User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Disappearing and 'in peril' breweries with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

The Pelton Arms, Greenwich, SE10

25 Pelton Road
SE10
SE10 9PQ
Phone: 02088580572

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Punch Taverns
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Quinno _ left this review about The Pelton Arms

A beautiful exterior (the green tiling is either new or has been unveiled underneath a load of old paint, judging by some of the older photos on the site) and a striking wedge-shaped building. Tick shaped interior with a very traditional lived-in feel; dark wood vanishing, curtains, wood fittings, brewery mirrors, sodium style lighting. Famous for its live music and there was a band on the go during my visit generating a hot and sweaty atmosphere within the pub, which was close to capacity. A genuine Pearly Queen was also in attendance. Six ales on the go which raised my eyebrow and unfortunately my Kent Cob Nut had a slight cardboard aspirator taste (NBSS 2). Shame the beer let it down, I would be happy to give it another go as there were many other positives. 6.5

On 20th September 2021 - rating: 7
[User has posted 4200 recommendations about 4187 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Pelton Arms

A large traditional pub that has a certain charm about it, that is well supported by the locals. I found the manager and his wife to be friendly and chatty. Five ales on handpump on our visit, GK IPA, Bombardier, Doombar etc. Luckily for us the manager tempted us to the Dorking Brewery India Red Ale, which was a decent beer. Value meals at £5 each are advertised on table menus, which are cooked on the premises and are served from 12-3 and 6-9.

On 12th January 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3035 recommendations about 3035 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about The Pelton Arms

found it nice and friendly had 8 hand pulls on had a pint of West Brewing British Bull Dog4.3% was not bad will call back

On 11th January 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 122 recommendations about 122 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Pelton Arms

The Pelton Arms is a corner pub located in the backstreets between the high street and the Thames. The interior is L shaped with standard tables and chairs around the exterior walls. In the central corner of the pub are a stage and a dartboard. The board was out of action when I visited on a recent Monday afternoon because the stage was taken up with musical equipment from the weekend just passed. I didn’t spot any televisions, but there was some slightly depressing background music playing. I also noted the presence of a bar billiards table.

Food is advertised, but I didn’t see any menus except for a couple of specials that were chalked up on a board. These were priced around a fiver. There was also an advertisement in the front door advertising the Saturday morning breakfast club from 9:00 onwards.

The bar is stocked with standard draught and I counted ten hand pumps. Three of these were unused leaving Greene King IPA, Bombardier, Brentwood’s Blonde, Bateman’s Black and White, Springtime’s Oatmeal Biscuit Beer and Nelson’s Buccaneer Beer as the ale options. There was also a real cider available in the form of Lily the Pink.

There is an advertised beer garden at the rear, but I did not investigate during this visit.

I found the service to be friendly and I could imagine this pub being very good when a little busier. Next time I’m in the area I will make a point of popping back in.

On 9th May 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3599 recommendations about 3579 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Pelton Arms

This pub is essentially unchanged from previous reviewers' visits, which is a very good thing indeed. The brewery mirrors and other brewery memorabilia, dartboard on the stage, animal heads, piano, etc, are all still there. But the beer selection doesn't seem to be quite so good as it was; I only counted eight handpumps, but as this was my fifth pub of the day I could have miscounted. Of the eight several were dishing up the usual suspects (Tribute, Doom Bar, GKIPA and Bombardier); a couple were not in use; and the other two had on Christmas ales. But the Christmas ale I had (didn't note the name for some reason) was in fine fettle.

The servery was illuminated by red lights, reminiscent of some Thailand bars I've visited. But moving swiftly on - the external Nag's Head signage is still there, perhaps in the hope of another OF&H spinoff? I suspect that I might have been a bit unlucky with the ale selection having visited in the interegnum between Christmas/New Year overindulgences and a lot of peoples' return to work and normality. Anyway, this still remains a destination pub for visitors to Greenwich - forget the Cutty Sark and Royal Observatory and head straight here.

On 4th January 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2592 recommendations about 2506 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nick Johnstone left this review about The Pelton Arms

Superb pub in a quaint area, well worth the effort of finding. A piano with a picture of the Queen Mother on top. Perfect.

On 18th August 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 98 recommendations about 98 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Pelton Arms

Attractive backstreet pub with a large 'L'-shaped bar and plenty of memorabilia about the place. Small stage in the corner, hosting a low-key gig from South London lads Squeeze when I visited so the place was absolutely packed and difficult to appreciate properly. There was also a 40p surcharge on the beer too, but with a decent choice from ten handpumps and a £3.40 base price for ales such as Wharfe Bank Celtic Glory stout and Ilkley's Mary Jane I wasn't complaining too much. Well worth a visit.

On 5th April 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6620 recommendations about 6620 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Pelton Arms

As Roger mentions this pub now has confusing signage, as it has been redecorated and the name over the front of the corner of the pub is The Nags Head, but the Pelton Arms pub sign and the Pelton Arms name on the Pelton Road side of the pub remains, making it look like two pubs together. But it is still only one pub, but now trading on its usage in the Only Fools and Horses franchise.
Now, far be it for me to dispute Roger’s learned comments below, but my understanding is that this pub was actually used in the OF&H’s prequel ‘Rock and Chips’ which was filmed in the surrounding mews streets, which fit nicely (once all the modern road signage is removed) into looking like from that era.
This was my first visit to this establishment, so can’t comment what it may have been like in previous guises. But this current one certainly seems to be working and pulling punters in. And for the apparent effort being put into it, so it should.
A different to the run of the mill interior decor, bit quirky but perfectly comfortable, a row of ten hand pumps on the bar dispensing something a bit different to the norm, and an impressive line up of musical evenings and quiz night events to keep people interested.
Nice pint of Otter Ale was had, and I can certainly recommend hunting this one out when on a visit to Greenwich.

On 29th March 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1770 recommendations about 1714 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The Pelton Arms

The Pelton Arms is certainly Greenwich’s (and possibly one of London’s) most underrated pubs. Tucked away from the tourist area in a residential back street, one may initially be confused by the Nags Head signage – this is a remnant from the days when the pub was used in the filming of Only Fools And Horses.

The interior is a lengthy L-shape with a bare and basic approach and yet strangely homely and even the sofas that I am usually so loathed to see in pubs look quite welcoming among the tall lamps and bookcases. Animal lovers may have an issue with the various mounted stuffed heads around the walls. In one corner is a raised section that doubles up as the darts area and stage for the usually excellent standard live bands at weekends (a few noteable acts occasionally turn up here, including Squeeze who played a brace of secret warm up gigs in July). There is also a bar billiards table, big screen, piano, weekly quiz nights and a Tuesday knitting club, so they have pretty much covered all angles. To one side is an attractive beer garden accessed from the laft hand end of the main bar.

The customer base is derived from an eclectic bunch of locals, muso’s, bohemians and beertickers whose worlds all seem to harmoniously exist alongside each other.

There has always been a decent selection of beers but they have recently upped the number of hand pumps to 10 although, apart from their first beer festival held recently, there have generally been around 7 or 8 ales available, 3 or 4 standard and another 3 or 4 more interesting guests. The prices are about par for the area (most ales were £3.30) although it should be noted that there is a 40p a pint surcharge added when the live music starts so if you’re not there for the bands it can work out expensive. The quality is pretty good although the service can be a little frustrating at times. I haven’t eaten here but it does have a good reputation for unpretentious and good value food with main courses around £7-9.

There are plenty of varied, historic and interesting pubs in Greenwich and the Pelton isn’t often on most people’s radar but it is certainly worth the effort to find.

On 12th September 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Pelton Arms

This charming traditional pub is located in a peaceful backstreet a few minutes from Maze Hill train station and is easily reached from Greenwich by following the Thames path eastwards. The L-shaped interior has wooden floor and wall panelling and warm coloured paintwork which combine to create a cosy and atmospheric feel. There is a mixture of furniture throughout the room, with standard tables and chairs giving way to large leather sofas and finally big armchairs around the fireplace at the rear. The corner of the room has a small stage which is apparently put to regular use by the live music acts that perform here every weekend. A dartboard and more surprisingly, a bar billiards table are provided as well as the ubiquitous upright piano. Being a lovely summer's day we decided to sit outside and were pleased to find a lovely, well tended garden out the back, with a small decked area leading to the main garden which was full of plants and had some nice seats and benches to pick from.
Malden Man's wish of a better selection of cask ale seems to have come true, as I was treated to the sight of 8 hand pumps which offered up Wells Bombardier, Greene King IPA, Sambrooks Wandle, Adnam's Lighthouse, Nethergate 3.9, Shep's Spitfire, Castle Rock Preservation Ale and something called 'The Governor' which I tried and later found out to be the beer brewed by celebrity chef Marco Pierre White for his new pub venture. Whilst this wasn't the greatest beer I've ever had, it was at least well kept and served by a very pleasant young lady behind the bar.
I found a lot to admire about this pub and imagine it will have a loyal local following. Getting to the pub requires a bit of effort as it's not the sort of place you're likely to pass too often, but I was certainly glad I sought in out and would be happy to make a return visit sometime soon.

On 9th July 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2630 recommendations about 2630 pubs]

Page: 1 2