User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How Will Pubs Open? with trainman on the Pub Forum

The Gipsy Moth, Greenwich, SE10

60 Greenwich Church Street
SE10
SE10 9BL
Phone: 02088580786

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Castle (Mitchells & Butlers)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Gipsy Moth

Very close to The Cutty Sark,this pub has an interesting interior which winds around and is worth inspecting.The drinking area is nominally to the front,with mainly dining to the rear.However it will be popular with tourists during the day,and is quite lively with a young professional crowd in the evening and the muzak is played at quite some volume.There is an open kitchen to the rear ,and food is popular with all tables being numbered.Furniture is all quite traditional,and you order food from the bar,which itself has several sections.At one end are two handpumps for the regular Doom Bar and London Pride,while almost hidden away is a small section with three guest ales,St Austell Proper Job,Thornbridge Wild Holly (OK condition) and a porter from a brewery whose name was indestinct on my visit.
We were eating and the food almost beat me back from the bar but it was tasty pub grub and not wildly expensive.If you can put up with a noisy pub,I was quite impressed by the ale range and would pop in again next time I'm in Greenwich.

On 30th November 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2054 recommendations about 2054 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Gipsy Moth

Next to the cutty sark interior as described by Steve c below. 5 real ales and "craft keg" served.

On 1st May 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2693 recommendations about 2637 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about The Gipsy Moth

Ok place but not relay interested in you if not ordering food had a pint of Reverent James had better to be honest to touristy to have a comfortable pint in

On 11th January 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 122 recommendations about 122 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Gipsy Moth

The Gipsy Moth is overlooked by the Cutty Sark so expect tourists galore, especially during the lunch period. The cheapest main that I spotted on the menu adjacent to the entrance was a salad of some sort that rocked in at £10.

The interior consists of a small bar area at the front of the pub and a large open plan dining area to the rear. From here access can be gained to some outside covered seating and a well-kept split level beer garden. During my wander around I didn’t spot any TVs or advertisements for live music or sport. There was some very low background music playing which did little to add to the atmosphere.

Alongside a premium draught selection are at least six hand pumps that were drawing Sharp’s Doom Bar, St Austell’s Proper Job, Sambrook’s Junction, Ilkley Brewery’s Mary Jane, Fuller’s London Pride and Navigation’s Icebreaker.

This place is too much of a tourist trap for me to consider returning.

On 11th June 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Gipsy Moth

A very busy pub indeed, not a seat to be had, in the heart of the touristy bit of Greenwich. Renamed years ago in honour of Sir Francis Chichester who circumnavigated the world in the boat of this name, his picture and those of his boat are displayed next to the bar in the front area. The bar is immediately ahead on entering from the front, the pub being effectively split into two main areas, the bar continues through. There are two banks of handpumps, shared either side of the divide, although some of the beers are doubled up, it is wise to consult the chalkboards in case something you fancy is not in view. My visit had seven shared across the pumps, Doom Bar, Ilkley Mary Jane Pale Ale, Pride, Sambrook's Junction, St Austell Proper Job, Navigation Icebreaker and Channel Islands Liberation Ale. I went for the Liberation, very expensive at £4.35 and I had to request a significant top up.
The two areas are semi divided, the smaller front section has a slightly raised area to one corner which has some wood panelling, the rear oddly shaped area leads on to a small conservatory with an extensive and pleasant garden beyond, from where there are views of the Cutty Sark. Food is served and despite many tables in the larger rear area being set for dining, no one was, all occupied by drinkers. A tour of the garden found a few enjoying meals however, obviously the preferred spot on a warm and sunny Saturday afternoon.
The pub is probably quite nice, the beer range is eclectic and interesting but it was just too busy to be a pleasant stay. I reckon you need to time a visit carefully.

On 18th May 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Gipsy Moth

Quite an attractive pub from the front, although the single-storey side extension does little for the setting of the nearby Cutty Sark. Odd shape inside, but not too cluttered apart from the narrow links between the main part of the bar at the front with the dining areas to the rear. Some dark-wood panelling, and mostly semi-traditional furniture. Very much food led, with many reserved tables on a Sunday lunchtime. Patio seating area to the side. Two banks of five handpumps, offering Pride, Doom Bar, Kirkstall Dissolution IPA, DBC Frosted Jack and Sambrooks Junction (£3.80). Quite a relaxed atmosphere, so a reasonable spot overall.

On 15th March 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6002 recommendations about 6002 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Gipsy Moth

I’ve been in here several times in the past, but having been unable to get a seat, have never actually managed to get as far as ordering a drink, such is this pub’s popularity. Given its proximity to the Cutty Sark, it is perhaps not surprising that it’s regularly filled with tourists, but it can make a visit less than comfortable. You enter into a fairly small front bar with limited seating either side of the front door and this area struck me as the best place to grab a seat if you’re just visiting for a drink. You then have to pass through a series of pillars, behind which you can still catch glimpses of the servery, before emerging into a strangely shaped rear room which is set up more for diners, with plenty of tables available. There is an open kitchen on the right hand side and the space to the left extends quite a long way and had a TV screen showing live rugby. At the rear there is a conservatory type space with a tile floor, which leads out to a large garden which is rightly popular in the summer months. The servery runs down the right hand side of the pub, connecting the front and rear sections, and has a mock ship’s figurehead at the far end, keeping with the pub’s vague nautical theme. Music was playing in the background during my stay, but with so many people in, it was almost impossible to hear it.
The beer range was quite appealing, with a varied line up on my recent visit comprising Sharp’s Doom Bar, Great Yorkshire Brewery Yorkshire Lager, Green Jack Trawlerboys, Fullers London Pride and Bristol Beer Factory Bitter Californian. I gave the latter a try and thought it was a good beer in decent condition. The keg range had a few rarities including Veltins, Hoegaarden and Budvar with ciders from Aspall’s and Bulmers. I didn’t see any menus, but did spot a blackboard which listed various main meals at around the £11.00 mark.
This place is a bit of a mixed bag and from my experience, the timing of your visit will most likely determine how much you enjoy yourself. For a Grade I listed building, there’s not a great deal to admire within, but the interesting ale range and lovely rear garden mean that it’s still well worth giving this place a try.

On 10th March 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2466 recommendations about 2466 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The Gipsy Moth

Originally called the Wheatsheaf, the Gipsy Moth pub was renamed in honour of the boat in which Sir Francis Chichester circumnavigated the world in 1967. The boat was moored in a dry dock not far from the pub from 1972 until 2004 when it was renovated and underwent a second similar voyage after which it now on public display in Cowes. The pub name however lives on.

The building dates from 1795 and is Grade 1 listed although you wouldn’t have thought so by the way the interior has been hacked about by numerous renovations and, according to the barmanI I overheard recently, more is due in a few months.

The smallish main bar is at the front with minimal furnishings giving it a bit of a hollow feel. The pub opens up towards the back with a large odd shaped section that bears further scars of a trendy makeover. Some of it looks particularly ugly, especially the ceiling with a trail of pipes carrying the electrics and some very unsympathetic lighting fixtures. The low flying chandelier may also claim a few victims although it sensibly dangles above a table. The rear section extends to a conservatory and beyond, a deceptively large beer garden with plenaty of cover.

There are at least some decent ales to be found with 5 hand pumps offering Doom Bar, Pride, Sambrook Wandle, Liberation Blonde and Westoons Vintage Organic Cider on my visit. Prices were average for the area. The food menu looked pretty reasonable with main courses between £7-12 and special 1, 2 and 3 course offers.

I’m not a great fan of the interior but if I’m doing the rounds in Greenwich I have no reservations about seeing what’s available on the pumps although I wouldn’t particularly class the Gipsy Moth as an essential pub to visit

On 11th February 2011 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]