User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How Will Pubs Open? with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Lord Clyde, Borough, SE1

27 Clennam Street
SE1
SE1 1ER
Phone: 02074073397

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about The Lord Clyde

a proper pub that seemed very unspoiled to me. It certainly warmed and cheered me up after seeing my old favourite Rose & Crown up the road closed and in the process of refurbishment/ probable ruination. A lovely two roomed corner community pub with five ales on. Much needed in a trendy gentrified area.

On 16th May 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 774 recommendations about 755 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Lord Clyde

The fine pub exterior and opulent saloon bar of the Lord Clyde has been well documented by previous reviewers and it was good to find it being well utilised by a cross section of London society last week.
Being a fine evening there was as many out as in and the exterior benches were being mainly utilised by the city’s professional millennials whilst the old ale drinking gits, including us, were propping up the bar and then two darts teams were going at it in an official match in the back room.
For our visit the 5 handpumps were also Doom Bar, Adnams Southwold Bitter, Youngs Bitter and the Hogs Back TEA and then the fifth had Butcombe El Toro, their brew for the world cup. We ducked this one as Butcombe had inexplicitly decided to use the Argentinian no10 shirt for the pump clip (probably by some young marketing exec type who wasn’t around for the 1986 quarter final) , and went for the TEA which was OK , but not brilliant.
I agree with others that the beer falls short of doing this pub justice, bust still remains a must visit when in the area for the décor alone.

On 24th July 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1712 recommendations about 1661 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Lord Clyde

Long overdue revisit and thankfully almost no change from my review of almost 10 years ago. Very busy, with a mix of locals and in-the-know office workers and tourists. Five ales on; Sharps Doom Bar, Youngs Bitter, Hogs Back TEA, Robinsons Overhang and Adnams Bitter. The quality of the two I had were fairly good, if not quite top-notch. But make no mistake, this is a must-visit pub for those who appreciate the traditional – it’s been in the same family for over 50 years, which helps explain things. 8.5

June 2008
A beautiful old back street local (CAMRA National Inventory listed), with a preserved green tiled Trumans exterior and a friendly and convivial welcome within. Four mainstream handpulls on the go - Youngs Ordinary, Sheps Spitfire, Fullers London Priide, Greene King IPA and Adnams which are usually pretty good. A shame there isn't a slightly more eclectic selection, this is the right kind of area (and pub) in which to shift it. It’s tastefully kitted out inside - dark wood panelling, brass fittings, heavy red door curtains (invaluable in the winter – why don’t more pubs have these?), open fire, heavy carpet, leather banquettes with old photographs of the pub and neighbourhood on the walls. It has also got some interesting heritage factors (glass work on the doors, Truman tiling, hatch through to the bar in the back room). I get the impression that this used to be a multi-room pub that has been opened out a little, what with the ‘lounge’ and ‘public’ etched glasswork. Incongruously there are also 80’s retro toilets – can we list them too? Misses out by the lack of originality on the beer front, but otherwise fabulous and unmissable in the winter, especially. Rated 8.5

On 1st February 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 4042 recommendations about 4030 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Lord Clyde

One of the best Truman pub exterior anywhere and rightly listed by CAMRA,this is a fine street corner boozer in an ever gentrifying area.The doors to Saloon and Public Bar these days open to a single room,but following the line in the ceiling you can see how the two room layout would have been.However there is still a back room to the right with a dartsboard case ,lots of wood panelling and bar access via an open hatch.The main saloon has fitted benches with red leather trim,and still feels very authentic,although the muzak was a shade too loud and booring.
The 5 handpumps were drawing Doom Bar,Adnams Southwold Bitter,George Gales Beachcomber (I assume a Fullers brew),CW Youngs Bitter and Hogs Back TEA (fair but I've has better) .Food seemed pubgrub , chips with everything.
These days that a pedestrian ale line up ,but if in the area pop in for a quick one as it's a a good example of it's kind.

On 21st August 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2089 recommendations about 2089 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Lord Clyde

Proper old school boozer inside and out. U shaped bar serves the public bar with a hatch for the back room. 5 real ales served. Well worth seeking out.

On 26th October 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2760 recommendations about 2702 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Lord Clyde

Wooden central bar to two rooms, neat red padded benches. traditional pub decorations & carpet. There is live TV sports.

Dark brick & tiled exterior its a nicely presented building

5 real ales, slightly warm

On 31st May 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1281 recommendations about 1258 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Lord Clyde

The Lord Clyde is a really nice looking pub with its lower half in green tiles and it is nice to see the old Trumans signage still in place.
Once inside there is an L shaped room to the front with the bar facing,the room is carpeted and has very comfy red leather bench seating and small stools for seating,there is a smaller square shaped room to the rear right.
There were four real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Youngs Bitter which was a very nice drink,the other beers were Adnams Bitter,Hogs Back TEA and Doom Bar.
This is a proper old fashioned pub,i was quite happy having a drink in this pub.

Pub visited 26/5/2015

On 26th May 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about Lord Clyde

As mentioned below the Lord Clyde remains an excellent pub,good looking from the outside and doesn't disappoint within as aptly described by John in the review below. My visit yesterday on a Saturday afternoon found the pub to be thriving and as busy as on my several previous visits,the Sunderland v Man United game was showing on a couple of TV's with the sound on but at an unobtrusive level and didn't detract in any way from the traditional pub atmosphere. 5 beers on and as mentioned before all mainstream beers, Youngs Bitter,Deuchars IPA, Adnams Southwold Bitter,Hogsback T.E.A. and Doombar. This selection was the only let-down for me, although understanding and agreeing with Johns point below a couple of more imaginative beers would have improved the experience further.Having said that my Youngs Bitter was the best I had tasted it for some time.The young landlord admitted to us he wasn't an Ale drinker and I guess the approach is ,if it aint broke don't fix it. It was pleasing to hear from a local the current Landlord is the third generation of the family running this pub, it bodes well for the future,long may it last.

On 6th October 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1357 recommendations about 1343 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about Lord Clyde

Update - January 2013

Still as superb as ever. 5 beers on - Pride, Doombar, Youngs Ordinary, Adnams, and Hogs Back TEA, the latter being in good nick.

Original review - December 2009

Splendidly traditional, unpretentious smallish neighbourhood local situated in a quiet side street off Marshalsea Road. An inn has apparently been on this site for nearly 300 years, although the current building only dates back to 1913. The distinctive Truman Hanbury Buxton exterior - including the trademark eagle logo - is noteworthy, which, combined with the unspoilt original internal features, gives the pub a place in CAMRA's London Regional Inventory.

Old style heavy-duty red curtains have been retained by the two entrances and these lead to an interior with much wood pannelling, brass fittings and leather banquettes. Pub windows retain etched glass and those windows that bear the inscription "saloon bar" and "public bar" confirm what the separate entrances suggest - namely that this used to be a multi-room pub. It's now one main single L shaped cosy and comfortable carpeted bar, but with a separate adjoining public bar at the back serviced via a hatch. The pub is decorated with a number of old photographs of the area. Note also the splendid large mirror advertising "Unrivalled Mild Ales and Double Stout". In the smaller back room is an old Truman's price list - beer less than 2 shillings a pint.

On my recent Wednesday evening visit, it was noticeable how the pub clearly appeals to a wide cross section of customers - both youmg and old - and of both sexes. Apologies for getting on my soapbox again - but this is the type of old school family run traditional pub that the marketing department gurus of the big pubco's would have us believe that no-one goes in any more. Well, guess what chaps if you're reading this - you're so wrong. When I started pubbing in the late 1970's, all pubs seemed to be like this and it's a crying shame that they're disappearing so fast.

5 real ales were on - London Pride, GK IPA, Youngs, Adnams and Hogs Back TEA. The latter - £ 3.20p - was on good form. Some previous posters have expressed disappointment at the beer range. I suppose that this is a reflection on how CAMRA and the increased availability of real ale, combined with the number of new micro breweries have raised people's expectations in recent years. For my part, whilst understanding the disappointment, I would rather drink a "mainstream" real ale in a pub like this in preference to drinking a micro brewery beer in a so called contemporary pub, complete with its stripped out interior, pine floorboards, uncomfortable wooden seats, high tables, poncey arty-farty food and bored looking black shirted foreign barman.

The Lord Clyde remains one of my favourite London pubs - long may it continue to flourish and prosper.

On 29th January 2013 - rating: 9
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nick Johnstone left this review about Lord Clyde

Has to rival the nearby Royak Oak as the best pub in the area. Tucked away slightly but with a traditional frontage. Friendly efficient staff who clearly know how to run a pub. Superb.

On 24th March 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 98 recommendations about 98 pubs]

Page: 1 2