User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
New pub visits 2020 with flatcap on the Pub Forum

The George, SE1

75-77 Borough High Street
SE1
SE1 1NH
Phone: 02074072056

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Greene King
Page: 1 2 3

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about The George

seems to be more of a National Trust relic than a pub with ludicrous tourist trap prices to match. £5.25 for a pint of Landlord! one of the stranger pubs I have visited. but possibly worth it to say I have been.

On 2nd February 2019 - rating: 5
[User has posted 772 recommendations about 753 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The George

I came here once about 20 years ago so can't really recall it, but the earlier reviews still apply. Back then food was a baked spud with baked beans and Cheddar cheese; food today seems to revolve around chicken and the ubiquitous scotch egg.
However, at 4.30 on a Saturday afternoon the place was absolutely rammed, despite the absence of office workers at the weekend - the throng may comprise students from the nearby Guy's and King's College campus; we could barely get in and the ambient noise was incredibly loud; little children were running around in the beer patio. Added to this, the stench of stale urine in the lavatories was about the worst I've ever experienced in a pub; I could have vomited.
Despite the presence of GK IPA and Abbot, there were four other ales and more adventurous than those listed below but as this was such an awful experience overall, I walked out.
In short, a place in which to stick your head round the door then go somewhere else.

On 17th November 2018 - rating: 3
[User has posted 985 recommendations about 970 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about The George

Old pub that is owned by the National Trust. Worth a visit on that basis for me and 5 beers on was a bonus. I tried the house George Ale and it was fine. Bigger than it looks and extremely busy.

On 11th October 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1078 recommendations about 1036 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The George

Cant believe I haven't reviewed this pub before,it's still high on the tourist circuit and the Greene King ownership will always raise a red flag.However it's appearance is noteworthy although some of the interior is rather dull and predicatable.There are 6 handpumps which will offer 4 GK brews but now two guests which on my trip were Sambrooks Powerhouse Porter and a decent Hackney APA.There is a sign on the wall asking for suggestions of your favourite ale ,so there is a small chance that ale quality might be improving here,a phrase I never thought I would utter.

On 15th November 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2086 recommendations about 2086 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The George

Review from Sept 2016
Like a lot of historic must visit places the reality is a let down, nice building(the astro turfed seating area outside is a touch of class,hmmm) and rubbish beer,Belhaven Old Gold,Old Nutty Hen,London Glory,George Inn Ale with one pump off,I sought some respite in a half of Punk IPA at £2.90 a half.
Well I've done my one visit here finally, hopefully the last.
A rubbish place.

On 3rd January 2017 - rating: 3
[User has posted 1354 recommendations about 1340 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The George

Tucked away just off the main drag. A really impressive exterior with a bigger than you initially think interior. It's Greene King beers so nothing thrilling some "craft keg" as an alternative.

On 26th October 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2706 recommendations about 2649 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The George

Got to come here at least once in your life.

A living piece of history.

Sadly, the beer is usually ghastly. Although on my last visit - the nutty hen was in good condition.

Some photos at my blog - http://bit.ly/2cYVT2P

On 18th September 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 277 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blackthorn _ left this review about The George

A good sized pub in a small courtyard just off Borough High Street, it is owned by the National Trust although leased out to Greene King who run it on their behalf. It is the last remaining galleried coaching inn in London, with many others unfortunately having been destroyed in the war. The courtyard has plenty of picnic tables for the warmer weather, although there are also a few heaters and many of the tables are covered.

Internally it doesn’t have quite the “olde worlde” charm that one might anticipate from the outside, with the bar area in particular being fairly uninspiring. That said, it’s pleasant enough and some areas are certainly cosier than others. It consists of several interconnected rooms and there is dark wood flooring throughout and cream paintwork on the walls. One of the rooms had a low beamed ceiling and another had dark wood panelling on the walls making it somewhat reminiscent of a hotel drawing room. A number of old black and white photograph of the locale were on the walls as well as a few water colours.

Food wise, the menu offered a decent enough looking selection of pub grub dishes such as sausage & mash, steak & ale pie, burger, fish & chips, etc., and these were mostly priced around £12 or so. There was also a bar snack menu which we chose from and shared a selection of scotch egg, deep fried calamari, popcorn chicken, olives and bread with an oil and balsamic dip, chips and onion rings. This was all decent enough without obviously being fine dining, but it did the job and kept us going.

Beers on tap were Southwark Gold, Southwark Potters Fields Porter, Greene King IPA, their own George Ale and London Glory. Another pump for Greene King IPA Gold appeared to have run out. The solitary cider was a rather disappointing Aspall’s Suffolk.

On 26th January 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1749 recommendations about 1684 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The George

Good busy touristy pub.Shame that touristy has a negative meaning when referring to pubs.I liked it.Mostly GK beers on but I tried Southwark -porter.

On 16th January 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The George

We nearly walked past this one, tucked away down a side courtyard. So we did our tourist bit and popped in. If the pub was sitting in water, you would be convinced you were on an old galleon ship. Well worth a nose, good service in here, even when it's busy.

On 30th July 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]

Page: 1 2 3