User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Yet another list with Aqualung on the Pub Forum

The Ring, Southwark, SE1

72 Blackfriars Road
SE1
SE1 8HA
Phone: 02076200811

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Ring

Compact pub on an angled corner plot, with much-needed additional seating on benches outside on the pavement. Tidy interior featuring boxing-related memorabilia apparently inspired by the eponymous site which once stood nearby. On this visit, I found Doom Bar, Truman's Two Halves (£4.60, Tiny Rebel Cwtch and Joe's Cider from Dorset from four of the five handpumps, with a new real ale being pulled through on the other. Run by the small Windmill Taverns group with several other bars in the vicinity. Handy for Southwark tube and Waterloo East railway station.

On 21st July 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5540 recommendations about 5540 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Ring

The Ring has a small L shaped interior that was busy with some very shouty people during my visit one evening just before Christmas. The din meant that the background music was pointless. The walls are covered with boxing paraphernalia. The bar was stocked with premium draught products and I counted five hand pumps. Due to the popularity of this pub I was only able to make out the Sharp’s Doom Bar pump clip. Burgers and hot dogs were advertised, but I didn’t note the prices. I would like to return here when it is less busy.

On 13th January 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3414 recommendations about 3394 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Ring

The building stands opposite the site of an indoor boxing ring destroyed in the blitz,hence the name and the photos inside of pugilists.However that aside there is no longer real boxing connection and the interior has a smart feel with an upmarket colour scheme,wooden floor and an upholstered bench seating running around two walls.Some bar stools are placed along a drinking shelf to the side,and the pavement seating was proving popular.The bar sits in one corner and has two ranks of 7 keg taps (including some leading craft keg brewers),while the 5 handpumps sit between. On my trip besides the regular Doom Bar,there was New River Riverbed Red,XT8,Brick Brewery Kinsale and a very reasonable Roosters YPA,at an unreasonable £4.50.
Food available ,mainly burgers and hot dogs.
A reliable place for real ale in this neck of the woods,and a firm commitment to stock respected brewers means I will call in again despite the rather usury pricing.

On 8th August 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1950 recommendations about 1950 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


moby duck left this review about The Ring

A single roomed corner pub opposite Southwark Tube Station,as mentioned below the interior walls are covered with black and white boxing photos that I personally found interesting,
five hand pumps with a decent selection apart from Doombar, my Marble Chocolate was a good drop,I would call in again.

On 17th February 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1232 recommendations about 1220 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Ring

A small one room bar with boxing memorabilia probably picked by a pub designer rather than a boxing fan.loads of pictures of un-named boxers with no text to indicate their achievments.They did have a video playing of Henry Cooper knocking down Cassius Clay.You was robbed Henry.Oh the beer.Yes 5 handpumps and 2 on stillage.Brains -White Out and Caledonian -Over the bar plus 4 more common beers.Great selection of London bottled beers so I had Moncada-Red Rye 6.0 at the bargain price of £4.00 for 500ml.Brains for £4.10 or Moncada for £4.00(its a no brainer).Disappointed with the boxing theme but impressed with the beer.

On 1st March 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 887 recommendations about 875 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Ring

Located across the road from southwark underground station. Interior as described below with old boxing photographs on the walls. 5 real ales and food served.

On 23rd November 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2570 recommendations about 2514 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Ring

This is a fairly compact one roomed pub directly opposite Southwark Underground station. Taking its name from the boxing arena that once stood over the road, the walls are covered with boxing memorabilia, stacks of photos of boxers from yesteryear, gloves, a championship belt as well as more curiously sets of animal antlers.
Boarded floor, beige walls, there is minimal proper seating, mostly stools at drinking shelves. There is some outdoor seating roped off along the pavement. The TV had the horse racing on while music played at an unobtrusive volume, food served. Not a bad beer range with five on even if none set the pulse racing, Brakspears Oxford Gold, Courage Best, Ringwood Best Bitter, Pedigree and Black Sheep Golden Sheep.
Not an essential pub but fine for a quick passing pint.

On 11th June 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1680 recommendations about 1657 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nick Johnstone left this review about The Ring

A better bet than some in the area and the bar staff are attentive.

On 29th April 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 98 recommendations about 98 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Ring

I’ve walked past this pub many times in the past, but for some reason have never ventured inside. But I put that omission right earlier this week. They had three real ales on (Jennings Bitter; Brakspear’s Bitter; and Hobgoblin), plus another handpump with a Doom Bar clip turned round as well as the usual forest of keg/lager fonts. I had the Jennings Bitter which was OK, but at £3.25 a pint I thought that it was a bit expensive for a 3.5% bitter. I didn’t eat there, but had a quick look at the menu which featured mainly Thai food. The stir fries or curries at £5.95 were possibly a better bet than the sandwiches at £6.50 a throw. The Thai waitress (chef?) provided some table service for diners.
The pub itself is an imposing building opposite Southwark underground station. It’s painted a sort of battleship grey, which inevitably gives a somewhat dull aspect. Inside the walls and ceiling are painted a lighter shade of grey, which seems to be the colour of choice for pubs that are trying to move upmarket. There’s only one small room, with mainly banquette seating around the sides and normal tables and chairs in the middle of the room. The decor on the walls is comprised mainly of old black and white photographs of erstwhile boxing heroes, presumably as a reference to the boxing ring that used to be over the road. I also noticed the hat and antlers, and was a bit nonplussed as to how they fit in with the boxing theme. Mind, you I have seen some incredibly strange things on pub walls over the years. The floor is bare-boarded, which is a must for any gray or taupe painted pub. The flat screen TV on one of the walls was switched off, and there was some varied music being played.
Essentially this place is like a hundred other expensive overly modernised pubs that I have been in. It’s not really the sort of place I take to, but it could be handy for a pint if it is on your route to the station, and on the plus side it does do three (and presumably sometimes four) real ales and does not have any one armed bandits and games machines that blight so many pubs.

On 18th November 2009 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2495 recommendations about 2415 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Chris 87 left this review about The Ring

SE1 as a postcode is full of really good pubs, and this week I got to sample The Ring after a short period while it was closed for a small refurb. Its deceptively small inside, and still adorned with the boxing memorabilia which gives it a good character. Of less interest (and logic) is the hats and antlers they've also stuck to the wall - They'll have to talk me through that one.

Hobgoblin, Brakspears Bitter, Oxford Gold and Doom Bar were on, which is fine, but I was rather taken aback by the £3.25 I was charged for the Oxford Gold, as good a pint as it was. Even in central london that is a fair bit of damage. Would I go back? Probably, if I wanted a quick one before getting the tube.

On 3rd October 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 179 recommendations about 179 pubs]

Page: 1 2