as well. I only spotted one unused doorway, so possibly it originally only had two bars. There's not much in the way of decor; just a few miscellaneous prints and a couple of chalkboards advertising available drinks - including draught beers but not the real ales.

There was just a handful of punters in, apparently just finishing off their Friday lunchtime session. It's an expensive, but comfortable pub. Five real ales is not too shabby either. Certainly worth dropping for a pint, as long as you don't wince too much at the prices.

On 16th January 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2495 recommendations about 2415 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The White Hart

Not much to add to the previous reviews. It definitely was very busy with the after work crowd but as it was a fine evening a lot of people were standing outside, so no problem to find space inside and get served.
Along with fairly mainstream offerings of Doombar, London Pride and Adnams Ghost ship there was Roosters Californian Common and Salopian Hop Twister and my pint of Hop Twister was on fine form as it was for Moby below.
All in all a decent enough pub , but lacking in any real character and if I only had time for one pint in the Lanes it would be in the Kings Arms.

On 18th August 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1627 recommendations about 1577 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


moby duck left this review about The White Hart

A single square room with a central island bar, there are tables and chairs all the way around the room and all full up on my Sunday afternoon visit.There are five pumps on the bar and my choice of Salopian Hop Twister turned out to be the best beer of the day despite the rather steep cost of £2,25 for a half. I would call back here.

On 19th June 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1233 recommendations about 1221 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The White Hart

Always very busy at office-closing time, but the atmosphere is usually a bit calmer later on (which is when I tend to visit if waiting for a train after an evening out south of the river). Service still a bit variable, but has generally improved in recent years. Not much space for furniture around the central bar counter, but there is a bit of reserved space outside on the pavement. It has lost most of its character inside, but there are still some features on interest on the façades. Usually has a reasonable selection from five handpumps, with the regular Doom Bar supplemented by four real ales from the M&B guest ale programme - Purity Pure UBU, Harviestoun Afterglow, By the Horns Old Smoke and Harbour American Rye (£4.25) on my latest visit. Also has a good range of continental lagers and craft beers on tap.

On 21st June 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5566 recommendations about 5566 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The White Hart

Just a short walk from Waterloo station, down a pleasant backstreet amidst some charming terraces, the White Hart is a traditional pub that has been stripped out and given a gastro style makeover. The layout comprises a single room with a sizeable island servery which creates a fairly narrow ribbon of seating space around the perimeter of the pub. The whole room is bare boarded with the sort of bland, neutral colour scheme which gastro pubs seem to favour. The servery has a nicely panelled bar counter, but the whole place has been stripped back to such a degree that it’s hard to find any interesting details of note. The walls are plain, except for a few blackboards which list different drinks available and the seating options are almost exclusively restricted to standard tables and chairs, with just a couple of high stools along a short ledge to the left of the room. A quick look at the menu showed that they offer upscaled versions of traditional pub classics, with most main courses costing around a tenner. We visited in the early evening on a Bank Holiday Monday and found the place really buzzing with a lively, predominantly young, crowd which created a good atmosphere despite the underwhelming surroundings.
There were five handpulls on the bar, dispensing Sambrooks Junction, Sharps Doom Bar, Oakham Citra and Andwell Red IPA, with the fifth pump being pulled through in readiness for a new barrel. The Citra was in pretty good shape and the friendly bar staff were very organised and helpful.
This is a fairly decent pub that sadly lacks the character it undoubtedly once had. A lively crowd on my visit made this an enjoyable experience and this, coupled with a good pint of beer, means I will give it another look, perhaps as a double header with the nearby Kings Arms.

On 28th May 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2290 recommendations about 2290 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


paulof horsham left this review about The White Hart

On a street corner, the big windows and pale walls make for an open feel at this busy pub near Waterloo stations. Since the clientele is transient, the seats turn over pretty rapidly.

The beer offerings were, to me, most notable for the wide range of interesting keg offerings, including Meantime lager, Franziskaner Weiss, Camden Hells and Sierra Nevada Pale Ales among others. Lager drinkers have Carling & Becks available, while ale fans have 5 pumps to browse, including Doom Bar and Adnams (Mosaic on my visit).

Makes for a good double-header with the nearby Kings Arms.

On 23rd April 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 260 recommendations about 251 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The White Hart

Another nice pub but rammed on a Friday night visit.Large central bar dominates.Good range of beers from Sheps,Dorset Brewing and Purity.My keg Brains Atlantic White was very good.

On 1st March 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 887 recommendations about 875 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The White Hart

A short trot from Waterloo Station, this street corner pub feels miles away from the buzzing Metropolis that surrounds it, a corner pub with the most amazing surviving Victorian cottages in central London sandwiched around it. Inside there is an island bar, boarded possibly original floor, a small "splash" area by the bar that looks to be marble or onyx, mostly traditional style seating albeit with trendy mismatched chairs, although there are a couple of the high tables so enamoured by pub interior designers yet disliked by most consumers. Dark green textured ceiling and light coloured walls. Whirring ceiling fans.
Sadly the original windows have not survived, the modern replacements being cheap clear glass, despite this, the pub is worthy of a visit especially in connection with the neighbouring Kings Arms in Roupell St. Not a bad beer range at all, Alton fff Moondance, Bateman's Yellabelly Gold, St Austell Proper Job (a superb beer, even if overpriced at £4.10), plus Doom Bar.
Food is served, bar snacks at 3 for £12, Saturday brunch 12-4, Sunday roasts 'till 5.
A nice pub, balancing modern life and people's needs with tradition, disabled access and WC available. £4+ for a regular beer is still too much though.

On 9th June 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1680 recommendations about 1657 pubs]

Page: 1 2