User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Bottled Beer Bargain Alert with Delboy20 on the Pub Forum

The George Canning, Denmark Hill, SE5

123 Grove Lane
SE5
SE5 8BG
Phone: 02072741527

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The George Canning

The entrance is up a couple of steps through a front decked seating area facing the road. Inside there is an opened out single boarded room with a central almost island bar. An octagonal column directly in front of the counter has some colourful psychedelic markings towards the top. Little otherwise of note regarding decorations.
Two handpumps with one on serving Brockley Brewery Pale Ale which looks to be a regular reading earlier reviews.
Plenty of regular seating but there are some high tables at the back and a pair of tatty sofas to the front corner. Toilets are George and Georgettes. How crap and naff is that?

On 5th February 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about The George Canning

Nice pub, front garden catches the sun but next to a busy road. Front doors of the pub open up, so traffic noise comes inside too. 2 real ale taps, but a regular, sitting at the bar, had his newspaper covering one and half covering the other. Had to go round the side to see what it was. Tall shelves behind the bar with lots of wine, will need tall ladder for the top shelf. Food available at good prices. WiFi available.

On 9th June 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 753 recommendations about 716 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The George Canning

The George Canning is situated in a quite area away from the middle of Camberwell.
Once inside there is a single L shaped room with the bar facing,the room is bare boarded,there was one tall chunky wood table and stools near the entrance,there were a few settees in the middle area,there was a TV at each side of the room which were showing the Arsenal v Man City game.
There is a slightly open kitchen to the rear left,it is within the main room but you car'nt see what is going on.
There was one real ale on the bar which was Brockley Pale Ale,this was a nice drink.
The pub was very busy with people watching the football.
This is a pleasant pub,i was quite happy having a drink here.

Pub visited 13/9/2014

On 13th September 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The George Canning

There was just the one ale on here – Brockley Brewery Pale Ale, at a very reasonable £3.50 a pint. A second handpump had another Brockley Pale Ale clip reversed. I saw some food that looked OK being delivered to another table, but I didn’t see a menu. However I did see a chalkboard advertising a “finger food” menu (most places would go the whole hog and call it tapas) offering any three items for £10.

This is another pub that has been thoroughly modernised inside. Four large sofas dominate the front of the room, two on either side of the doorway, with a couple of cheap looking tall tables/tall stools flanking them just inside the doorway. Two additional tall tables/tall stools are on the left, with some more standard furnishings on the right as well as behind the TV on the left. There’s a bit of outside seating at the front. Although this is by no means a gastropub, it did have a couple of gastropub features – the old Champagne bottles on a mantlepiece, and the wines bottles displayed in the bar back. There’s no decor worth mentioning, with any available wall space taken up by chalkboards and adverts for the likes of Bacardi, Red Bull and Jack Daniels.

I really enjoyed my pint of Brockley Pale Ale, but overall the pub seems to be trying to be something that it’s not. The sofas, Champagne and wine bottles, etc, look a bit out of place in what feels like a traditional boozer. Despite all this, I quite liked it in here for some reason. A rarely seen local ale in good condition might have something to do with it.

On 19th June 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The George Canning

The George Canning is a small U shaped bar with a large decked area with café seating out the front. The bar supports two hand pumps that were drawing Greene King IPA and Doom Bar during my recent Friday afternoon visit. There is also a selection of Standard and premium draught, but I wasn’t very impressed when I was charged £2 for half a Fosters. Food is available all day, but I only spotted a lunchtime menu on which dishes start from £5. There was some background music playing and the television was showing muted rolling news. I didn’t spot any advertisements for Sky Sports.

The barman was friendly enough, but I won’t be rushing back here as I prefer a more traditional pub setting.

On 7th June 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Calli Jones left this review about The George Canning

just spectacular decor and wonderful surrounds, full with lovely people and amazing staff with great service too! Highly recommended, that's coming from an independent pub reviewer with 8 years experience! just go look for yourself! (:

On 6th March 2011 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Calli Jones left this review about The George Canning

The George Cranning pub is currently under new management and is popular with the locals. Stunning decor and an inviting feel to it, although it could use a hand with the atmosphere. Needs more of a pub feel but has a lot of regular punters which shows just how popular and welcoming this lovely pub just is. Incredibly suprising as it's very large and friendly inside and never fails to please. You must visit if you are passing or are looking for a great day/evening out at a pub.

On 27th February 2011 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The George Canning

Enterprise Inns makeover of a smallish local, aiming at trendier types - food claimed to be all organic etc (although I admit the burgers were extremely good). Beers in good form though, including Landlord and Doombar when visited. Not much of a pub feel, but ok for what it is.

On 30th June 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2198 recommendations about 2148 pubs]