User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pubs Galore 10th Anniversary Crawl with oldboots on the Pub Forum

The Angel, SE16

101 Bermondsey Wall East
SE16
SE16 4NB

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Ian Mapp left this review about The Angel

Nothing on the outside indicating its a Sam Smiths pub. All becomes painfully apparent when you wonder in, see the pumps and the huge sign telling you that mobiles are banned.

Right.

Outside and inside, its worth checking out for its tradition and of course, its location. A central bar is surrounded by various rooms partition by wood with a 5ft hole to crouch through.

This does of course mean you can find a place where the staff can't see you on your phone.

How else are you expected to work out how to get Charlton on public transport!

On 13th January 2020 - rating: 6
[User has posted 669 recommendations about 663 pubs]


Quinno _ left this review about The Angel

A survivor building on the Thames side, owned by Sam Smiths. The interior is a fairly open plan U shape, broken-up by half-height wood panelled dividers with extremely low passageway entrances - looked to me like they are a recent addition (having now researched, I was right!). Usual Sam's range of browns and creams, along with a polished concrete(?) floor which gave it an austere feel. On exploring we discovered a tidy and cosier side section with extra rooms, comfy seating and a river view up and including Tower Bridge. There’s also access to a small decking area outside – though mind your shoes as the wake caused by passing boats will break underneath and push jets of water up through the gaps! The upstairs area wasn’t open on my visit, which was a shame as I hear the views are excellent. No cask OBB here, sadly, so bottles of Organic Perry and Pale Ale were the order of the day. The long haired barman resembled Neil from the Young Ones, who would have probably enjoyed it in here. A solid Sam’s.

On 18th December 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Angel

A nice Sam Smiths pub with several divided areas and despite Tris's misgivings an excellent view up river of Tower Bridge, St Pauls, The Shard and the City. No real ale but in these situations the Extra Stout always suffices.

On 8th July 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1327 recommendations about 1313 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Angel

Perfectly described below, a beautifully restored Thameside pub with stalls, a dartboard and three coal fires. I do though take slight issue with the mesmeric views across the river as here it's brown, sloshy, murky and nothing to write home about. If this were the Thames fronting the City and Tower Bridge however...
Internally, there are 19th century photos showing this pub in a built-up area with dock houses either side and fronting onto a narrow street. All this has gone now of course, with just one dockside house a short way to the east but with the benefit of the ruins of Edward III's palace just to the south side.
Sadly this is a Smith's house so of course there's no real ale. Worse, it's Sovereign or OBB on keg and whilst there was no Man in the Box to be had, my pint of Taddy Lager went down well on this hot evening, though it did cost £3.50.
This pub is certainly worth a visit but I wouldn't go out of my way to return again as I live nowhere near this part of London.

On 26th August 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 966 recommendations about 951 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Angel

Nice old Sam Smith's pub in a prime position directly beside the Thames, only let down by having no cask ale available. The 'U'-shaped bar is sub-divided into three parts by a couple of half-height screens, and there are two small rooms at the back overlooking the river, but with all having a slightly austere feel due to the wood-panelling. However, if it's open, it's well worth heading upstairs to the rather splendid lounge offering the best views of all. With the dismal beer offering, I opted for the Extra Stout (£3.60), but this place deserves better than this (although it is still worth seeking out for other reasons).

On 1st August 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6109 recommendations about 6109 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Angel

A bright and airy pub on our hot and sunny Saturday afternoon visit. As with all Sam Smiths pubs, you can expect to see a historical interior, well you won't be disappointed here. Unfortunately the upstairs room was closed off due to a private function being held on our visit. We went for a Sam Smiths lager as per.

On 1st August 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roy Collins left this review about The Angel

Doesnt even sell Its own Sam Smiths bitter on draught.

On 22nd April 2016 - rating: 2
[User has posted 124 recommendations about 121 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Angel

This is a lovely old pub in a splendid riverside location with possibly the best pub views in London upstream to Tower Bridge, The Shard and The Gherkin as well as that new one that started setting things on fire in the summer. It has been sympathetically restored by Samuel Smiths, the ground floor boasts five small areas, some divided by the old style half height screens with low doors which in Victorian days would have been used by cleaners and potmen. Previously a Courage house, my understanding is that the building required extensive refurbishment once taken over, something Sam Smiths do very well indeed, their pub architecture is first rate. Sadly however, for me anyway, their beer is not of the same quality, especially when there is no choice but the keg version of OBB as here which apart from being keg is always served very cold. It is however well worth suffering this to visit and appreciate this pub.
The small rooms all have individual character, one room in the Public Bar retains a dartboard, the Private Bar is central and the Lounge bar is on the end with a fireplace. Stone/terrazzo flooring, lots of wood panelling, retro or possibly original gas lamps on show, stone jars and bottles on high shelves. A small outdoor wooden terrace sits right at the water's edge but the best views are from the upstairs room which has a mixture of seating including a few sofas and armchairs. I had this area to myself on Friday afternoon and sat enjoying the view and sipping my half of OBB while the river craft sailed by and the wind rattled the sash windows. All rather atmospheric.
The place is almost all you could wish for in a pub except for the opportunity to get something decent to drink. As RR says below, even the real version of OBB would make a real difference. Still a must visit if passing or walking the Thames Path however.

On 9th February 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Angel

2 floor Sam Smith's pub next to the river Thames. A central bar with old style fittings as described below. The pub has a dartboard. Sadly the statue mentioned by Steve C below has been stolen but posters advertised the local community raising money to try and purchase a replacement.

On 30th October 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2700 recommendations about 2644 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Angel

This pub is in a fantastic riverside location by the Thames and I was very surprised that there were only six or seven people outside taking advantage of the fantastic weekday sun. There is plenty of seating and standing room in which is for pub users and passers by alike and there are a couple of tables along the river front where the water ripples lap up just the other side of a balustrade. I am struggling to think of anywhere better in London to while away the hours on a sunny day. The inside of the pub has been restored to its finest by those people at Samuel Smiths, it’s just a shame that there is no real ale on hand pump and I would have devoured a nice pint of Guinness.

The booze is cheap and the welcome from the barman was very friendly and the location is superb, it’s just a shame about the range and lack of beer. I wouldn’t go out of my way to drink here again, which is unfortunate.

A quite interesting fact is that at the opposite side of the public area to the pub there is a statue of Dr Salter sitting on a bench looking at his daughter and her cat. This guy was a bit of a crusader for the needy in Bermondsey and was a Labour councillor for some years in between the two World Wars.

On 12th July 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]

Page: 1 2