User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
WHERE are you drinking RIGHT NOW. with rpadam on the Pub Forum

The Horseshoe Inn, SE1

26 Melior Street
SE1
SE1 3QP
Phone: 02074036364

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


custodian 42 left this review about The Horseshoe Inn

Tucked away down a side street, this wasn't a bad place. Couple of hand pumps, the rest keg. Outside seating to the right side.

On 5th October 2019 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1520 recommendations about 1518 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Horseshoe Inn

Traditional pub dating from 1897, hidden away in a side street at the back of Guys Hospital, with some fine decorative features on the exterior. Sparsely and plainly furnished bar area, with a dartboard at one end. Also has more seating in a side room, out the back in a smallish patio area and on the front and side pavements. Just far enough away from London Bridge station to retain a proper community feel. The bar staff generally seem efficient here, also actively clearing tables, etc. As a Brakspear pub, I found Bitter and Hobgoblin (£4.70) available from two of the three handpumps on this visit, with a reversed clip for Honey Bee also noted.

On 3rd June 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5831 recommendations about 5831 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Horseshoe Inn

An attractive looking pub with good floral displays situated in a bit of a hidden away location. The main room is staple shaped with the bar along part of the back wall, a return one side has a dartboard with a shelf of trophies nearby, the other side leads to a separate side room which then leads on to a pleasant sunny garden. There are two full sized carved wooden brown bears out here standing guard.
Mixed seating, boarded flooring, a fireplace down one end, all sorts on the walls including boxing prints, cases of bits and bobs. A sign above the bar helpfully declares that the pub is in the GBG 2010! The wall mounted TV was off on Sunday so unsure if sport friendly, music played but not too loud.
Three pulls, Brakspear Bitter and Hobgoblin, the other unclipped. Food served.
I liked it in here, why I can't exactly put my finger on but it just felt the part really. Perhaps because I visited after the fairly disappointing Rose up the road.

On 12th September 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1685 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Horseshoe Inn

I was led to the Horseshoe Inn by a friend who knew its location, which was handy as I would never have found it. The bar stretches along the rear wall of this narrow pub and to the right of the bar is a dartboard. Standard draught was available alongside Ringwood Best, Hobgoblin and Marstons. Standard pub fare was available from around £10 for a main and a member of my group stumped up for a more expensive meat platter that went down quite well, although I ended up with a little more garlic bread than I would have liked. To the left of the pub is a separate seating area with another dartboard and a piano. Access from here can be gained to a beer garden full of picnic tables that stretches around to the rear of the pub. There was some background music emanating from the jukebox and the barmaid was cold and distant, even though we spent over £100 between us.

I enjoyed the darts and the company, but not the hospitality… This pub is not on my list of revisits.

On 6th June 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3546 recommendations about 3525 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Horseshoe Inn

I searched this one out whilst in the area yesterday primarily to have a look at the pub that was used as The Railway Arms or “Heaven” in the last episode of the 3rd series of ‘Ashes to Ashes’.
The Horseshoe Inn is an old style corner boozer tucked away in the backstreets behind London Bridge stations and Guy’s Hospital and can be problematical to find especially with the on-going disruptive Cross rail building work. .
Decent enough looking from the outside with some attractive moldings above eye level as others have mentioned. Not in the best of areas though, especially as there is a drop in center for the homeless almost opposite, who were out in force on one of the first sunny days of spring, and having a local hobo try to ponce some money off you isn’t ideal on your way for a beer. Can’t blame the pub for that though.
The interior is one main fairly minimal room, but there is a newer extension room behind the main bar and then a small patio garden area at the back primarily for use by the smokers, unless you like to stare at the London Bridge Station signal box whilst enjoying a pint.
There are three real ale pumps on the bar and two Brakspear bears were on, (Oxford Gold and Bitter). The third pump was reversed but looked like it could have been Hobgoblin
There was a Mongolian food menu available, which you don’t see often in a London pub but we didn’t eat here.
Found this a largely inoffensive pub, but with no real redeeming features that would drag me back here if I don’t have to.

On 16th April 2013 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1686 recommendations about 1635 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Horseshoe Inn

The Horseshoe is a reasonably large Brakspear pub located behind Guys Hospital, a short walk from London Bridge train station. Entrance takes you into an opened out main room with the bar counter opposite the front door. The room has bare floorboards and large windows along two sides which give plenty of light and emphasise the open space within. The right hand side of the room has a good range of seating, mainly from benches and standard tables and chairs. A TV screen was on showing muted 24 hour news coverage and there is an alcove at this end of the room, which houses a dartboard - the game seemingly being very popular in this pub. Opposite and to the right of the servery there are a limited number of tables and chairs and beyond them there is a second room with plenty of seating, which looks like it might be used as a dining area, but had been hired out by a darts team when I visited.
There were three handpumps, but no Brakspear ales available. The choice was between Fullers London Pride, Ringwood Best and Harvey’s Best. I tried the Ringwood, which was well kept and served by a friendly barman. The pub offers a typical 'pub grub' menu but I also spotted a list of five or six Mongolian dishes which were reasonably priced and, if the curry I saw being taken out of the kitchen is anything to go by, look very tasty.
There are, of course, some excellent pubs in this part of town which means that the Horseshoe wouldn't be an obvious destination, but I thought it was a welcoming enough place with more of a community feel to it than some of the more famous ale houses nearby and I wouldn't mind popping in again on occasion.

On 20th November 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2364 recommendations about 2364 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Horseshoe Inn

Old wood floored traditional boozer, quite large and all together pleasant

On 8th June 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nick Davies left this review about The Horseshoe Inn

Pleasant, routine boozer with a keen darts following, fielding several teams in at least two leagues. It attracts a loyal group of regulars, and is handy for a quick on if the trains are delayed, it never gets as busy, nor attracts the braying city workers that crowd out the pubs nearer the main road. A largish, sparsely furnished bar area, which always feels cold, and a side room which feels even colder. It has been in the GBG and has some regard in CAMRA circles mainly, I suspect because it sells Brakspeares, but catching all the beers on at the same time is difficult.

On 4th December 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 467 recommendations about 459 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


train man left this review about The Horseshoe Inn

I noted Brakspear & gkipa last night, but believe Pride is a also regular. Either way, the Brakspear (£3) was pretty tired. The dartboard to the right of the bar was certainly not entertaining ‘serious' play by the ladies who preceded us, and our game did nothing to raise the standard. There is another board in the side/rear room. Lack of beer choice & quality leads me to doubt that I'll be back.

On 8th March 2009 - rating: 4
[User has posted 411 recommendations about 410 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The Horseshoe Inn

This late Victorian (1897) pub is tucked away round the back of Guys Hopsital and seems to appeal to locals, workers and students alike. The interior is quite plain and not particularly memorable with much of the frontage windowed and little inside that attracts any attention. The main bar area has an unobtrusive darts area to one side but, as the sign says, it is for serious players only so don't expect to be popular if you start playing loopy or halve it! 2 well positioned TVs seem geared for sports (they were both tuned to different rugby matches on our visit). To the left of the bar is a side room which I recall being more of a sofa lounge when I last came here but they seem to have ditched the soft furnishings for something a bit more solid and robust although I didn't get the impression it was specifically a dining area. 3 Ales; Brakspear, London Pride & Sweet Chariot – decent condition and prices comparable for the area. The food looked very good and the portions quite substantial. Not one of the better known pubs in the area and I'm not sure I would particularly spend a whole evening here but well worth a quick pint as part of a crawl.

On 1st March 2009 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]

Page: 1 2