User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Euros Prediction League with ROBCamra on the Pub Forum

The Rose, Borough, SE1

123 Snowsfields
SE1
SE1 3ST

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Rose

Typical corner pub. Bar to the left. One hand pump which I didn't take note of. Rest keg. Room off to the right.

On 23rd September 2019 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1673 recommendations about 1671 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Rose

This pub at the back of Guy's Hospital was still an old fashioned corner local on my previous visit some six years ago, but it has since been partly refurbished to mix the traditional wood panelling and dark wood furniture with shiny hooped craft keg founts and gastro-pub food. Annoyingly, almost all the tables were laid up for non-existent diners, meaning that the compact bar counter area was unnecessarily crowded. Several (rebadged?) Snowsfield-branded keg beers on tap, with a solitary handpump dispensing Banks's Sunbeam (ridiculously expensive at £4.90).

On 15th October 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6214 recommendations about 6214 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Rose

A typical street corner Victorian pub, now opened out and taken firmly down the gastro path. Parquet flooring, mostly copper topped tables and a copper topped bar, a reasonably decent carved bar back, wood panelling rather lightly stained and an almost gold effect painted embossed wallpaper on the ceiling as well as the walls. Light blue child or nymph figures over the entrance lobby, a bust of Queen Victoria behind the bar and an old Charrington's sign were of note.
The main space winds around beyond the bar and past an open to view kitchen to a narrow area which eventually leads to a small walled courtyard garden. Stairs lead down to the facilities where the floor in the corridor is surfaced with glued on pennies which I obviously found unusual...how do you properly clean it?
The bar contained various keg offerings of a non-standard nature, one solitary handpump as far as I saw with Banks' Sunbeam, ridiculously priced at £4.90 for a 4.2% beer. Having said that the Sunday menu had a chicken roast for two at £33.
Well if the pricing policy didn't put me off the abundance of young children did, toddlers roaming about and sitting in inconveniently located buggies, not my idea of a relaxing Sunday pint.
A nice building and it could be a nice pub but it isn't one that is aiming in my direction at all.

On 12th September 2016 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Rose

Located round the back of Guys Hospital and thus handy for London Bridge station (and the Shard), this is a typical back street boozer that has been given a fancy gastro re-fit. It's a simple pub with a single, rectangular room which houses the servery on the rear wall. The pub is bare boarded throughout and has a dark wood servery and bar back adorned with a collection of stuffed birds in display cases. There is plenty of seating in the main bar area and also in the smart, wood panelled dining area which is partly screened from view by a large pillar. A number of salvers and clocks were on show around the room, but the décor still felt a little bland and minimalist, with the wood panelling failing to recapture what was presumably once a smart, traditional interior. A number of plain mirrors can be seen around the walls and some of the windows have nice diamond stained glass inserts. The day's papers were available from a rack and I noticed quite a few old books stacked along the window sills. The clientele seemed relatively upmarket and a good proportion were here to eat from the somewhat pricey menu.
Just the two ales were available on this visit - London Beer Factory Summer Ale and Banks' Sunbeam. The Summer Ale clocked in at a whopping £4.90 for a pint, so suffice to say I only stayed for the one. It wasn't even in particularly good condition and I had the feeling the bar staff weren't impressed with me taking up a table that could otherwise have been used by diners. Keg beers included one more from London Beer Factory (I dread to think how much it cost) and something called Snowfields, which I assume was a rebadge of something else especially for this pub.
I thought this was a reasonable gastro pub that would perhaps be worth a visit if you felt a bit flush. But visiting just for a drink, I was left feeling a bit disappointed by both the choice at the bar and the ridiculous pricing. With so many other fine pubs in this part of town, it really is difficult justifying visiting somewhere that is blatantly ripping you off.

On 20th October 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2546 recommendations about 2546 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Rose

An attractive street corner building ,these days an upmarket gastro pub.There is some terrific detailing around,the apex entrance doors are superb,as is the ceiling covering and chandeliers above the bar.Parquet flooring and wood panelling maintain the upmarket vibe .A bust of Queen Victoria sits on the side bar ,with a classy framed print of her further along the interior.Seating is mainly at dining style tables although immediately by the entrance there are three smaller tables along a wall bench seat which feels more like a drinking area.Towards the rear there is an open plan kitchen where you can see the chefs at work while along the corridor to the downstairs loos is a seperate room ,unused on my visit but with a private feel.You must pay a visit to the gents to see a fantasic floor mosaic in 1p pieces and more interesting detail.
There are 6 keg beer taps and two handpumps ,one reversed leaving London Beer Factory Chelsea Blonde which was outstanding,and it needed to be at £2.45 the half.Scotch eggs and Sausage rolls at £4 seemed steep.
Food dominates with mains £13 -£22 and a 5 course tasting menu at £35.I didnt eat but what was coming out of the kitchen did look very good on the plate,stylish presentation.
This isnt a pub to engage in a solid session,it's very hip and I was by far the oldest customer,but it's well worth a look to view the expensive refurb and I may pop back to sample the food offering if I'm feeling flush.

On 20th September 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2089 recommendations about 2089 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Rose

The Rose is a small corner pub that is set in the back streets of Borough.
Once inside there is a smallish single oblong shaped room with the bar facing,the seating is all pew type and chairs,there is an open kitchen to the rear right,so the pub must do quite a bit of food.
There were two real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Banks's Sunbeam which went down well,the other beer was Ringwood Old Thumper.
I thought this was a decent enough pub,but the background music was very old type and would get on my nerves if staying any longer.

Pub visited 26/5/2015

On 26th May 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Rose

I paid my first visit since the refurbishment a year or so, and found the prices to be just as expensive as previous reviewers seem to have found. The house ale - Snowfields Pale Ale (the barmaid didn't know who brewed it) - was £4.40 a pint, and the other ale, Banks's Mild Ale, is £2.30 a half and £4.50 a pint. There are also numerous keg offerings not from the usual suspects, including an oyster stout and a rye pale ale. The beers, with prices, are helpfully listed in menus on the tables. The food isn't cheap either. Sarnies are 8 (£ presumably), and the pie of the day is £12.

Inside it's been rather tastefully refurbished. It does have a bit of the 70s retro feel about it with the bar top, and all the tables, copper topped. Rather unusually, the ceiling's also a gold colour. The walls have some nice wood panelling some of which might be original - if not it's an excellent reproduction. Some of the decor is quite attractive including some stuffed birds/animals in glass cases above the bar back; some brass plates on one of the walls; and a portrait of Queen Victoria with the legend "record reign" (but not for much longer) above it. Their are no fruit machines, and I didn't see any TVs, and the music being played was some nice blues tracks at background volume level.

It's quite a nice comfortable pub, but I think the beer prices are a bit over the top even for this area (£4.40 for a 3.7% house ale?). Although I liked this pub, there are better, more reasonably priced, pubs nearby.

On 2nd April 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


paulof horsham left this review about The Rose

Located in the quiet streets south of London Bridge, The Rose is a bright room on a street corner. On the bar, there's 2 handpumps and 6 keg taps, as well as a range of interesting beers in the fridge. All of these come in at the £4 - £5 mark, so it's not cheap. Declining a Great Heck ale at 6.5%, I opted for a 2 chefs Honey Beer which, while in great shape, wasn't really to my taste - should have gone for one of the keg Red Squirrel offerings.

The menu listed the beers as well as the food. The latter was very fashionably priced just by the pound ('9' or '12' for example), and the kitchen's on display.

The pub was quiet on my visit, although the same could not be said for The Miller just down the street - possibly the prices are a little keener there?

On 17th April 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 293 recommendations about 283 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Rose

Now re-opened after a re-furb. Very impressive corner pub. Copper coloured walls and ceilings. Copper plates and such decorate the walls. Copper topped tables as well. And in the basement leading to the toilets is a floor made from copper coins. Bright airy pub with large windows. Strange beer range. Only beer from Red Squirrel with 3 handpumps and 5 keg pumps.The keg Owl beers are brewed exclusively for the pub. Yeah right. My Red Squirrel stout was a bit tired.Been twice now and will re-visit.

On 13th October 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nick Johnstone left this review about The Rose

Strange place adorned with some odd knick knacks. Lots of jesus icons mixed with golfing stuff and copies of the tennancy rights dating back to the 1860's. Slightly dreary and depressing.

On 12th May 2011 - rating: 5
[User has posted 98 recommendations about 98 pubs]