User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Wetherspoon's news of the day with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

The Britannia, Borough, SE1

44 Kipling Street
SE1
SE1 3RU
Phone: 02074031030

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Britannia

One room pub with the bar to the left. Various kegs and, surprise surprise, Ringwood's 49er which was quite pleasant.

On 5th October 2019 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1693 recommendations about 1691 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blackthorn _ left this review about The Britannia

A backstreet pub a little off the beaten track despite being only a few minutes’ walk from the throngs of Borough Market, this was inhabited almost entirely by locals on a recent mid-week evening visit, with us being the only tourists I suspect.

It’s quite attractive looking from the outside, and has a traditional U-shaped interior with sanded wooden boards on the floor, dark timberwork and large windows on two sides with some flock wallpaper elsewhere. A TV was up in the corner and although the volume was not on, there was instead a radio station playing, slightly too loudly I thought. A sign outside said that a new kitchen was opening in a week or so, with the food offering on our visit seeming to consist of a few jars of nuts on the bar and a small selection of pies.

The solitary beer on tap was Pedigree Amber, although a further pump appeared unused so there may on occasions be others. Ciders meanwhile were Kingston Press and Old Rosie. Whisky seems to the main focus here though, with a chalk board on the wall listing fifty or more. A small copper tap on the bar counter was presumably for punters to help themselves to splashes of water – an unusual feature and not something I’ve seen before.

On 3rd April 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1770 recommendations about 1700 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Britannia

In most ways, quite an old-fashioned backstreet pub, benefiting from high ceilings, large windows and a reasonable amount of space around the 'U'-shaped bar. Simply furnished and very plainly decorated, with the large whiskey list board and traditional water tap on the counter being the main features of note. Menu limited to Pieminister pies (£5) with mash, peas and gravy extra (£3). Two of three handpumps in use, offering Pedigree (£4.00) and Old Rosie cider. So nothing special, but I thought the place had a good atmosphere early on a Thursday evening.

On 15th October 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6546 recommendations about 6546 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Britannia

The Britannia is a decent looking pub that is in the back streets of Borough.
Once inside there is a single U shaped room with the bar to the front,the room is bare boarded,the seating pew seats to the front and left,the right side has normal tables and chairs.
There is a large board to the front right which lists all Whiskies which are available by region,this is quite an impressive list,i do like a drink of single malt whisky so this list was of interest to me.
There were two real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Pedigree New World which went down very well,the other beer was Ringwood Forty Niner.
I really liked this pub,one i could stay in for a session.

Pub visited 26/5/2015

On 26th May 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Britannia

The pub has a U-shaped, wooden boarded single room with some wood panelling and large arched windows to the side. Mixed seating , mostly traditional but with a pair of sofas to one end and one high table to the side. There is some flock wallpaper of the type once prevalent in your local curry house and the ceiling is wood boarded and painted white. I spotted a pair of large brewery mirrors from Bass and Fullers which always enhance a pub I believe. I didn't get a feel of the place being particularly upmarket or minimalist as reported earlier although curiously there was a large Betty Boop figure on top of a mini fridge on the bar counter and the price of my pint certainly made me wince. There were two handpumps, Oakham Citra plus Wychwood Thrasher; I went for the Citra but £4.30 for what is admittedly a decent beer is way too much even for SE1.
The big attraction here though is the huge selection of mainly single malt whiskies, 130 of them are listed on a chalkboard on an end wall, indexed alphabetically and by region. Prices start at £3.95 for a 35cl measure but many are considerably more and I'd be none too pleased if I spilled a 28 year old, 60.1%abv Mosstowie as I would have needed to fork out £19.10 for the chance to sample it. The window cills are full of whisky boxes.
Food is served, menus were on the tables, bangers and mash £8.95, door step chip butties were £3.95, I was rather tempted but resisted.
I quite liked the pub, I tend to enjoy old backstreet locals but the pricing is prohibitive and would probably prevent me from returning.

On 31st August 2013 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1688 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nick Johnstone left this review about The Britannia

Modern barely furnished type place so common these days. Apart from the brass water dispenser and all the whisky stuff it's all rather familiar and depressing.

On 12th May 2011 - rating: 5
[User has posted 98 recommendations about 98 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Britannia

This is another backstreet boozer that has moved away from its traditional roots and moved upmarket. There was only one ale on – Bombardier – which actually tasted particularly good, but possibly only in contrast to the Courage Best I had had in the previous pub. They did have a second handpump that had a clip turned round, but it seems they only ever have one ale on, and the clip that had been turned round was in fact an ancient Wells Bombardier clip. The food menu was fairly limited but the homemade burger I had was absolutely superb, and reasonably priced at £6.00 as it came with chips and a salad garnish. But whiskies are this pub’s stock in trade. They had literally dozens of single malts on offer, many of which were unknown to me, advertised on a large chalkboard taking up one wall of the pub. They even have a brass spigot on the bar, dispensing ice cold water I was told, so that customers can add water themselves to their whiskey.

Furnishings consist of normal tables and chairs (of the hard wooden variety), plus some sofas. The main bar at the front is bare boarded, with what are some ancient, and probably original, floor boards. It looks to have been extended to the rear, with the flooring a modern pseudo pine board covering I believe. The walls where I was sitting were adorned with some interesting Port of London Authority prints of the docks’ layout.

The lady who served me was very friendly and helpful. Now I don’t usually like these sort of upwardly mobile pubs, but I nevertheless liked this one very much. Down to the friendly atmosphere I suppose, or possibly the excellent whisky selection, but certainly not the ale choice. I may return, probably with a chum who is a whisky afficionado.

On 1st October 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2583 recommendations about 2499 pubs]