User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
New pub visits 2022 with Quinno on the Pub Forum

The Barrowboy & Banker, SE1

6-8 Borough High Street
SE1
SE1 9QQ
Phone: 02074035415

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Fuller's
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


. Wittenden left this review about The Barrowboy & Banker

A grand bank conversion catering for tourists and City commuters in a prominent position close to London Bridge.Decent , if pricey pies on our mid May Saturday afternoon visit,coupled with a dull pint of Dark Star Orbiter best bitter.A large range of Fuller's beers on the bar. Busy and noisy.

On 22nd May 2022 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 264 recommendations about 263 pubs]


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Barrowboy & Banker

Big, busy, bank conversion opposite the London Bridge station approach road. Interesting curvy bar, with a grand staircase leading up to the mezzanine. Little in the way of atmosphere despite the paintings, memorabilia and other traditional-style decor. Efficient bar staff, though. The beer's usually good too, with a selection from the core Fullers range, e.g. Pride, Oliver's Island ESB and the seasonal Jack Frost (normally £5.65, but just £1.76 on 'Fuller's Day' with a code) available from the two banks of four handpumps on this visit (with Hophead and another Dark Star beer 'Coming soon').

On 20th November 2021 - rating: 7
[User has posted 7001 recommendations about 7001 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Barrowboy & Banker

This is a large Fuller's pub, obviously a former bank, and with its name giving a nod to the erstwhile workers at the nearby Borough Market. I doubt whether anyone working there now could be described as a barrowboy. As it's such a high ceilinged room, they've managed to squeeze in a mezzanine floor looking down on the main room. There's also a dining area up a few steps on the left, with the dreaded "wait to be seated" sign guarding the steps.

The main room has some fixed bench seating around the sides, with a few tall tables/tall stools and normal tables and chairs in the centre of the room. There's some attractive herringbone parquet wood flooring, as well as a bit of black and white tiling. A visual reference to the previous use of the building is provided by the numbered security box covers, complete with locks and keys, along the front of the mezzanine floor, plus a safe front set into the front of the bar counter.

There was a pretty good ale selection (as long as you're OK with Fuller's beers). From the Fuller's stable we had London Pride (of course), ESB (£2.55 a half), Oliver's Island, and Day Dreamer (some sort of New Zealand themed beer); a couple of Darkstar branded beers in Hophead and Revelation, plus a guest in Truman's Zephyr. Seven ales isn't bad going even though there wasn't anything very special - apart from ESB of course!

A standard Fuller's Ale & Pie house menu is available - pies are £15.50 a go here, but do include seasonal veg, and mash or triple-cooked chips. It is an expensive area, and Fuller's have never really been known for inexpensive food and drink.

I wouldn't go out of my way to visit again, but there are very many worse pubs around. It gets a 7 mainly for the ale selection.

On 5th April 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2599 recommendations about 2513 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about The Barrowboy & Banker

More a comment than a review. I fell foul of the old "no football fans" line so didn't get to visit - even though the football fans I was due to meet were inside! Plenty other pubs nearby....

On 11th October 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1348 recommendations about 1275 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about The Barrowboy & Banker

Pretty well described below, the striking building has found a new role as a Fuller's town pub catering for the itinerant tourist and market trade. The architecture is impressive, though the upstairs was roped off so we couldn't appreciate the whole building. There were mute tv screens, padded bench seating and some of the original bank features – for example the safe built into the bar counter. Sadly, most of the families were unwilling to control their children who created a trip hazard and tried nosing around in our bags. The staff were pretty decent, but the food let things down a bit – apart from being expensive, it was under-cooked and poorly presented. There were 8 handpumps in total, dispensing Pride, ESB, Navigation, Santa's Grotto, Three Wise Men, Holly Bush and Oliver's Island from Fuller's, and Sambrook's Prussian Red Ale. Architecture aside, there's not much to distinguish this place from other London pubs in the tourist areas.

On 2nd February 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2866 recommendations about 2833 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Barrowboy & Banker

Another typical Fuller's take on the banking crisis, a former branch of Nat West until 1996, situated at the God-awful interchange of London Bridge, Tooley Street and Borough High Street. Think the Counting House, the Old Bank of England or the Butcher's Hook & Cleaver and you won't go too far wrong. Fine for what it is, another Fuller's Ale & Pie House but in one of the most commuter-infested hives in all of Christendom and one with an iMAX projector screen injecting sport intravenously into one's retina.

In Spain, do they convert former branches of Santander into Tapas e Cerveza Casa? Just a thought...

On 12th August 2016 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1513 recommendations about 1493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Barrowboy & Banker

A big very busy place , Fullers beers,not really my cup of tea but I guess it serves a purpose.

On 5th September 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1558 recommendations about 1539 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Barrowboy and Banker

Fuller's ale and pie house located close to London bridge underground station. 2 floor pub with a curved bar that snakes it's way round the ground floor.

On 23rd November 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2822 recommendations about 2764 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Barrowboy and Banker

Great interior.Always busy and a good choice of Fullers beer inc bottles rarely available in Fullers pubs.Seems to be one of the first pubs to get the Fullers seasonal beers.Sky football shown.

On 20th May 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 965 recommendations about 951 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Barrowboy and Banker

Another of Fuller’s London bank conversions (this one was a Nat West) that is part of their Ale & Pie genre and situated by London Bridge. There are plenty of eye-catching features on the two floors; ornate dark wood, immense light fittings, intricate pillars, murals, portraits and open staircase. The Charge of the Light Brigade mural was particularly epic. Upstairs is often closed but if you can sneak up there (as I did) then the views of the bar area are quite impressive. The huge curved bar had six pumps dispensing five of the Fullers range with London Porter on keg. As has been mentioned elsewhere, the service level isn’t the best and my uninspiring half of Red Fox came in at £2.03. Having settled down with my Private Eye I noticed that I was sat next to a frieze entitled “The idle Barrow Boy who pay’d through the nofe”. The irony was not lost on me.

Pop in for a look at the interior.

On 25th October 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 4401 recommendations about 4387 pubs]

Page: 1 2