User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with Aqualung on the Pub Forum

The Market Porter, SE1

9 Stoney Street
Southwark
SE1
SE1 9AA
Phone: 02074072495

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2 3

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Philip Carter left this review about The Market Porter

Love this place. Always a friendly welcome. Gets a bit noisy with lots of loud laughter from groups around the end of week lunchtimes. Good choice of real ales on sale. Undergoing a small refurb. Will open again 10th Jan 2019.Udate: Should have done this months ago. Refurb finished, ales as good as ever and staff fantastic and friendly.

On 10th September 2019 - rating: 10
[User has posted 749 recommendations about 713 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about The Market Porter

What can I say, an oasis in a lager desert. The market Porter always has been and I hope always will be a perfect pub selling perfect beer, sometimes early in the morning too.

On 9th January 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Market Porter

Nice old style exterior with a bare boarded interior and numerous beer mats on some walls and beams. 16 hand pumps on the u shaped bar.

On 26th October 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2648 recommendations about 2591 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Market Porter

Been several times. In the week, its been impossible to get onto the pavement.

Much quieter on a Saturday lunch where a) I got to the bar and b) got a seat!

Beer seemed in much better nick than on previous visits. A great pint of harveys sussex best.

Some photos at my blog - http://bit.ly/2cYVT2P

On 18th September 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 276 recommendations about 275 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Market Porter

We timed our Saturday lunchtime visit here quite well, as the majority of the market goers were still roaming around looking for something to eat. The pub had a good range of 12 ales and 3 ciders, so we settled on the Sunny Republic Guardian Angel. Glad to tick it off my list, as a pub tourist, but wouldn't be the sort of pub where you would want to spend much time in.

On 6th August 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2906 recommendations about 2906 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blackthorn _ left this review about The Market Porter

A popular pub in the heart of Borough Market, it was extremely busy on a recent Saturday evening visit with as many people outside the pub as in. We came back later when it had quietened down a little but there was still no chance of getting a seat. Clearly a pub that caters for the market workers, a sign noted that it is open during the week from 6:00am – 9:00am with last orders at 8:30! It doesn’t have quite the Victorian splendour of some London pubs being slightly more rough and ready, but is nonetheless a pleasant enough spot.

It’s a U-shape pub and fairly traditional décor wise, with a wood strip floor, dark wood panelling on the lower part of the walls and maroon paintwork elsewhere. Much of the seating is high stools and most punters were stood at the tables which are at a convenient height for resting your pint on. A carved wooden lion was behind the bar along with some stained glass up above it. A slightly cosier area at one end was liberally sprinkled with old beer mats. As seems to be the case with many London pubs, there is apparently an upstairs dining area, although we did not investigate this.

The beer is clearly a major attraction here and on this occasion the range consisted of Harvey’s Sussex Best, Vale Ale, Market Porter Winter Ale, Sunny Republic Beach Blonde, Oakleaf Stokers Stout, Potbelly’s Pigs Do Fly, Amethyst, Mr Grundy’s No Man’s Land, Otley 10 Oxymoron and something from Dark Star Brewery whose name escapes me. Ciders were similarly well represented with Strongbow, Old Rosie, Weston’s Traditional and Lily the Pink which is a new one on me.

On 1st December 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1709 recommendations about 1645 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Market Porter

Top place - always busy, but with a great range of real ales (although quality can be a bit variable, so it is usually worth noting what is selling well as you wait to get served). 12 handpumps in use on my last visit, with the regular Harveys and a 'house' Winter Ale plus eight guests (usually including a stout and a porter) and a traditional scrumpy. Famous for being one of the very few pubs able to open at breakfast-time before the licensing laws were relaxed a few years ago, you can still join the eponymous workers between 06:00 and 08:30 Monday to Friday.

On 6th March 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 5808 recommendations about 5808 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Market Porter

Although the pavement outside was as usual was heaving with market goers and sightseers there was room to be found in side the pub, on previous visits its been quite a battle to get to the bar,there were however a good few people in attendance to sample the range of beers available which as stated before not what you usually see that often but nothing really jumped out at you either.I settled on a pint of Art Brew - Baby Anarchist which had some decent flavour despite its fairly low abv of 3.2% but it didnt blow me away either.The Market Porter remains an iconic pub that should be on the must visit list when in the area.

On 6th October 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1295 recommendations about 1282 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Market Porter

Seems to be quieter now that the Wheatsheaf has re-opened.They have added 3 extra handpumps so an even bigger choice of beers.Beer from the back bar is always colder than the front bar for some inexplicable reason.Lots of rarely seen beers around London but are they anygood thats the problem.Hit and miss.

On 20th May 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 913 recommendations about 901 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Market Porter

A long-term standard bearer of real ale in London, the Porter is located opposite the seriously good Borough Market. There’s around 12 excellent quality ales on the go at any one time and the selection changes regularly (bar the Harveys) though it’s sometimes difficult to get to the bar to actually buy the stuff as it can get insanely busy, though to be fair the staff are very efficient and you don’t often have to wait more than a couple of minutes for service.

The interior itself is fairly bland – there are a couple of dartboards that don’t get used and a small amount of furniture, though the vast majority of punters end up standing throughout their stay. The most interesting feature is the hundreds of pump clips of beers past, dotted all over the walls and ceilings. The customer base is one of pubs strong points – there’s a good mix of suits, market skivvies, CAMRA types and quite a lot in between. When busy, the place can get hot and feel a bit impersonal as a consequence when you're squashed into a corner - a victim of its own success I suppose. In decent weather it’s often tempting to stand outside but the staff get naggy if you don’t have a plastic glass, which rather spoils the effect. Also note that football shirts (including classic retro) are banned on match days.

At the end of the day, it’s a seriously good destination for an ale but you need to be clever about the timing of your visit.

On 22nd November 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3921 recommendations about 3909 pubs]

Page: 1 2 3