User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Halifax Crawl - 21 June 2024 with Gann on the Pub Forum

The Fox on the Hill (JD Wetherspoon), Denmark Hill, SE5

153 Denmark Hill
SE5
SE5 8EH
Phone: 02077384756

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Fox on the Hill (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a large, landmark Wetherspoons pub sat at the top of Denmark Hill, a short uphill walk from the station of the same name. The first thing that strikes you on approach is the size of the pub’s beer garden – occupying an unusually large triangle of grass that slopes downhill from the pub and is covered with countless picnic benches – good luck to the staff who have to deal with table service-only orders out here on a hot summer’s day. Closer to the pub, there is a decent sized car park and a pleasant patio seating area lined with lots of colourful plants. The pub is divided into three main areas to the front, right and rear of the building, with the current one-way system taking you into the right-hand room, which sees the servery run along the left-hand wall, with seating in two rows opposite. This carpeted room has lincrusta decorations on the lower part of the walls and a mix of high tables and stools, mostly directly opposite the bar, with hard benches and chairs around the perimeter, some of which have been formed into booths by wooden partitioning screens with etched glass panes bearing the Wetherspoons logo. The bar has a nice dark wood counter with some detailed pillars supporting the gantry and a simple mirrored bar back. The walls have been decorated with the usual black and white photos and ‘Spoons information boards plus the occasional modern art print. The front bar is a much smaller space, with the servery dominating the rear of the room and limited seating along the front wall. It’s quite a nice space and far more ‘pubby’ than anything you’ll find in your average Wetherspoons, but its relatively compact size means that tables fill up quickly and I can imagine that, were we not under the current table-service restrictions, bar blockers and vertical drinkers could diminish the room’s appeal. Finally, the rear dining room is the largest of the three and had been set aside solely for customers intending to order food and drink via the Wetherspoons app. I therefore only had a brief glimpse of this room but appeared to be a well laid-out split-level space with ample seating options and plenty more of those etched glass partitioning screens. I’m told there is also a rear beer garden, as if any more al fresco seating were needed, but I didn’t bother trying to explore in the dark.
I counted six guest ales on the bar and just three ‘Spoons regulars, but clearly having nine ales on is too much of a stretch as my Roosters Yankee was very much on the turn. It also took me an eternity to get served here, with most staff busy shuttling food and drink to the app ordering types in the other room, although I eventually caught the attention of a polite barman who went through the farce of taking my order, bringing the drink to my table and then asking me to come to the bar anyway to pay by card. I also had some food here, opting for a panini which I thought would be impossible to screw up, but the kitchen staff here somehow obliged, presenting a barely toasted panini with severely undercooked chips.
This is a grand looking pub in an impressive location and with a smart interior, and as I entered, my hopes were high for a stand-out Wetherspoons visit. However, this place seems to be struggling to cope with basics such as getting the right number of beers on to match turnover, spotting food and drink-less customers desperate to place an order and not knowing how to warm up a pre-made panini. This ended up being a bit of a soul-destroying visit and only added to my notion that the usually ultra-reliable Wetherspoons chain is actually a bit of a liability in the Covid-era.

On 19th October 2020 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3140 recommendations about 3140 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Fox on the Hill (JD Wetherspoon)

A very large Wetherspoons in what was an original pub. Situated prominently on a triangular site uphill from Denmark Hill Station and opposite Ruskin Park, inside there is an almost island bar, fireplaces and a fair bit of dark wood. On arrival I was somewhat dismayed to see a row of handpumps in front of me offering the usual row of dismal regulars however I persisted and found another bank offering a few from the London Beer Festival. Annoyingly three of the six were as they say coming soon, this included two from Portabello. On were Enefeld London Pale Ale, Flack Manor Hedges Hop, Liberty Cream Ale and Cronx Yallah Mild. All were £2.19.
A bonus was a designated family area meaning young kids were not allowed full run of the pub which to me suits all. As for the old bloke who reckoned I was sitting in his stool, sorry pal, it doesn't work like that.

On 8th February 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1708 recommendations about 1681 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Fox on the Hill (JD Wetherspoon)

The Fox on the Hill is a large looking Spoons pub that is a shortish walk uphill from Denmark Hill station.
Once inside there is what looks like a very large island bar with large seating areas around it,i had a drink in the right side of the pub which had normal tables and chairs to the rear with the usuall tall ones to the front.
There were 10 pumps on the bar with four having the usuall Spoons beers on like Doom Bar and Ruddles,i had a drink of Sambrooks Pale Ale which went down very well after a long bus journey to Golders Green followed by another hours travelling to Denmark Hill,the other beers i noted were Jennings Blazing Saddle and Wychwood Bountifull.
I quite liked this Spoons.

Pub visited 13/9/2014

On 13th September 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Fox on the Hill (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a ‘spoons, so obviously you get a decent selection of ales, and the usual pub grub menu, all at very reasonable prices. The usual mix of tall tables/tall stools, booths, and normal tables and chairs is here, plus of course old black and white prints of local scenes.

Unusually, this ‘spoons is in an original pub, still bearing the original name, occupying a very large and prominent site on Denmark Hill. Inside it’s predictably large, although as it’s an original pub building it’s split into distinct areas mirroring the original multi-room format. One of the areas is designated as a family room, with other areas off limits to children. There’s a car park, and very large garden, at the front of the pub.

It’s a ‘spoons so you know what you’re going to get, but here the chain hasn’t managed to destroy all its original pub character. As ‘spoons go, I reckon it’s one of the better ones, and definitely worth dropping in for a beer or two.

On 19th June 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2606 recommendations about 2520 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Fox On The Hill (JD Wetherspoon)

This one really took me by surprise. It's a grandiose detached former Charrington's pub in extensive grounds perched on the top of Denmark Hill. The Car Park contained far more vehicles than could be accounted for by the number of customers and there is a large grass covered garden with picnic benches. It almost felt like it was out in the countryside despite only being a five minute walk from Denmark Hill Station. It was also cheaper than the previous two very urban Spoons I had come from.

There were five festival ales on three of which were doubled up plus the two usual GK beers. Two pumps were wasted with Doombar and London Pride.

I had the Cotleigh Lemon Ale (£2.15) which was in superb nick. If you're sick of converted shops, offices, banks and cinemas then this one is well worth a look, I really liked it. It is GBG (2014) listed.

On 26th October 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Fox On The Hill (JD Wetherspoon)

Very imposing 'spoons housed in a proper pub building with a huge beer garden looking down Denmark Hill. Nothing very exciting about the interior, though. Lots of duplicates from the two banks of six handpumps, with Ruddles, Abbot, Broadside, Hobgoblin, Adnams Ghost Ship and Brentwood Best (excellent value at £2.15) available when I visited.

On 16th June 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 8160 recommendations about 8160 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Fox On The Hill (JD Wetherspoon)

A large attractive Wetherspoons that is outside of their usual mould, being as it is in a large post-war building set in substantial grounds with a large grassed-over outdoor drinking area. The interior is the usual JDW-by-numbers and quite dimly-lit with a lot of dark wood fittings. Service was swift if somewhat harassed. A decent selection of five guest ales; my initial selection of Ponmanu was well-past its best but was replaced (though noticeably not taken off) by a very good Lambeth Walk. I ate here and the food ticked the usual JDW boxes, no issues from me with the nosh presented. Unusually for JDW the toilets were very basic and poorly-maintained. An interesting mix of clientèle; the young lass dressed in a naughty nurse uniform would certainly have attracted a request for ID in other parts of the country; perhaps Jimmy Saville’s ghost is alive and well in Denmark Hill. Overall not a bad JDW but has room for improvement.

On 8th May 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 5239 recommendations about 5222 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Fox On The Hill (JD Wetherspoon)

Rambling Wetherspoons benefitting from being in a proper pub building and having its own grounds, with a fair amount of car parking space (very useful in this area). Could do with a little bit of tlc, but quite acceptable. Short walk from Denmark Hill station.

On 7th June 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3353 recommendations about 3290 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about Fox On The Hill

Large Wetherspoon's on the brow of Denmark Hill selling a good range of guest beers.Nice outside drinking area at the back.Usual wethergrub.

On 10th April 2007 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2044 recommendations about 2025 pubs]