User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Covid Rules Stuff with oldboots on the Pub Forum

The Crown & Cushion, Lambeth, SE1

133 Westminster Bridge Road
SE1
SE1 7HR

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


E TA left this review about The Crown & Cushion

Well described by others, below.  I found the pub welcoming and a positive improvement over the many chain bars and dives in the area, the staff friendly and the commuters tolerable.  Ales on were GK IPA, Old Speckled Hen and Sharp’s Coaster; the latter was in excellent condition.  I’d definitely include in a crawl. 

On 25th March 2020 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2589 recommendations about 2563 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Crown & Cushion

The Crown and Cushion is an Irish pub with an English, Tao and Thai menu that can be eaten in or collected. The traditional Victorian décor is somewhat hidden behind lots of Irish paraphernalia, but the old school boozer atmosphere is not lost. I counted two plasma screens that were airing horse racing and I noted the presence of a dartboard, although there was a rather large table on the oche. Upstairs is a function room and the free Wi-Fi passcode was on the wall for all to use. I found the landlady to be very friendly and it is always reassuring to find yourself standing next to a vicar whilst supping at the bar. Available from the bar was a standard keg range and surprisingly for an Irish pub there were three hand pumps. These were drawing Greene King’s Old Speckled Hen, IPA and Santa’s Goliath Sack… titter! As Irish pubs go I thought this place was OK.

On 1st February 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Crown & Cushion

Having travelled via Waterloo Station for so many years, I found it most strange that I had never before visited this pub. It seems to be little, if any, changed from previous reviewers' visits. The black eagle on the exterior (now gold painted) identify it as an ex Truman's pub. But there's nothing inside of Truman heritage as far as I could see. The Irish influence is very strong - there are Guinness mirrors, adverts, and bunting all over the place, some Irish place names atre displayed, and I even detected Irish accents. The said Guinness adverts were the ancient wooden bas relief type, one even featuring the iconic toucan. I'm not sure what the "Rotherhithe Street" street name was doing there, but to be sure there was all manner of bric a brac around the place.

There were a couple of TVs on, one muted and showing some cricket, with the other somewhat inevitably showing the horse racing. Furnishings seemed mainly to be wooden settles.

Three handpumps were clipped for GK IPA, Old Speckled Hen, and Sharp's Cornish Coaster. When I was charged £3.10 for a pint of Cornish Coaster I wondered if I had misheard the barman/guv'nor - but he accepted the £3.10 I proffered so I guess I didn't and it really was such a reasonable price. But unfortunately it came up rank and undrinkable, although it was readily exchanged for a pint of GK IPA. Shame - if I had known I was going to end up with GK IPA I would probably have opted for a half. Food was available - I didnt see a menu but it smelled like Thai.

Surprisingly this struck me as a real drinkers' local just round the corner from Waterloo Station. I would give it another go, on the assumption that I was just unlucky to get such a dodgy pint. To the guv'nor's credit, when I returned the pint he immediately reversed the clip, but maybe he suspected that it was about to go off.

On 2nd September 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about The Crown & Cushion

I always use this pub when in the area, usually on visits to St Thomas's hospital. Luckily none of the visits are drink related. Lots of wood every where. Lots of Irish memorabillia. Upstairs is a Thai kitchen, not sure if there is seating up there, but you can order downstairs and the food will come to your table. Update, there must be seating upstairs as a group of 8 has just come down. I could have adjusted my earlier words but couldn't be bothered.

On 7th July 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 753 recommendations about 716 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Crown & Cushion

The Crown and Cushion is just up the road from the Horse and Stables but on the opposite side.
Once inside there is an oblong shaped room with the bar facing,the room is bare boarded,the seating was mainly pew type with cushions on.
There were two TVs at either side of the room showing the Commonwealth games.
I think the pub maybe a GK tied house,there were three real ales on the bar,i had a dink of Sharps Cornish Coaster which was quite a nice drink,the other beers were GK IPA and Old Speckled Hen.
The pub was fairly busy with a good atmosphere on my Saturday afternoon visit.
I quite liked this pub.

Pub visited 2/8/2014

On 2nd August 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Crown & Cushion

"Irish pub" serving 3 real ales. Walls covered in brewery and Irish memorabilia.

On 22nd November 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2706 recommendations about 2649 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


JohnWarks 'tache left this review about The Crown & Cushion

Can't find my previous review on rival website to paste over but rated it 6

On 2nd July 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 20 recommendations about 20 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The Crown & Cushion

For an Irish pub, the Crown & Cushion is one of the better of its ilk. The once bright yellow exterior has now been toned down for those with more delicate retinas but the interior still hints at enough Irishness to please the purists mixed in with a few eccentricities that make the place quite appealing to those, like me, who genrally avoid such places.

The “vast range of Real Ales” depicted outside actually equated to Speckled Hen & Greene King IPA (and the Specky ran out as I ordered ) so not terribly great on the beer front akthough you probably wouldn’t expect anything other than kegs and Guinness anyway so anything is a bonus to ale drinkers. Upstairs is a Thai restaurant thatb has a pretty good reputation although I have never treid any food here. The furnishings are haphazardly arranged and floor sections raised to create intimate areas in what would otherwise be a plain and open plan room. The walls and shelves are packed with an indeterminate amount of junk and bric-a-brac ranging from mirrors, pictures, jugs and posters to typewriters, radios and clocks. There is a dart board and a couple of falt screen TVs tuned, as per usual, to sport To the rear is a small patio area with various car number plates and road signs.

Overall I quite liked the quirky nature of the place even if thye beers are a bit on the dull side. There are far worse places around Waterloo and this does tend to lose the commuter traffic.

On 29th April 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about The New Crown & Cushion

Not a bad place, friendly staff. Has upstairs seating area. There is a garden at the back. Real ale on sale, though no idea what they are, as I'd had a few and wasn't concentrating. Live music, contact pub for details. Serves Thai food and take away is also available.

On 6th September 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 753 recommendations about 716 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Crown & Cushion

Old-fashioned town boozer, crammed full of all sorts of odds and ends, and with a noticeable Irish element in both customers and decor. I'm sure that you can get an excellent pint of Guiness here, but the Greene King IPA was on good form.

On 26th November 2008 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6175 recommendations about 6175 pubs]