User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Halifax Crawl - 21 June 2024 with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

The Prince of Greenwich, Greenwich, SE10

72 Royal Hill
SE10
SE10 8RT
Phone: 02086915369

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Steve of N21 left this review about The Prince of Greenwich

Another strange pub in this part of Greenwich. There are small clues outside to what lays within, but when you walk in and feel that it looks like some eccentric’s personal museum, that is because it is!
The clue is on the exterior from the signage outside proclaiming this to be a museum pub. It was apparently taken over in 2015 by a couple who originally hailed from Sicily but have spent their lives to date travelling and the décor is made up of their eclectic collection from a lifetime of research and travelling (referred to as the La Rosa Collection by the owner). Alongside the aforementioned enormous rhino head and a whale bone and many other strange artefacts is a collection of Jazz memorabilia (pictures and instruments), which is clearly a love of the proprietor and live music features every Sunday.
Italian food obviously features here and although I didn’t experience it on my visit, a local informed that one of the benefits of attending the live music is that you liberally get fed pizza.
A couple of ale pumps on the bar but only one operating with a passable Harvey’s Sussex best. But the ale is not the attraction here, it’s the museum collection and the hosts if they are around.
The danger with this one is that wanderlust could strike the current owners at any time, and they could be off, taking their collection with them. So, I recommend you search this one out and experience the eccentricity whilst you can.

On 10th May 2024 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2172 recommendations about 2044 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Prince of Greenwich

Dating from the mid-19th century as the Prince Albert, the current name arising I know what when; what I do know is that this was a Courage pub, as there’s a gold cockerel straddling the sign frame, the current sign seemingly depicting the current Sicilian owner's countenance.
The interior is a veritable cornucopia of knickknacks, including a – stuffed? – rhino head to a wall, otherwise too much variety to document, the whole looking like some eccentric’s personal museum. It’s relatively thin in relation to its length, the bar running down most of the right-hand side, food clearly featuring as some people were eating at the bar, their plates left uncollected. Customers are very mixed, probably many students in attendance and all making for a good atmosphere, the place packed out with me only just getting a seat at the bar on my Friday evening visit.
Unfortunately, the young female bar staff were a bit clueless, faffing about like headless chickens or indeed just standing stock still, unclear what to do next. Eventually I got served, the only cask choice being Sussex Best at a very reasonable £2.40 a half and on good form. What wasn’t such good form was her announcing that the pub closes at 10.00pm, me ordering at 9.42pm; another customer at the bar verbally expressed his dismay.
This is a very nice pub, but the lamentable closing times – 10.00pm for a full pub on a Friday night – clueless service and limited ale choice having cost it 2 points.

On 26th March 2023 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2033 recommendations about 1998 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Prince of Greenwich

Disregard all previous reviews as it has changed beyond all recognition. The legend 'Museum Pub' outside gives a small but inadequate clue about the interior of this surprising and unique pub. The whole of the L-shaped bar room is covered in assorted tat of every description, ranging from small objects in glass cases to a large charging rhino over the fireplace. It transpires that the pub is now home to Piero and his Sicilian family who have displayed the "memories of 42 years of travelling" to great effect. The net result is difficult to imagine, yet alone describe, and is quite fascinating yet has a great feel. The friendliness though is something else. We were enjoying a beer (TT Landlord and Twickenham Naked Ladies) and were pleasantly surprised to be given a plate of meat and pizza slices. A conversation about the pub rapidly developed to a guided tour of the upstairs room, which is liberally decorated with music photos and movie posters and hosts live music, Italian films and other activities. Apparently there is also a pool table downstairs somewhere but we didn't get that far before being given another free sample of delicious home-made pizza. Sadly we couldn't stay long but will have to return to make sure we were not imagining all this! If visiting note it is closed Mondays and opens 16.00 other weekdays; open all day at weekends.

On 2nd February 2022 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3353 recommendations about 3290 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Strongers . left this review about Prince of Greenwich

The Prince of Greenwich is an L shaped pub with a couple of plasma screens that were showing muted BBC tennis in favour of some mow background music. There were only two other customers during my Wednesday afternoon visit, but I imagine that it gets busier when the advertised live music is in swing.

The bar is stocked with standard draught and two of the three hand pumps were unused leaving Landlord as the lone ale option. Pub grub is available with the mains priced around the £10 mark.

My lasting memory of this pub is the extremely friendly barmaid who made this bog standard local boozer stick in the memory.

On 23rd June 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 5329 recommendations about 5297 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Smith left this review about Prince of Greenwich

Recently done up, very very nice. Good choose of beers and wines.

Nice crowd, nice atmosphere and friendly staff.

The food is very good, much better then the pubs near by.

On 7th April 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Warren Langley left this review about Prince of Greenwich

We were ashamed to have taken friends with us for our first(and last) vist to the Prince of Greenwich. The sparse menu was a sign of the miserable food to follow. The service was inexperienced and inattentive. To think that we walked past The Greenwich Union and the Richard I to get to the "Prince". We won't be coming again.

On 4th April 2011 - rating: 1
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The Prince Albert

One of 3 pubs close to each other up Royal Hill, it is far enough away from tourist Greenwich to have a "locals" feel to it. We have often used the pub for a few light hearted darts evenings and have also spent a few New Years Eve’s here and whilst it would never claim to be a lively party pub, we have have always been made to feel welcome by the friendly staff and customers. The interior has a U-Shaped bar and a traditional pub décor, quite basic with bare floors and well worn rugs, Sky TV and a few unusual collectables dotted around the walls. There are usually 3 ales that often include a decent guest or 2 but I understand that the pub is currently in the process of changing hands and only Courage Best, the standard ale, was available on New Years Eve which was a major disappointment. Hopefully this will just be a temporary glitch as the pub is an old haunt and worthy of a visit in conjunction with the Richard I and Greenwich Union a few doors down.

On 2nd January 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1239 recommendations about 1233 pubs]