User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Wetherspoon's news of the day with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

Wheatsheaf, SE1

6 Stoney Street
Southwark
SE1
SE1 9AA
Phone: 02079403880

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Brainy Pool left this review about Wheatsheaf

modernised pub that gets very busy owing to its position on the edge of Borough market. Lots of people spilling out into a covered drinking area at the side as well as in the pub itself. It’s a ripoff pub with a few Youngs ales plus Proper Job, all over £5. The ‘witty’ marketing boards outside don’t mask that this is a pretty ordinary place.

On 15th February 2020 - rating: 5
[User has posted 772 recommendations about 753 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about Wheatsheaf

Another packed pub, it took a little persuasion for the bouncer to let me in! 4 beers from the Young's range on. To be honest I spent my time watching the argument between the bouncers and some other potential customers who obviously didn't say the right thing!
It made an otherwise standard pub a little more interesting!

On 11th October 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1086 recommendations about 1043 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Wheatsheaf

Thoroughly refurbished by Young's since it lost its upper storey to the new railway bridge above, with light decor and a mixture of furniture typical of such madeover pubs. It still notionally comprises two narrow rooms, separated by a compact island bar with head-height glass racks around the counter, plus a small area at the rear mostly intended for dining. Very difficult to see all the handpumps when crowded, but noted Ordinary, London Gold (£4.25) and Bombardier on this visit. Also features about half-a-dozen craft keg beers on tap. Very busy (as everywhere else around Borough Market) on weekday evenings, but usually well staffed.

On 4th February 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6198 recommendations about 6198 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about Wheatsheaf

The original pub that was forced to close a number of years ago due to the overhead rail works was a great loss, it was a boozer with great character. This was my first visit since its reopening two or three years ago now, and I found it rather disappointing,bright and modern inside, some may argue it has new character but I found it all a little false. Adding the pedestrian Wells and Young beer selection to the equation means I wont probably bother again, a great shame.

On 20th February 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1354 recommendations about 1340 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Wheatsheaf

A busy Young's pub, opposite Borough Market. The interior is very trendy with an island bar in the main bar and a VW camper van in the room beyond. Bowler hats had been made over into lamp shades, hanging from the ceiling which was different. Seven handpumps with repeated Youngs ales. Busy on a Saturday lunchtime with mostly diners.

On 30th July 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about The Wheatsheaf

Looks okay from the outside, bit too modern looking for my taste. Inside it has the grey shades of a gastropub. The Youngs Bitter is expensive, £4.00 a pint. Prefer the other pubs in the area.

On 1st February 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 753 recommendations about 716 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


I L left this review about The Wheatsheaf

I was concerned that this pub would never be the same after the lopping off of he top floor and buildings viaduct over the top.
It isn't the same as all the original timber work s now painted a Khaki colour. However it is still a great pub inside with a whole new semi outdoors drinking area. The beer range is good and the service is excellent in the Original value bar.

Youngs ales with guests normally available.

On 15th April 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 287 recommendations about 284 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Wheatsheaf

I like this pub and its a good addition to the scene.Good pint of Hackney beer which was a guest and rare to see Double Choclate on draught(keg).Great outside area with music and food.Very busy on my visits and this may shake up the rest of the pubs in the area to improve.

On 3rd April 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Wheatsheaf

If you like pubs with extremely loud dance music,a multitude of bar blockers and poor real ale then an evening visit here will suit you down to the ground.The modern interior is grouped around an island bar,and extends to the rear.The courtyard is popular and the VW camper van conversion to a meat grill and BBQ is a feature.The food menu is called Eatsheaf (geddit) and consists of a grill,a sauce,a scoop and a side (their terminology not mine) for prices £10-£12 although scoops and sauces are extra, beware.However there was barely room inside to pitch down to eat.
There are five handpumps dotted about with a desperate selection from Charles Wells namely Bombardier,Youngs Ordinary,a Six Nations special while the sole guest London Fields Hackney Hopster may have been incorrectly clipped as such,it was clear but a vile malty brew with no hop character,and quite possibly not from London Fields at all,Bedford more likely.Looking around hardly anyone else was drinking the real ale,a wise choice.
The pub is very popular with a younger crowd,but in the evening I would avoid it like the plaque.Maybe better when quieter,but our three unfinished pints tells a tale of it's own.

On 30th March 2013 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2087 recommendations about 2087 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Wheatsheaf

Somehow, despite regularly passing through this part of town, I never managed to visit the Wheatsheaf before its closure and subsequent refurbishment. I therefore can’t really compare this current incarnation with the pub’s previous format, which is probably a good thing, given Young’s record of ruining interesting traditional pubs. The first thing to notice is that there are still two functioning entrances, marked ‘Saloon Bar’ and ‘Public Bar’ on their respective doors. Sadly, however, these both lead into fairly similarly styled areas, with some half-hearted partitioning in the front section prior to reaching the central servery. There are bare floorboards and pastel shaded walls which create quite a bright interior and ironically, the more comfortable seating seems to be on the Public Bar side with button back banquettes down the side wall compared to high stools on the Saloon Bar side. The room extends past the servery to a dining area at the rear which has a tiled kitchen style wall and a counter with a coffee machine and a display of various wine bottles behind a metal grille. I spotted at least one TV screen in here, but it was turned off in favour of some quiet background music. On the right hand side of the pub, door lead out to a partially covered side patio with mixed seating. There is a large mural of the Market and the Shard on the back wall, a street lamp in the middle of the courtyard and in the far corner, the front half of a VW camper van has been converted into some sort of BBQ kitchen-cum-serving hatch. A trip to the toilets saw the Gents signposted as ‘Barrow Boys’ and the Ladies as ‘Milk Maids’, which is almost worth taking a point off for.
On the bar there was Young’s Ordinary, London Gold and Stoney’s Gold (the latter two probably being the same thing), Wells Bombardier and a guest ale which I wouldn’t have spotted had the barman not helpfully pointed it out, which was Hackney American Pale Ale (£4.05). The keg range was quite diverse and included stuff from Meantime and Camden as well as Aspall’s Cyder. The aforementioned barman was very helpful and gave me a taster of the APA which was useful before making such a substantial financial investment.
I’d probably be pulling my hair out if I’d regularly used this place in the past, as it is now aiming for a young affluent crowd and has obviously had to make sacrifices to the traditional pub that it was before. However, as these places go, I thought it was quite nicely done and still felt like a proper pub, albeit one with a rubbish colour scheme. I’ll probably call in now and again, but there are plenty of better pubs nearby.

On 2nd March 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2541 recommendations about 2541 pubs]

Page: 1 2