User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
pubs galore bar with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Moon & Stars (JD Wetherspoon), Penge, SE20

166 High Street
SE20
SE20 7QS
Phone: 02087765680

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Moon & Stars (JD Wetherspoon)

The Moon and Stars is an unusual looking Wetherspoons which looks like a new build one to me,but i am no expert on Wetherspoons.
Once inside there is an L shaped room which has tall tables and chairs to the front and normal ones elsewhere.
There was a good choice of guest beers on the bar,i had a drink of By the Horns Stiff Upper Lip which went down very well,the other beers noted were ELB Cowcatcher.ELB Quadrant,Sambrooks Wandle and Woods Shropshire Gold,plus the usual Spoons reguars.
I found this to be a very pleasant Spoons with a very good choice of real ales on the bar.

Pub visited 14/5/2016

On 5th June 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Moon & Stars (JD Wetherspoon)

Visit 18/12/2014
I thought it time I took another look at this place after my slightly disappointing visit over a year ago. It's a regular GBG entry.
There were no unused hand pumps this time and a good selection of ales. I tried three different beers, a Xmas guest, an American guest and a Locale one Late Knights Hop O' The Morning. All were in excellent nick and the Late Knights beer was particularily good. This is the only Spoons where I've seen Late Knights beer on offer. My only reservation with this place was that the staff seem to believe that serving short measure pints is an acceptable thing to do. I had to ask for my first two pints to be topped up and my third was a borderline case. None of the three were as full as I would normally expect, this is Penge in London not Yorkshire. I would have upped the rating to 8 if it wasn't for the short measure issue.

Visit 18/10/2013
This building was once a cinema but there are no obvious signs of that inside where it is essentially the usual old school Spoons fixtures and fittings. One plus point is that there are fifteen pumps and a blackboard had an impressive list of six or seven small breweries (and Adnams) from where they source beers that are not on the current list. The problem was that two of the pumps were unused, and four were available soon (Jaipur IPA, ESB and two Late Knights beers). the rest carried the 2 GK beers, By The Horns Diamond Geezer and six festival ales. I went for the Shepherd Neame Spooks (£2.15) which was in good condition.

On 18th December 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Moon & Stars (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a surprisingly large Wetherspoons pub on Penge High Street. The entrance takes you into a large, glass fronted open space with a fair bit of seating. The bar counter is L shaped and runs a long way towards the back of the room. Opposite are several booth areas of the sort you see in most Wetherspoons pubs and these continue all the way to the back of the pub, where the room opens out again on a raised section which has loads more tables and chairs. The back of the pub also has large windows which look out to the beer patio.
Fifteen hand pumps offered nine beers from the current Wetherspoons festival, plus 5 festival ciders and their regular beer, Ruddles. I tried the Stone IPA, which I thought was served far too cold and not really in top condition. Getting served was also a bit of a mission, as the bar staff weren't paying any attention to who should be served next, so it was a bit of a lottery as to who they would turn their attention to.
The place was pretty low on atmosphere and indistinguishable from many other 'Spoons pubs, but having said that, it's probably as safe a bet for a decent beer as anywhere else in Penge, but that's not exactly a compliment.

On 16th October 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2446 recommendations about 2446 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Moon & Stars (JD Wetherspoon)

Unremarkable looking 'spoons, with plenty of handpumps (about 15?) but quite a few duplicate clips so not quite as much choice as it first appears. Had to wait quite a while to get served, but this was more to do with a large group of people each ordering and paying for their meals individually than any inefficiency by the bar staff. Beers included two from Hepworth's - Iron Horse and a decent pint of the paler Sussex.

On 30th December 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about Moon & Stars (JD Wetherspoon)

A large spacious Wetherspoon's where the management seem to be very keen on real ales. On my visit there were about 8 guest beers on tap, some local and some from far and wide. this is definitely one of the better Wetherspoon pubs. Let's hope it continues

On 3rd March 2009 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2043 recommendations about 2024 pubs]