User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Wetherspoon's news of the day with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

Sir Colin Campbell, Kilburn, NW6

266 Kilburn High Road
NW6
NW6 2BY

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 5 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Tris C left this review about Sir Colin Campbell

Date of visit: February 2010.

The green fascia's green colour scheme of many years has been eschewed in favour of the black/dark blue seen today, with the Watney Combe Reid roundel sensibly preserved. It seemed like a nice pub with older jolly Irish customers with no real ale but very good Guinness. This may have had a makeover in the interim period as a photo shows an upstairs dining room with tables laid.

On 25th October 2020 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 997 recommendations about 982 pubs]


Blue Scrumpy left this review about Sir Colin Campbell

We managed to enter through the exit of this pub, which is the only Good Beer Guide entry for NW6. Although, there were no real ales at all for our visit. The keg selection was Gamma Ray, Neck Oil, Capel Road, Amstel, Kronenbourg, Hop House 13 & Guinness.

Much deteriorated from my last visit, in terms of ale range, the dark interior still feels fairly homely. But with the only other customer on our arrival sat outside, it lacked any kind of atmosphere. Another customer did come in (also through the exit). But fairly disappointing in all.

On 4th August 2020 - rating: 4
[User has posted 378 recommendations about 378 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about Sir Colin Campbell

Best pub for real ale along the Cricklewood and Kilburn stretch.Nice warm cosy pub to boot.Busy.Only 3 real ales on my visit but Weird Beard -Little Things That Kill was good.

On 25th January 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Sir Colin Campbell

This pub has definitely gone up several notches since previous reviewers' unmemorable visits. This pub still retains its two rooms, joined by an archway behind the servery. Each room has three handpumps - two in each room were repeated, and in each room there was a pumpclip on a bottle to indicate the beer available in the other room. The four ales on were the Tiny Rebel pair of Rocksteady and Juicy, plus One Mile End Temperance, and Watney's Pale Ale. I was a bit dubious about the latter of these, but the barman kindly gave me a taster and as it tasted fine - and was on special offer at £3 a pint - I gave it a go. And it was very good. The barman didn't know who brewed it, but a quick search reveals that it's brewed under licence at Sambrook's. There was no sign of any food at 3.30 PM on Wednesday.

Of the two rooms the one on the right, which I guess might have been the Saloon Bar, seems the most interesting. The walls are wood panelled to dado height, with wood framed wall panels above that as well as a wood framed fireplace. It looks to be good quality - oak perhaps. There's a simple bar back, now see through between the two rooms, and a simple and cheap-looking bar counter. The pub sign still has its old Watney Combe Reid signage. It all looks inter-war to me. There's a small garden at the back.

All furnishings are pretty standard, being mainly normal tables and chairs, but the room on the right has a banquette, settle, as well as a couple of tall tables/tall stools. There are one or two deals - Monday gets you £1 off a pint of real ale or craft beer (however that's defined) plus accoustic music, and there were also deals regarding cocktails that I couldn't be arsed to write down. Quiz night Tuesday.

I reckon that this is a cracking little pub. It has a welcoming feel to it, and I would be very happy to visit it again.

On 24th July 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Sir Colin Campbell

The Sir Colin Campbell is a proper looking pub situated on the busy Kilburn high road.
Once inside there are two seperate rooms divided by a bar,but are linked at the rear,each room is narrow and oblong shaped,i had a drink in the room to the left,the seating was normal tables and chairs,no bench seating here,there was a darts board to the rear left.
There were no real ales on,i had a drink of John Smiths smooth crap which was a bit better than normal.
There was some background music playing,the landlord seemed friendly enough and gave me advise on early opening pubs on the high road.
This was a decent enough pub to have a drink in.

Pub visited 1/5/2014

On 1st May 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about Sir Colin Campbell

There are lots of advertisements adorning the walls of this U-shaped Irish pub advertising traditional music on Friday and Saturday nights, but it was very depressing during my Saturday afternoon visit.

There are a couple of TVs at the badly lit rear, but no Sky Sports and surprisingly the Guinness wasn't up to scratch. The barman was a nice chap, but I go the feeling that the old boys in attendance would have preferred it if I had walked past the pub.

There is a dartboard, but there was seating on the oche and I'm not sure that I'd want to stay for a game anyway.

I'm a big fan of Irish pubs, but not this one.

On 15th November 2009 - rating: 4
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about Sir Colin Campbell

A rather dull and boring horseshoe shaped pub with bright interior, newish looking furniture and quite devoid of anything that stands out other than its blandness. Plain mirrors, plain walls, plain ceiling, in fact it is all very er, plain. The beers are also equally exciting, the usual mass produced kegs and lagers. The locals are friendly enough but are generally the oiled up variety there to watch horse racing and who tend to spontaneously burst into song at the slightest drop of a Frank Sinatra reference. It's all very depressing or amusing depending on your outlook but overall, the pub is really not worth spending too much time over other than to get away from a crowd.

On 14th February 2007 - rating: 3
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]