User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

The Kings Arms, Bermondsey, SE1

251 Tooley Street
SE1
SE1 2JX

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Kings Arms

Good-looking Greene King pub featuring a 'L'-shaped bar with a slightly Bohemian, café-style look and feel. Relaxing, 'floaty' background music on a Saturday lunchtime, with several young families brunching. Further seating is available on the wooden benches out front. IPA plus the seasonal Scrum Down and Belhaven Grand Slam (£5.00) available from the three handpumps.

On 23rd February 2020 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6175 recommendations about 6175 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Kings Arms

Corner pub with an eclectic interior decor.

On 28th October 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2706 recommendations about 2649 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Kings Arms

Mainly a locals pub, due to its position just slightly away from the tourist trap. The young barman was welcoming and very upbeat and told us that his family have run this pub for quite sometime. Beer wise there were three handpumps with two in use serving Twickenham Naked Ladies and GK IPA, we went for the Twickenham, which was in excellent condition. The interior was quite quirky, with lots of fancy lampshades, pictures, clocks, dolls houses etc. The bar front had a collection of beermats stuck along the front and stained glass in the upper window openings was observed.

On 23rd June 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Kings Arms

A self-proclaimed Gastro pub that goes for the shabby chic look internally. That may work for the lunchtime work crowd in this part of town, but if I was paying £18 for a rack of ribs I think I might prefer to go for some decent tables and chairs instead of the eclectic assortment of tables and chairs to be found in the Kings Arms. They were all right to sit in for a beer though, especially as its location slightly away from the tourist area did mean that it was less crowded than the establishments on Tower Bridge Road. But unfortunately being a Green King House the available beer choice didn’t inspire either. Three beers were available from the GK stable in the shape of GK IPA, Patron Saint Ale and Old Hoppy Hen, then Belhaven Best as the fourth on. As others have said, there’s nothing greatly wrong with this place, it’s just nothing great.

On 31st March 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1704 recommendations about 1653 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roy Collins left this review about Kings Arms

Old pub with a modern interior. Very expensive beer at £4.70 per pint for an ordinary choice.Sausage rolls £4 each.

On 22nd April 2016 - rating: 4
[User has posted 124 recommendations about 121 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about Kings Arms

Situated on the fringe of the now trendy and restaurant laden Butlers Wharf, this Greene King pub fits the character of the area conveying a slightly more upmarket feel than the traditional old workers boozer than it would certainly have been in the past.

The bare floored interior has a central open bar with slightly deeper sections either side. Lampshades dangle from the ceiling and the lighting is quite subdued with candlelit tables to the fore.

The 3 ales consisted of IPA, the seasonal Gangly Ghoul and a guest beer, Rudgate Jorvik Blond which was sadly not available. There were also some interesting lagers and craft beers on offer that I don't normally associate with Greene King pubs. The food is the top end of pub grub with main courses around £11-£16 and a lunchtime menu around £5-£9.

The pub is a generally safe option but the ales are a bit limiting (especially when the guest beer is off) and it was reasonably busy for the anonymous Sunday evening of our visit. Probably best avoided on London Marathon day as the pub is en route and the runners pass by before heading to neaby Tower Bridge.

On 9th November 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Kings Arms

This is clearly a tradional old Victorian pub, as evidenced by the polished granite pillars adorning the frontage, and the trademark high ceilings of that time. The green banded window glass suggests that it may originally have been a Charrington pub. But inside it’s been completely opened up and made over. Tables at the front are all laid out for diners, but to the left and rear of the bar counter are tables more welcoming to those just after a drink. The walls and ceiling are all painted a deep crimson, and the walls are all covered with assorted prints and portraits. The canopies at the front (quite useful with the amount of rain recently) coupled with the dark colour scheme inside, make it gloomy enough that it is hard to see to read, but on the other hand that could be considered as atmospheric and cosy. Take your pick. The furnishings are a complete mish mash of dark covered sofas, re-cycled school chairs, steel framed black plastic covered chairs and solid tables. Personally I’m OK with mish mash, and at least they didn’t have any of those uncomfortable tall tables and tall stools. This is one of those pubs where tables all have a little sprig of flowers on them; and where there are (thankfully) no fruit or games machines. Union Flag dominated bunting was stretched acroos the ceiling – something to do with the Olympics perhaps? There was some music playing – nothing I recognised – which I could have done without, but maybe other punters liked it. There was a big projected TV screen at the back showing some cycling – tour de France presumably – which looked a bit odd as I couldn’t see anyone watching it.
I suppose that this must be a Greene King pub as the only ales they had on were GKIPA and Old Speckled Hen. I guess I must have been in too late to see any food, but clearly they do food at appropriate times as I could see into the kitchen at the back. There’s nothing wrong with this place, and I found some of the decor quite interesting, but I’m not a great fan of GK ales so probably won’t be making a return visit.

On 20th July 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about Kings Arms

This place looks although it needs a little TLC, but I think that is the look that the management are going for. The barman that served me was new, but he pulled a good pint of Hare Raiser. The Greene King IPA and Abbot were both off, but a selection of standard and premium lagers were available. The pub wasn't as busy as its peers, but it did have a more discerning crowd that were chatting away above the strange muffled music.

There was a projector screen on the back wall and also a dartboard which was blocked in by numerous tables and chairs. A few of the tables were reserved for later in the evening and there were a few people standing around outside waiting for one of the tables on the pavement to become free.

I think that I would probably walk past if in the area again.

On 15th April 2009 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]