User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
My reasons for removing a photo that I posted. with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

Wheatsheaf, SE1

6 Stoney Street
Southwark
SE1
SE1 9AA
Phone: 02079403880

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about Wheatsheaf

An early 19th century pub rebuilt around 1890 and famous for having its top floor lopped off to accommodate the Crossrail bridge.
It’s hard to believe that this industrialised pub is part of the Young’s stable. Totally hipsterfied, with black walls, bare brick, pale grey glazed screens, loud music, a red neon sign, the pub’s website describing Borough Market – bang opposite – as ‘…a raucous den’. Customers were surprisingly mixed, though as the pub was rammed, with probably as many people outside as in, I did the wise thing and took my pint outside.
Ales on offer comprised only London Original and Proper Job at a hefty £2.80 a half and not in great condition.
This is really just another banging Borough Market pub, light years different from the comparative calm of the Market Porter next door, with its hugely superior ale range; I don’t think I’ll come here again in a hurry.

On 31st October 2021 - rating: 3
[User has posted 2009 recommendations about 1975 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about Wheatsheaf

modernised pub that gets very busy owing to its position on the edge of Borough market. Lots of people spilling out into a covered drinking area at the side as well as in the pub itself. It’s a ripoff pub with a few Youngs ales plus Proper Job, all over £5. The ‘witty’ marketing boards outside don’t mask that this is a pretty ordinary place.

On 15th February 2020 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1062 recommendations about 1027 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about Wheatsheaf

Another packed pub, it took a little persuasion for the bouncer to let me in! 4 beers from the Young's range on. To be honest I spent my time watching the argument between the bouncers and some other potential customers who obviously didn't say the right thing!
It made an otherwise standard pub a little more interesting!

On 11th October 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1671 recommendations about 1570 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Wheatsheaf

Thoroughly refurbished by Young's since it lost its upper storey to the new railway bridge above, with light decor and a mixture of furniture typical of such madeover pubs. It still notionally comprises two narrow rooms, separated by a compact island bar with head-height glass racks around the counter, plus a small area at the rear mostly intended for dining. Very difficult to see all the handpumps when crowded, but noted Ordinary, London Gold (£4.25) and Bombardier on this visit. Also features about half-a-dozen craft keg beers on tap. Very busy (as everywhere else around Borough Market) on weekday evenings, but usually well staffed.

On 4th February 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 8159 recommendations about 8159 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about Wheatsheaf

The original pub that was forced to close a number of years ago due to the overhead rail works was a great loss, it was a boozer with great character. This was my first visit since its reopening two or three years ago now, and I found it rather disappointing,bright and modern inside, some may argue it has new character but I found it all a little false. Adding the pedestrian Wells and Young beer selection to the equation means I wont probably bother again, a great shame.

On 20th February 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1889 recommendations about 1862 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Wheatsheaf

A busy Young's pub, opposite Borough Market. The interior is very trendy with an island bar in the main bar and a VW camper van in the room beyond. Bowler hats had been made over into lamp shades, hanging from the ceiling which was different. Seven handpumps with repeated Youngs ales. Busy on a Saturday lunchtime with mostly diners.

On 30th July 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3388 recommendations about 3387 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about The Wheatsheaf

Looks okay from the outside, bit too modern looking for my taste. Inside it has the grey shades of a gastropub. The Youngs Bitter is expensive, £4.00 a pint. Prefer the other pubs in the area.

On 1st February 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 757 recommendations about 720 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


I L left this review about The Wheatsheaf

I was concerned that this pub would never be the same after the lopping off of he top floor and buildings viaduct over the top.
It isn't the same as all the original timber work s now painted a Khaki colour. However it is still a great pub inside with a whole new semi outdoors drinking area. The beer range is good and the service is excellent in the Original value bar.

Youngs ales with guests normally available.

On 15th April 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 287 recommendations about 284 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Wheatsheaf

I like this pub and its a good addition to the scene.Good pint of Hackney beer which was a guest and rare to see Double Choclate on draught(keg).Great outside area with music and food.Very busy on my visits and this may shake up the rest of the pubs in the area to improve.

On 3rd April 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1023 recommendations about 1009 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Wheatsheaf

If you like pubs with extremely loud dance music,a multitude of bar blockers and poor real ale then an evening visit here will suit you down to the ground.The modern interior is grouped around an island bar,and extends to the rear.The courtyard is popular and the VW camper van conversion to a meat grill and BBQ is a feature.The food menu is called Eatsheaf (geddit) and consists of a grill,a sauce,a scoop and a side (their terminology not mine) for prices £10-£12 although scoops and sauces are extra, beware.However there was barely room inside to pitch down to eat.
There are five handpumps dotted about with a desperate selection from Charles Wells namely Bombardier,Youngs Ordinary,a Six Nations special while the sole guest London Fields Hackney Hopster may have been incorrectly clipped as such,it was clear but a vile malty brew with no hop character,and quite possibly not from London Fields at all,Bedford more likely.Looking around hardly anyone else was drinking the real ale,a wise choice.
The pub is very popular with a younger crowd,but in the evening I would avoid it like the plaque.Maybe better when quieter,but our three unfinished pints tells a tale of it's own.

On 30th March 2013 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2748 recommendations about 2748 pubs]

Page: 1 2