User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Wetherspoon's news of the day with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

Bunch of Grapes, SE1

2 St Thomas Street
SE1
SE1 9RS
Phone: 02074032070

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about Bunch of Grapes

Nice little pub near the train station and well used by football fans passing through. Bouncer on the door as you would expect. 4 beers from the Young's range in OK shape.

On 11th October 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1086 recommendations about 1043 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about Bunch of Grapes

Surprised to come across this pub.Thought I had visited all the Borough pubs.Havent missed much.Nice enough and busy.Youngs -waggle dance (dull) and Wandle were the choices.Nice rear space.

On 22nd July 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Bunch of Grapes

This place suffered from a controversial refurbishment by Youngs a few years ago, but all seems to have settled down again now. I have still never tried the upstairs bar, but there is some interest in the main bar (provided you can get a seat or find somewhere to stand in busy periods). Despite the jumbled layout, somehow manages to fit in live music from time to time. Compact patio beer garden at the back, with a semi-open basement section below. Beer-wise, the four handpumps usually offer a choice of Ordinary and Special plus something else from Youngs / Wells (the seasonal Autumn Gold plus Bombardier on my latest visit) and/or a guest. Worth popping in if waiting for a train at nearby London Bridge.

On 15th October 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6198 recommendations about 6198 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blackthorn _ left this review about The Bunch Of Grapes

A traditional pub near Borough Market and now in the shadow of the Shard, this was surprisingly quiet on a recent early lunchtime visit.

The main bar area is an open plan, square room, although there are a couple of wood partitions with frosted and etched glass to break up the space a little. The decor is mostly exposed brick that has been painted cream although there is also some cream wood panelling and the paintwork elsewhere is a dark brown to compliment the wood that is used. The flooring is bare wooden boards and there are a number of black and white pictures on the wall, many of the local market and a large Bass mirror at the rear. These have recently been joined by a mural of the Shard painted on to the wall. Large windows look out on to the street. Seating is mostly quite high tables and chairs which can be slightly difficult to manoeuvre in to position as your feet are nowhere near the ground.

There is a courtyard garden at the rear which unusually includes a lower level. Although this has brick walls and is somewhat overlooked by the neighbouring office blocks (one nearby office had a row of skittles in the window?), they’ve nonetheless made an effort to make it feel more homely with gilded mirrors around the walls and a number of heated awnings. Helpfully they also provide blankets to keep out the chilly weather.

The food menu looked to be a decent enough “pub grub” affair with options such as Chilli, Haddock & Chips and Bangers & Mash and these were mostly priced at around the £8 - £10 mark. They are also apparently famous for their burgers and pies (their words, not mine). Bar staff were efficient, quickly wiping down any tables as soon as they were vacated.

Beers on tap were Young’s Bitter, Young’s Special, London Gold and Bombardier. The solitary cider was Aspall’s Suffolk.

On 21st February 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1749 recommendations about 1684 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Bunch Of Grapes

Built for St Thomas Hospital back in 1819, this is now a nice two storey Young’s pub close to London Bridge station and Borough Market. The ground floor room has bare floorboards, white brick walls and lots of dark wood panels and pillars which have been used effectively as partitioning to create more cosy spaces. Seating is mainly in the shape of high tables and stools with plenty of drinking ledges throughout and vertical drinking is often the order of the day as the pub can get extremely busy at peak times. There are a few points of interest including a huge Bass mirror near the rear door and some nice glasswork in the partitioning screens and above the door. The place was covered with Union Jack flags on my pre-Jubilee visit, which detracted somewhat from the pub’s feel. There’s a nice little split level paved courtyard to the rear, although it’s not uncommon to find lots of people spilled out onto the pavement at the front in good weather.
Upstairs is a smart lounge with exposed floorboards, nice furnishings, floral wallpaper and a large fireplace. It’s probably best to nab a table here if you’re planning on eating here and the menu offers main meals in the £8-11 price bracket. The window seats give you a good view over the street below.
Four hand pumps were dispensing Young’s Ordinary, Special and Jubilee Ale plus Well’s Bombardier. I gave the Jubilee Ale a try and got a nice, refreshing summer ale which went down very well given the hot weather. The staff seemed to be quite efficient in dealing with the crowds that had built up early in the evening.
I quite like the feel of this place and whilst it doesn’t have the wow factor of some of the other pubs in this part of town, it is a reliable enough place and well worth a look if you’re on a crawl of the area.

On 9th June 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2541 recommendations about 2541 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about The Bunch Of Grapes

A multi-level pub convenient for London Bridge Station comprising a cosy floorboarded bar downstairs and a dining room upstairs. The garden at the rear is also terraced. Pleasant music adds to the ambiance and it provides a nice calm escape from the bustle outside. The staff were friendly and professional. Two ales on; I had a pint of Young's Bitter which was well kept and most enjoyable. Worth dropping in while waiting for a train, to quote JAQPTIO, below.

On 22nd May 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2600 recommendations about 2574 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Bunch Of Grapes

The ground floor is a single room, divided by three-quarter height screens with some etched glass. The floor is boarded, most of the seating is at high tables with stools, there were candles and clipboard menus on the tables providing that modern twist. The upstairs bar, or rather "lounge", is a rectangular room with large windows overlooking the street below, there is a feature fireplace, a decent looking ornate mirror and a collection of books and board games up here.
To the rear there is a decked garden, unusually on two levels; there are also a couple of barrels upturned to the front where smokers can perch with their pints.
It's a Youngs pub, so that meant Ordinary Bitter, Special, Bombardier and also St Austell Tribute (£3.65). Food was reasonably priced for the area with standard pub fare staples such as chilli, bangers & mash and burgers all under a tenner.
An ok if unspectacular pub which will not stand out in this area which is blessed with some fine pubs.

On 8th November 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about The Bunch Of Grapes

Nice smallish pub, tucked away of busy Borough High street. Youngs ale on sale. A small bar area to the left, dark wood interior. Has an outside seating area on multiple levels, blankets are available for use in cold weather. There is an upstairs dining area. The only downside I noticed, was all the doors slam. The exit, gents and ladies. No one tried the garden door while I was there.

On 14th January 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 753 recommendations about 716 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Bunch Of Grapes

This is a Young’s house, with Bitter, Special and Bombardier on during my visit. The only seating inside is tall stools and tall tables, but there were some benches outside at the back being mainly utilised by smokers. The ceiling, and the ducting thereon is painted black, adding to the darkness of the place. There were clipboard menus on the tables – sandwiches were in the £4.50 - £7 range, and main courses were in the £8 - £11 range, e.g. the steak and ale pie was £9.95. Not cheap, but not overly expensive for Central London. Some soul classics (Aretha Franklin, Eddie Floyd, et al) were blaring out far too loudly for my liking. It’s probably just me, but pubs seem to be playing music louder than ever these days. There are a few bits of etched and cut glass around the place, as well as a couple of nice brewery mirrors, but other than that there are no endearing features as far as I could see. I found it uncomfortable and noisy I’m afraid, and nothing like the decent pub it obviously once was.

On 29th October 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Bunch Of Grapes

I found this to be a rather bland Young’s pub that had four of their ales on during my visit along with a standard and premium draught selection. I found the staff to be friendly enough and they were reasonably good at spotting who was waiting to be served behind the selfish drinkers that were standing at the bar and not moving for anyone. Granted it was busy being the last working Friday before Christmas, but there wasn’t much Christmas cheer even though it was snowing outside.

I was disappointed with the quality of my Guinness which was sub standard, especially for this area full of good beer pubs. This along with the lack of atmosphere will have me walking past next time I‘m in the area.

On 22nd December 2009 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]

Page: 1 2