User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
In the Hop Garden with rpadam on the Pub Forum

The Dog & Bell, Deptford, SE8

116 Prince Street
SE8
SE8 3JD
Phone: 02086925664

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Dog & Bell

Nice locals pub.Ugly red frontage but clean tidy 2 room interior with good rear outside area for smokers(or indeed anyone).Quiet on my visit.Loads of Belgian beers in the fridge (how quaint) 5 cask beers on but from the second division of brewers so I went for Plato brewery on keg.Nice and reasonable price.Casks from Bluestone.Conwyn,2 from Southwark.

On 30th September 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Dog & Bell

Looks like its had a make over. Immaculate, inside and out.

Traditional pub - possibly the only London pub with a Bar Skittles Table?

Four for five real ales on. I went safe for a perfect pint of London Pride at £3.80.

Worth seeking out. A near religious experience with the stained glass window and pew type seating. My type of Church.

Visit blogged at http://bit.ly/2nw0e2o

On 2nd April 2017 - rating: 10
[User has posted 276 recommendations about 275 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Dog & Bell

They had five ales on in here when I visited Wednesday lunchtime - London Pride, Colchester Diesel, Hogsback TEA, Mauldon Mole Trap and Clarence & Frederick Golden Ale (£3 a pint). I had a pint of the Clarence & Frederick which, while a little hazy, was a tasty hoppy summer style ale. I didn'e eat in here, but I did see a chalkboard on the wall advertising sarnies at £3.50 and pub grub main meals at around £6 - £7. There's a bit of outside seating at the back, and there were some newspapers for customers to read.

This is not only the best pub (by a country mile) in Deptford, it's the only decent pub there and was a welcome sight after the depressing walk up Deptford High St and spotting at least four closed pubs, with only the uninspiring White Swan bucking the trend. This pub hasn't changed appreciably since my last visit some five years ago (which is a very good thing indeed). The layout is the same with the separate room on the right that still contains the bar billiards table, and with traditional furnishings throughout.

This is a reasonably priced, clean and simple pub that does decent ale. That works for me. Definitely worth the walk from Deptford Station.

On 8th March 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Dog & Bell

Having heard a good few things about this place, I ventured in here with high hopes after walking the Deptford Creek. It’s tucked away down a side street off the main drag and certainly takes a little bit of determination to find. There’s a traditional bar to the left as you enter and a separate, more sparse, room up a few steps to the right. A friendly welcome and a couple of pints of ESB were got (cheap too, compared to Fuller’s own pubs) which sat alongside a couple of interesting micro brews and London Pride. Sunday lunch was being served and we decided to partake, having worked up an appetite. This is where things went massively awry – in short, my friend’s turned up and mine didn’t, even after I went over to the bar to have a quiet word. Still having not turned up and my friend now finished I decided it was money-back time and matey doing the dinners then proceeded to get snotty and started loudly blaming the woman behind the bar, then me. Abysmal customer service and it put a real dampener on what I judged to be a really good little ale pub (the other beers were all good as we drank them whilst waiting for the Bermuda Triangle roast).

Whilst I’d happily recommend this place for liquid refreshment, steer clear of the food is my advice. Without the ‘incident’ I would’ve given this one an 8. Shame.

On 21st August 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3969 recommendations about 3957 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Dog & Bell

The Dog and Bell is about a five minute stroll from Deptford station, in the direction of the river - a stroll that is well worth taking in order to find one of South London's finest backstreet pubs. The main bar has dark wood floors, tables and benches, which are offset by green panelling and yellow walls, all of which combine nicely to create a warm and comforting ambiance. A large pump clip collection is displayed above the bar counter whilst some modern art prints and a painting of the pub fill the walls. A TV screen is mounted above the door allowing those sat at the bar to watch French Open tennis during my stay.
A second room on the right hand side of the pub is carpeted and mostly filled with standard tables and chairs, although there is notably a bar billiards table at the rear of the room. A few people were sat in here, away from the busier main room and one or two seemed to be enjoying meals from the reasonable pub menu. A small outdoor patio area, covered by a large awning can be accessed from the rear of the pub, although their appeared to be maintenance work going on out there, so I didn't explore properly.
There were five handpulls dispensing Fullers London Pride and ESB, Slater's Top Totty (£2.95), Dark Star Golden Gate and Sharp's Doom Bar, all of which are listed with prices on a blackboard at the end of the bar. I tried the Slater's and found it in good shape. The pub is CAMRA friendly, with a table near the door covered in their literature.
For anyone looking for a charming traditional pub with well kept beer and friendly staff, the Dog and Bell is up there with the best the capital has to offer. Having poked my head in a few other pubs on my way back to the station, I would suggest that this is by far the best pub in Deptford at present and well worth seeking out if in the area.

On 27th June 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2449 recommendations about 2449 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The Dog & Bell

The Dog & Bell is a rare delight in an area where rare delights are pretty thin on the ground. The pub has survived the redevolpment that surrounds it and couldn’t be further from the karaoke and cocktail lounges that many pubs in the area have become.

The interior is in 2 distinct halves with a smaller room at the back. The main bar is all bare floors, plain décor and basic furnishings, delightfully unfussy and underplayed whilst the section away from the bar is a long narrow carpeted room with bright yellow walls, a small open fireplace, a row of tables down one side and a bar billiards table at the end. The smaller room at the rear is a go between to the kitchen but has a couple of additional tables and a selection of board games in a bookcase. At the rear is a small enclosed beer patio that captures the smell of the cooking form the adjacent kitchen.

The place is generally geared towards peace and quiet with low volume piped music, a selection of newspapers sitting on a sideboard and a TV (upgraded to flat screen since my last visit) that will never be found pumping out MTV or Sky Sports. More often than not the only people present will be regulars gathered at the bar assisting with the evening’s crossword, local cyclists for whom the D&B is a sort of magnet or CAMRA enthusiasts who have no other reason to visit Deptford other than the contents of the 5 hand pumps. The bar canopy contains a collection of numerous pump clips from the assorted guest ales that pass through. London Pride and Fullers ESB seemed to be the regulars available with Nethergate Lemon Head, Triple FFF Moondance and Whitstable East India IPA making up the guests on my latest trip.

There is a very reasonably priced menu of simple food (Burgers, Meat Balls, Ploughmans, Shepherds Pie, Fish & Chips etc) with most main courses under £6 and whilst I have never eaten here, the food did smell good!

In an area devoid of anywhere half decent, the Dog & Bell is worth seeking out and remains absolutely streets ahead of any of its local competitors.

On 23rd May 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Dog & Bell

I guess there may have once been a hundred backstreet pubs a bit like this one within a 5-mile radius. However, most of these have now gone and very few would ever have offered the range of beer you get here. Nothing obviously special inside or out, but clean and tidy and a warm welcome when you enter. Five real ales on, including a fine Gadds Oatmeal Stout. First rate.

On 30th October 2009 - rating: 9
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Dog & Bell

A pleasant back street oasis situated on an "inland" section of The Thames Path National Trail. The main bar area has original wooden floors and tables with old church pew seating. The L shaped area beyond wraps around and contains a bar billiard table plus some further more traditional chairs and tables. This area is carpeted and also contains a few reference books and board games. The decor is bright with green panelling and plenty of modern art pictures as well as of the old locality.
A pleasant atmosphere with a group of regulars happily chatting at the bar this afternoon. The bar gantry is covered in old beer mats.
Pride, ESB, Nethergate Priory Mild, Batemans XXXB, Cotleigh Tawny Owl were the selection, well kept and a first rate spot, well recommended.

On 15th May 2009 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1686 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Dog & Bell

This is an excellent backstreet boozer. I can well see why it features on many people's top 10 London pubs. They had five ales on when I dropped in during a weekday early afternoon – ESB; Pride: Archers Best; Nethergate Monk's Habit; and Whitstable Brewery's Pearl of Kent. I had the Pearl of Kent (£2.70 a pint) and the Monk's Habit (£2.60) and both were superb.
The pub consists of two bars. The “main” bar is bare-boarded with what looks like original boarding. There was no music playing (bliss!), and an unobtrusive television showing a bowls match of all things. The main seating is provided by what appears to be some re-cycled church pews. The other bar is carpeted, with some normal tables and chairs, and features a bar billiards table.
You would certainly not go to this pub for the view – roadworks framed against a backdrop of an enormous brick wall. This is one of those pubs that does not have any special physical features worth mentioning, but whose character and appeal comes from its very simplicity and the welcoming feel that it exudes. There is no doubt about it – this is a top pub with great beer.

On 11th November 2008 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


train man left this review about The Dog & Bell

Pride, ESB, plus 3 excellent guests, Gravesend Shrimpers, Itchen Valley Godfather, Dark Star Over the Moon, all in excellent shape. Nice ‘pew' seating next to large front windows, the side/rear room has plenty of conventional tables/chairs, some new artwork, an unused victorian style fireplace and bar-billiard table at far end. I have a note stating that there is a paved beer garden, although memory is somewhat hazy on that. Nice ambience, and good to see the new guv (Irish = well-run bar) maintaining the attractive beer selection offered by his predecessor.

27 September 2007
Fullers Pride & ESB plus 3 guests incl Nethergate and Pictish. I enjoyed them but felt that some people travelling here might expect a juxtaposition of different beer styles in the guest rotation - these were all golden ales. Still, the locals are very lucky to have this in their area, or would be if they'd turn that ludicrously loud talk radio down behind the bar - as if I need reminding how expensive my mortgage is getting while I'm having a pint!

On 28th April 2008 - rating: 7
[User has posted 411 recommendations about 410 pubs]

Page: 1 2