User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with Spinko on the Pub Forum

The Royal Oak, Borough, SE1

44 Tabard Street
SE1
SE1 4JU
Phone: 02073577173

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2 3

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Royal Oak

What more can be said about this gem ?We went through the card and every Harvey brewed ale was spot on ,and the general consensus was that the Sussex Best and the Old Ale were the finest of a great range.The Christmas Ale at 8.2% was one of the best barley wines we've (carefully) supped.
The food is substantial,traditional and well cooked.The punters are in the main serious ale drinkers but there are younger customers and medical students who also appreciate the traditional pub atmosphere in an area dominated by deafening bars with bouncers .Harveys are also brewers of very traditional ales,where else in the southeast can you find a tasty low strength mild,a pale ale and an old ale under the same roof ?
An outstanding pub and a reminder of times gone by.

On 8th February 2010 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2383 recommendations about 2383 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


paulof horsham left this review about The Royal Oak

Interesting old pub: looks little changed over the years. 4 ales from the Harveys range (Pale, Old, Sussex & Star of Eastbourne one evening last week) plus one of Fullers (HSB when I was in). Don't visit for the comfort or Sky Sports - go for the traditional interior and the ale, of course.

On 9th November 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 331 recommendations about 314 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


andrew parr left this review about The Royal Oak

excellent pub,rare Harveys oulet.

On 19th May 2009 - rating: 10
[User has posted 105 recommendations about 100 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Chris 87 left this review about The Royal Oak

I can only echo previous reviews. I had a superb pint of Harveys' Mild in here yesterday lunchtime, and the other members of my party enjoyed their pints of Old, Porter and real cider. It is a fairly simple, traditional boozer in terms of layout with the two seperate bars and the wooden furniture. If I lived in London I could see this becoming a regular haunt.

On 29th March 2009 - rating: 9
[User has posted 179 recommendations about 179 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Royal Oak

This is a very nice Harveys pub that wouldn't be out of place sitting in Lewes along with some of the best. I spotted London Porter, which was off, alongside the Harveys ale range and Stowford Press cider. I stuck to the Guinness which was well poured by the friendly barmaid.

This is a nice looking well kept pub and I would recommend others to visit if in the area.

On 9th January 2009 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3948 recommendations about 3925 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


train man left this review about The Royal Oak

Now opens normally on Saturday, abandoning its previous (& bizarre) 18:00 start, although very quiet around 14:00 so maybe word isn't out yet or, as the barman suggested, it could have been rugby affected (no tv here). Ales yesterday as per LGA's att'd list & the Best, Armada, & Porter were in fine fettle.

11 May 2007
Always considered this pub first rate with quality Harvey's ales, good layout & decor, lovely food (based on a single experience) and friendly service. This week, however, I had a most unfortunate experience when the barman (E.Euro, I think) sneezed into his hands before serving me then reached straight for a pint glass without giving a thought to washing first. It quite put me off my beer; I must give the Royal Oak a low rating and a wide berth until I manage to erase the incident from my mind.

On 16th March 2008 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 411 recommendations about 410 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Royal Oak

This is well known Harveys pub, yet retains the atmosphere and feel of a backstreet boozer. Some of the best sandwiches around can be bought here. So – great beer, excellent sarnies, super atmosphere – top pub then. Well recommended for inclusion in a Waterloo to London Bridge crawl. Definitely one of my favourites.

On 6th March 2008 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2599 recommendations about 2513 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Royal Oak

Reliable Harvey's house with two bars, the front room has high ceilings, chandeliers, etched windows and a choice of traditional chairs or wooden settles. Old theatre flyers adorn the walls. The back bar is more like a parlour with its fireplace and cosier ambience. Not quite the full range today, Sussex Best, Pale, Old, and Mild. Guest beer for Valentine's being Kiss at 4.8%, a sign over the bar challenges punters to ask the barmaid for one. I passed on that. Well regarded neverthless and as a full on Harvey's pub, a real addition to London choice.

On 23rd February 2008 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1695 recommendations about 1669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Royal Oak

A classic pub where time has stood still. 2 bars and a central serving hatch. This pub is what all traditional English pubs should be like. The only Harvey's pub in London selling their full range of beers. This pub is a Gem and should not be missed.5 minutes from Borough Underground Station

On 6th June 2007 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2044 recommendations about 2025 pubs]

Page: 1 2 3