User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Reviewing milestone with Pangolin on the Pub Forum

The Libertine, Borough, SE1

125 Great Suffolk Street
SE1
SE1 1PQ

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Quinno _ left this review about The Libertine

Probably was a fairly fancy place many years ago but has been gradually stripped back and left to gently decay. The front area is grubby bare board, bland goo green / grey paint walls and a well-utilised darts area. To the rear is what may have been a separate small lounge which now has a worn carpet, dark green walls and fireplace with a mirror above. A few local characters in situ with some interesting chat and “I’m not a racist but [insert contradictory sentence here]” Brexit chat. A surprise entry in the 2020 GBG, there were three pumps clipped with Doom Bar, Redemption Hopspur and Watneys Spaceman, the latter of which was a thin and watery specimen (NBSS 2) served up by the best bit of the pub, a friendly and engaging barman. Didn't see much to get excited about really and I doubt it’ll be bothering the GBG in 2021 unless the local branch really are desperate to fill their quota…

On 2nd November 2019 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3921 recommendations about 3909 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Libertine

Corner pub opened out at some stage to leave a rectangular bar with the counter in the middle of the inner side wall. Fairly limited number of wooden tables on a bare-board floor at the front and centre, with a smaller lounge area at the rear. Large windows in the front half but quite gloomy further back. Restrained decor. Doom Bar and Proper Job clips on two of three handpumps when I arrived, but the latter went off as it was poured so I waited a few minutes for the Truman's Gypsy Queen (£3.90) to be put on.

On 9th July 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 5796 recommendations about 5796 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Libertine

The Libertine is a corner pub that is in an area where there are lots of flats,the last time i passed this pub it was called the Skinners Arms and the area seemed to be a lot rougher that it is now,so things have improved.

Once inside there is a single oblong shaped room with the bar to the rear,the room is bare boarded,the seating is normal tables and chairs to the front and leather settees to the rear,there is a slight raised area to the front left which has a darts board and piano on it.
There were three real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Trumans Lazarus which went down very well,the other beers were Twickenham Naked Ladies and Doom Bar.
I thought this was quite a nice pub apart from the concept type background music.

Pub visited 26/5/2015

On 26th May 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Sir Tubbs left this review about The Libertine

A very friendly corner pub with excellent home-made pizzas including several veggie options, but often busy on weekday lunchtimes with many tables reserved - arrive early for lunch if you can! Popular with students from nearby South Bank and with three ales available too. Worth seeking out for pizza & beer.

On 13th February 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2 recommendations about 2 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Libertine

A little bit off the beaten track in Borough, this is a somewhat quirky single roomed pub with a local yet slightly bohemian feel. Boarded flooring, reclaimed domestic dining tables with candles in dimpled pint mugs, décor includes an antelope's head sporting an Aussie hat with dangling corks, over the bar is a gold painted reclining mannequin wearing a tutu, to the rear are various framed photographs of mainly 1960s musicians and a large snake skin is stretched along a ceiling beam. All pretty standard pub stuff then, the pub is aptly named. There is a slightly raised area to a front corner where there is a dartboard, this area looks to double up as the stage for live music events judging by the lighting and speaker stacks; one wall is covered by a curious Scarfe-esque mural which I found vaguely disconcerting. The look is completed by lots of foliage in the guise of large potted plants, a pair of sofas either side of the rear fireplace provide an alternative to the mostly regular style seating.
Three handpumps on the side bar, Doom Bar, Hook Norton Hooky Bitter and Crouch Vale Citra (£3.60), decent value for the area. Food is served but the only options I could see consisted of pizzas.
I found the place to be comfortable and rather chilled, the welcome and service were down to earth and cheerful and the small group around the bar were all engaged in friendly discussion between themselves and the staff. Worth a detour off the main road.

On 30th August 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1685 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The Libertine

The Libertine appears to be the last traditional building standing in an area that has seen extensive post war redevelopment. My only previous visit here was in its days as the Town House some years ago when it came over as a place aimed at bored housewives in search of cheap entertainment. Thankfully it has now moved on a bit.

The once brightly coloured exterior has now been dampened so it doesn’t stand out quite like it used to. Internally, it is a single knocked through room with job lot trendypub style décor and furnishings, bare floors and some interesting artwork. A raised section in the front corner has a dart board and also doubles up as a stage for live music (which was my purpose of visit). DJ’s, quiz nights and sport on TV are also regular features.

The beer range is certainly better than my previous visit with 3 ales initially available – Hop Back GB (which ran out after I managed to get my pint), Truman Swallow & Swift and the ubiquitous Doom Bar. Prices were reasonable for the area at around £3.50 a pint. On the food front they specialize in stone baked Pizzas which cost around £7-£9.

Service was efficient and welcoming and the pub itself was quite vibrant with a good Saturday night atmosphere. On the whole it isn’t really my sort of pub but I would certainly return if there was a specific reason.

On 15th April 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Libertine

Maybe it was my imagination, but I would have sworn that it has tinted windows. If so, it really is a case of it emulating the traditional pub in turning its back on the outside world, and protecting the sensibilities of passers by from the unseemly activities going on inside. In which case it’s aptly named.
Anyway, enough of that. There were a couple of ales on – Sharp’s Doom Bar and Truman Runner (£3.40 a pint). I didn’t see any menus but an A-board outside offered a Monday and Wednesday deal for students, giving two pizzas for the price of one. The inside doesn’t look much a like a students’ pub (potted plants, candles on the tables, etc) but maybe it becomes one in the evenings. There’s a small slightly raised balustraded area on the left with a dartboard, and unencumbered by any furniture cluttering it up. The rest of the room is furnished mainly with normal tables and chairs, but there are a couple of sofas lurking at the back. There are a few bits of odd decor – a snakeskin (python possibly judging by the size), a stuffed animal head sporting an Australian “cork” hat, and a pair of life size upside down gold coloured legs (!?) on top of the bar back. A couple of standard lamps at the back near the sofas emphasize the Edwardian drawing room look. It’s not the sort of pub that I would make a bee-line for, but I wouldn’t object to dropping in again sometime.

On 20th November 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2543 recommendations about 2461 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nick Johnstone left this review about The Libertine

Awful food orientated place. Hardly anyone in and the barmaid stuffing herself with pizza.
Used to be the skinners arms amongst it's other guises. Truly dreadful.

On 29th April 2011 - rating: 1
[User has posted 98 recommendations about 98 pubs]