User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
pubs galore bar with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

Kings Arms, SE1

65 Newcomen Street
SE1
SE1 1YT
Phone: 02074071132

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Moby Duck left this review about Kings Arms

A nice looking side street pub,a single carpeted room with simple,functional seating, the bar is centrally positioned and semi ornate with some brasswork. Five handpumps on the bar with a choice of Timothy Taylor Landlord, Purity Mad Goose, Marstons Sweet Chariot, Harveys Best and a reasonable Trumans Swift. Not a bad pub.

On 3rd November 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1325 recommendations about 1311 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about Kings Arms

quite a nice place off the bustling main road that felt pleasingly old fashioned inside - obviously a deliberate decor choice but nicely done all the same. reasonable if unexciting beer choice. mixed clientele. Decent laid back pub.

On 2nd February 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 735 recommendations about 717 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about Kings Arms

Well described below, this is a simple yet comfortably traditional pub with a central bar sporting some rather gaudy brasswork, looking rather out of place; friendly staff too. There were two TVs on high but as both were off, I know not when they come on. Quiet on our early evening arrival, it soon began to fill up with office workers but as we left shortly after, I don't know just how busy it gets.
Ales: something I can't recall, TT's Landlord, Harvey's Sussex Best, Purity's Mad Goose and Truman's Runner at £4.60 a pint - a little dear for this type of pub.
This is a welcome retreat from the bustle of Borough Market and for a quiet drink is miles better than the mayhem that is The George just up the road.

On 28th November 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 953 recommendations about 939 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Kings Arms

Traditional side street pub with a lovely façade (the exterior plaque was originally sited on the old London Bridge) and a small L shaped interior. Pleasingly clean and comfortable inside, with dark third length wood panelling, mirrored fireplace inset and unusual twirly brass bar mounted glass holders / uplighters. Five pumps, all on; Timothy Taylor Landlord, Mad Goose Purity, Brains Rev James, Harveys Sussex Best and Truman's Swift at £2.10, a half. Adventurously priced bar snacks, with a sausage roll at £3.50 and a pork pie £4. Noticeably busier than the nearby competition and perhaps understandable given my experiences during the evning. A decent little place and worth popping in. 7.5

On 1st February 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3969 recommendations about 3957 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Kings Arms

Decent pub, with a fine façade including an ornate coat of arms in relief. Attractive interior too, with traditional furniture, light decor, large windows and a high ceiling around the 'U'-shaped bar area. Five real ales on handpump: Truman's Swift (£4.20), Harvey's, Landlord, Wherry and Purity Pure UBU. Not been in here for nearly a decade, but it now has much more to offer in the way of real ale so I'm sure I'll be back a bit sooner next time.

On 16th January 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Kings Arms

I paid another one of my regular visits to this pub the other evening. It is in most respects just as comfortable, welcoming, and relatively relaxed pub as it's been for many years. There's the odd sofa here and there, but even though it's fairly plush, it does retain the feel of a real pub.

However, it has recently changed licencees, and the big difference that you can't fail to notice is the much improved ale selection. On Wednesday evening there five ales on - Timothy Taylor Landlord, Woodforde Wherry, Truman's Runner, Purity Mad Goose, and a fifth that I neglected to remember. This is a cracking little pub slightly removed from the hustle and bustle of Borough High St. Definitely worth a visit.

On 14th November 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Kings Arms

L-shaped pub down a side street off Borough High Street. The traditional style interior with a bright flock wallpaper décor complemented by a collection of black&white photos of the local area.
Three handpumps on the bar but only Doombar and Harveys Sussex Best were on during my visit, but being on my own during this part of my early evening crawl I managed to bag one of the comfy single seater arm chairs which festoon three of the corners of the pub, and relax.
The pub was relatively quite on this early evening, but this was relaxing compared to the early evening scrum in the pubs nearer London Bridge.
In conclusion The Kings Arms is fine for somewhere to drop into whilst on your way to somewhere with a better beer choice, but not somewhere I would spend the evening

On 21st June 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1699 recommendations about 1648 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The Kings Arms

Fairly small but cosy L-shaped pub tucked away pub down a side street and only noticeable from the main drag because the well badged corner juts out. The traditional style interior is quite bright with a Laura Ashley type décor and various old local photos and collectable plates adorning the walls. On the beer side of things, 3 ales available and, looking at previous reviews, things appear to have improved regarding selection; Harveys, Courage Best and Doom Bar on my visit but with the latter at a rather offputting £3.25 a pint, they do still seem to charge over the top prices. The semi-open bar has some Interesting brass spiral lamps and glass holders on the bar. A pleasant enough place with good prompt service and a fairly sedate and respectable atmosphere but the prices are enough to make this just a passing stop rather than an evening session.

On 1st March 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Kings Arms

Most definitely a gem of a pub. No loud music, no loud people, and I like unpretentious sandwiches at £2.00 a throw! When I was in there at lunchtime earlier this week there was what seemed to be a reunion of about eight WWII veterans having a boozy afternoon. I salute them. I will regard it as a great result if, when I reach their age, I can still enjoy a piss-up with chums in a pub as good as the King's Arms. I read somewhere that the arms on the side of the building are the King’s Arms that used to be on the previous London Bridge. I hope that’s true.
The barman was friendly and efficient. The ales on were Courage Best and Old Speckled Hen, so not the best ale selections around, but could be worse. It's a very light pub with tall windows, giving it something of an open feel to it. This is a real pub that comes highly recommended by me.

On 23rd February 2007 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]