User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Hogs Back Taproom - not a pub? with rpadam on the Pub Forum

East Dulwich Tavern, East Dulwich, SE22

1 Lordship Lane
SE22
SE22 8EW
Phone: 02086931316

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about East Dulwich Tavern

Spent an enjoyable couple of hours over a few pints and a paper in this large Antic pub whilst the good lady explored all the independent shops along the now gentrified Lordship Lane. Initially on one of the external benches soaking up the late afternoon sun and then when she returned in one of the comfy leather seats in the back room watching Wimbledon on the large flat tele.
Although nine of the pumps had clips on, unfortunately three were reversed leaving six beers available. But those that were on had a particular focus on local South London Breweries and offered a decent range. Granted two of these were from Antic’s own Croydon based Volden Brewery (Pale and Session Ale) but then there were Canopy Sunray Pale Ale, Pig & Porter Lost Colony, Brixton Brewery Reliance Pale Ale and Brick Brewery Peckham Pale. Went through the last three whilst there and they were all in good condition.
No problem with the service levels but then granted it was a late Monday afternoon, so the place wasn’t that busy and the staff hardly challenged but all in all I thought this was a very decent pub.

On 18th July 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1704 recommendations about 1653 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about East Dulwich Tavern

My first pub of the days action and it was a good hit, a large pub but not so busy as I got there bang on opening time on a sunny Saturday. Lots of oddments on the walls and scattered about in true Antic fashion including sets of ivory handled table knives, thimbles, taxidermy an ancient record player and a piano (not on the wall), the menus were bulldog clipped to old vinyl LP covers,some with the records still in them. There were 10 handpumps, not sure if they've been added to since John's visit below or he was well into a crawl when he got there! Anyhow 8 were in use including beers from Volden,Brixton,Brick,Bad Co,Adnams and Dark Star, my Hophead was a decent start to the day.The only criticism I have was that the TV football volume was way to loud at one end of the pub and at the other end the music was full volume,I don't mind either but not at the same time and at a more sensible level,that aside I really liked the place.

On 9th April 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1344 recommendations about 1330 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about East Dulwich Tavern

Large busy pub.Very warm on a cold night. Eclectic wall hangings inc a display of wooden coat hangers.Five handpumps with good choice of Gun -parabellum,Arbor -megs bomb and Revolution-blue mondays.Tried all three and good quality.Skysports kept me amused while I drank.Good pub.

On 5th March 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about East Dulwich Tavern

The East Dulwich Tavern s a very large pub that is situated next to a very busy road junction.
Once inside the pub had three areas,the apex of the pub had bench seating and chairs,there was a small raised area to the right,this area was full with mainly younger people dining,the main bar area is L shaped with a comfy bench seat and small stools,there is a seperate area to the rear which had normal table snad chairs,the pub was very busy on my dinnertime visit,so i sat on a bar stool.
There were five real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Milk Street The Usuall which was a very nice drink,the other beers were Adnams Lighthouse,Trumans Original Porter,Alchemy Rye One,and Doom Bar.
This pub had a good lively atmosphere,i was quite happy drinking in this pub.

Pub visited 25/1/2014

On 25th January 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about East Dulwich Tavern

This is a large and prominent pub situated on a busy junction. The bar area is semi separated into two areas with another room to the rear right which has a couple of rooflights. The floor is particularly eye-catching, consisting of a wooden boarded grid inlaid with a varying pattern of tiles, most unusual. Decor generally consists of lots of dark green paint with white ceilings and as this is an Antic pub, various bits of seemingly random if carefully selected odds and ends. Mounted small animal skulls, a couple of old school photographs, lake and mountain scenes, wall mounted coat hangers and knives and forks amongst other stuff. The bar is central with a food servery to one side, seating varies from the sort of traditional at reclaimed dining tables with carefully mismatched chairs to a few sofas dotted here and there. The pointed end of the pub has a slightly raised area to one side.
Being South East London and despite the clientele being a bit "yuppy" to reuse an '80s phrase, there was a bit of DelBoy going on with Christmas trees for sale outside and the rear side room being taken over for some sort of sale of jewellery, pots and plates and general bric-a-brac.
Being an Antic pub you know you will be looked after beer wise, on handpump were Doom Bar, Truman's Runner, Redemption Hopspur, Dark Star Espresso, and Pontpridd Crueso (£3.50). Among the keg fonts I spotted Moor Brewery Empire Strikes Back.
The TV was showing rugby, other entertainment advertised was live music and comedy.
Very busy late on Saturday lunchtime, many groups were eating the very good looking food, other customers included Dulwich Hamlet supporters on the way to the nearby Champion Hill ground.

On 11th December 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about East Dulwich Tavern

I popped into the East Dulwich Tavern just over a month ago on a sunny Friday afternoon when there were still hopes of a decent summer. There were only three or four other customers in the U shaped bar, but this was on a par with the other pubs in the area. The plasma screen was showing muted cricket and another plasma screen in the large library like room to the right of the bar was off. There was some background music playing and Jamiroquai seemed to be a popular artist in this pub. There is a quiz every Sunday from 19:30.
Food is served and the mains from the gastro menu are priced around the £12 mark. Standard and premium draught products line the bar and I counted five hand pumps. During my visit these were drawing Timothy Taylor’s Landlord, Adnams’ Lighthouse, Moor’s Merlin Magic, Cottage Brewery’s Austin A40 Somerset and RCH Brewery’s Old Slug.

I found the service here to be very friendly and I would have no problem returning for another well-kept pint.

On 5th July 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about East Dulwich Tavern

The East Dulwich Tavern, or 'EDT' as it annoyingly refers to itself, is a prominent street corner pub in this affluent South London suburb. As you enter towards the bar you are faced with a well lit triangular area to the left which has a lot of seating set up and was very busy on my recent Saturday afternoon visit, or a slightly smaller and darker section to the right with minimal seating and, during my stay at least, a TV screen showing live Premier League football. The room is quite nicely decorated with a mix of traditional and contemporary and I was particularly struck by the impressive wood and tile flooring. Additional seating is provided by way of a few benches on the pavement outside, but these are situated on a pretty busy corner and I can imagine it gets a bit crowded sat there.
We were here for food and as such we were ushered through some curtains towards the rear of the room, which gave way to a fairly large dining room, lit by a couple of large sky lights. The room is decorated with a number of unusual and interesting objects, the most memorable being the deer head and collection of skulls all nailed to one wall. The food we tried was of a very good quality and the pub changes its menu on a weekly basis which may well help to encourage return visits.
Four handpulls were dispensing Purity UBU, Sharp's Atlantic IPA, Adnams IPA and Bath Barnstormer, which struck me as a decent selection. I thought the Atlantic IPA was in excellent shape and the barman who served me was very polite and professional in dealing with a rude lady who tried to push in front of me at the bar. There were a few interesting products on tap as well, including Grolsch Weizen, Blue Moon as well as Addlestones and Stowford Press ciders. A blackboard around the right hand side of the bar listed some of their impressive bottled beer range.
The pub seems to be very popular with young parents and there were an awful lot of, admittedly well behaved, children, which might be off putting to some but they mostly congregated in the dining room, so drinkers were generally left alone anyway. I thought this might be a bit too pretentious for my liking but I found it quite a pleasant spot to spend an afternoon and I would certainly favour it over some of the fancy looking bars in the area.

On 21st April 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2512 recommendations about 2512 pubs]