User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
pubs galore bar with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

Half Moon, Herne Hill, SE24

10 Half Moon Lane
SE24
SE24 9HU
Phone: 02072742733

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Half Moon

Fullers have done an excellent job here bringing this pub/hotel back to its former glory. The manager told me that they celebrated a years opening only last week and he also showed me a photo of when the pub got flooded. I went for the Fullers London Pride which was superb, whilst Mrs A went for the Brixton Effra Pale Ale. This is an interesting pub and well worth a visit.

On 29th March 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Half Moon

A very grand Fuller's pub, also a hotel, in a building with plenty of decorative features both externally and within. The multi-room interior has been partially opened-out, but there is still a glazed screen between the two bars. There is also an upper glazed panel housing a clock between the main bar and the dining area / reception. Very traditional furniture and decor (including a small wooden booth along one wall). Substantial patio beer garden. Three banks of four handpumps in total, and allowing for duplicates I found Pride, Seafarers, three seasonals - Damson Porter (£4.55), Holly Bush and Wise Men - and Brixton Reliance Pale as a guest.

On 1st January 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about Half Moon

Superbly finished pub.Sun was shining through the leaded windows and gave it a special feel.Fullers beers but also Canopy and Bullfinch beers on cask.

On 20th August 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Half Moon

Fuller's have done a magnificent job bringing this CAMRA National Inventory and Grade II* Listed pub back to life following four years' or so closure after being flooded back in 2013. Importantly, and as is to be expected, Fuller's have not tampered with the magnificent snug oin the left, with its very rarearray of Victorian back-painted mirrors. In fact I think they have improved the main bar area, as they have removed the ghastly gantry that used to be dominated by a couple of large speakers. It's now largely food led as opposed to being music led, as the large rear area seems to be for diners.

There was also a Canopy microbrewery beer on when I visited. This is a must visit pub.

On 6th May 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about Half Moon

A massive and rather impressive Fullers, lots of dark wood and etched glass inside 8 pumps were on the main front bar with more around the side,there was 7 Fuller's/Gales beers available plus one guest from local Canopy brewery but unfortunately had just run out and not replaced during my short stay,There were some craft options on keg,I had Canopy Brockwell IPA. A decent and interesting pub.

On 9th April 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1325 recommendations about 1311 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Half Moon

deal announced between the pub freeholders The Dulwich Estate and London brewers Fuller’s to reopen it later this year

On 7th April 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2693 recommendations about 2637 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Half Moon

This is a large Victorian gin palace retaining several separate areas. A well known live music venue, I assume bands play in the rear function room to the rear of the bar but I may have missed a stair or two leading up or down. The main bar is opposite the front entrance, boarded floor, wood panelling and decent etched glass screens divide the areas. The snug bar to the immediate left of the bar end has some first rate back painted mirrors depicting swans and herons.
Much of the Herne Hill area appears to be once served by Charrington's brewery, with the trademark green and amber banding on the windows, this pub also has banded windows but in different colours so not too sure.
There is a decent looking carved bar back with fluted columns in what is clearly a reasonably well preserved pub, also more like a proper boozer than many of its neighbours with a more lively and down to earth clientele.
No sign of food but it was late afternoon, the real beer choice was Sambrook's Wandle, Pride, Deucher's Ipa plus one unclipped. Not that exciting but my Wandle was in good nick.
A solid and decent pub, less pretentious than others nearby.

On 25th May 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1686 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about Half Moon Public House

Very large pub, close to Herne Hill station, but with a busy road junction in between. Has live bands, an open mic night and live comedy acts. Has a snug area with large mirrors with swans painted on them.

On 28th June 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 753 recommendations about 716 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Half Moon Public House

This pub is on the CAMRA inventory of London heritage pubs, so inside expect to see all the usual original Victorian features – spectacular barback; carved woodwork; etched and cut glass etc. But if you do venture in here make the effort to poke your nose into the snug on the left to have a butcher's at some of the best surviving back painted mirrors. But the modern style bar gantry is a hideous modern addition, supporting two large speakers, to what is otherwise an extremely attractive pub.
They had three real ales on when I was in there – Pride, Adnam's Bitter, and Wadworth's 6X. I opted for the Pride which was pretty good, but also pretty expensive for the area at £3.20 a pint. This pub is definitely worth seeking out if you're into antique pub architecture and decor, but otherwise I don't think that this pub has a lot to offer.

On 15th April 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]