User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 12th July 2020) with aleandhearty on the Pub Forum

The Rose & Crown, SE1

65 Union Street
SE1
SE1 1SG

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about The Rose & Crown

only Doom Bar on cask. A pretty average pub in truth but it had a nice bright friendly atmosphere about it that I liked. a proper mixed clientele city pub. I talked to a very friendly Jamaican fella in here for at least an hour!

On 1st February 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 736 recommendations about 717 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Rose & Crown

Basic pub,basic keg beers and very basic Doombar on cask.Decent pub though.

On 26th December 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Rose & Crown

There is still just the one real ale - the ubiquitous Doom Bar - with two more handpumps apparently unused. I didn't see a menu but food is advertised.

This is still a standard locals' pub, of the sort rarely found in Central London. It currently consists of two rooms - the smaller of the two on the left which contains the pool table, and the larger of the two accessed through an opening on the right. The larger of the two has three doors, suggesting that was once two separate rooms plus a jug and bottle bar. The three vestibules in this room are relatively recent additions. There is some decent fielded panelling in this room, as well as an inter-war bar counter. There are TVs in here, plus a large pull-down screen at the back, and knick knacks all over the place.
I rather liked this pub. All the furnishings are normal tables and chairs, but a better ale selection would be a massive plus.

On 17th April 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bill Nicolet left this review about The Rose & Crown

In town for a Neil Young show at the O2 and had a few hours to burn before heading for the show. Greeted by friendly barstaff - Queenie - who recommended a certain ale - locals seemed a little boistorous - but before long we had met one or two of them - Irish and Polish and had a great afternoon over indulging. It's rough around the edges - includes a hostel upstairs - but I soon felt at home! I've seen it described as an old fashioned pub with old fashioned values - I'll go with that.But he beer .. you ask.. Guinness seemed fine, but limited choice - no real ale.

On 13th June 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Rose & Crown

A basic boozer if not a little run down, it was my last pub of 12 visited on the day and one of the worst, with only one beer on out of three pumps, Wadsworth Dirty Rucker,and it wasn't good at all,I'll give this one a miss next time.

On 17th February 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1326 recommendations about 1312 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Rose & Crown

The Rose and Crown is situated is a pleasant area of Borough.
Once inside there is a small room to the front left which has a pool table and bench seating,the pool table was in use,there is a larger lounge room to the right which is oblong shaped which has a tiled floor with rugs,the seating is normal tables and chairs,there is a dart board to the rear,all tables had condiments on them,there is also a few tall tables and chairs.
There was one real ale on the bar which was Robinsons Dizzy Blonde,this was a decent drink.
The pub was fairly busy on my Tuesday afternoon visit wit a mixed bunch.
This is a decent enough pub to have a couple of drinks in.

Pub visited 26/5/2015

On 26th May 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Rose & Crown

Decent, unpretentious local with a relaxed atmosphere and spacious feel due to the high ceilings. Two bars; the larger lounge (with its three side doors indicating a previous configuration) retaining a dart board, and the smaller public bar at the front being home to a well-used pool table. Limited choice of real ales from a total of four handpumps, with just Doom Bar (£3.80) on my latest visit, but well kept.

On 7th December 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6002 recommendations about 6002 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nick Johnstone left this review about The Rose & Crown

Would be a 7 out of ten but loses a mark for the stench of Thai food. Bar staff are quick to serve, at least they had some flags out for the Royal wedding.

On 29th April 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 98 recommendations about 98 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Rose & Crown

I liked this pub although it was pretty empty compared to the other pubs in the area during my visit. The barman was approachable and turned the music down on my request. There is a TV that was showing Sky Sports and a pool table that the only other people in the pub were playing on. I counted four ale pumps, three of which were serving up Pride and the other was unused, along with the usual suspect lagers and Bulmers.

If it was in another area it would probably be the best pub around, but it doesn't really stand out from its peers even though it is open until midnight at the weekends. That said I still liked it and would go back, if only to play pool.

On 7th January 2009 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]