User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 20th September 2020) with Thuck Phat on the Pub Forum

Plaquemine Lock, N1

1a Sudeley Street
N1
N1 8HP

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Plaquemine Lock

Seafood / Louisiana themed gastro-pub, close to Angel underground but in a quiet side street near the Regent's Canal. Being on a corner, it's no surprise to find a 'L'-shaped layout but a small dining room is retained at one end. Semi-modern furniture, but much of the seating is on a jumbled 'sort it out for yourselves' selection of high stools. Hammerton No 1 (£4.50) available from one of the pair of handpumps.

On 8th September 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6109 recommendations about 6109 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about Plaquemine Lock

Modern gastro pub with a good vibe going on. It is of course as described below with the same two cask beers on as encountered by Mr Fastard below, the Three Sods beer was good, as was the Gumbo.It was very busy Sunday afternoon,in contrast to the Charles Lamb around the corner, that was strangely empty, as mentioned not a boozer but I quite liked it and spent a good hour here.

On 9th April 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1327 recommendations about 1313 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Plaquemine Lock

An unusual pub,very well described by Tris.There seems a split personality here,with a yellow theme to the left with a mural in watercolours on a rear wall,while around the bar and to the right retains a lot of pre war details ,especially the descrete snug on the far right side with a circular table.Food is a main draw here,Southern States style think gumbo and po'boys sandwiches and there is a sign saying that you may have to relinquish your seat for those dining when it's busy.There is a drinking shelf opposite the bar with yellow covered padded stools and this area allows the only views of the Regents Canal which passes by in a cutting before diving into Islington Tunnel.
There is a decent selection of 8 craft kegs,featuring some hipsterish brewers such as Four Pure and Belleville while two handpumps were drawing Three Sods Mon Cheri IPA and Hammerton N1 (decent).Two of the serving team are french ,customer service is like being in a Parisian restaurant so expect a margin of indifference.
Live jazz some Sundays,the vibe is laid back and although it's not a boozer,you can just pitch up for a pint.I may well return to try the food,there were some good smells wafting around.

On 26th February 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2068 recommendations about 2068 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about Plaquemine Lock

This pub dates back to at least the mid-19th century though was rebuilt in the 1930s. Until recently it displayed its original Taylor Walker fascia signage which sadly has been covered up by the bar's current owner, though at least they used faience tiles which have some authenticity. Inside, this is a CAMRA London Regional Inventory pub, presumably because of the fantastic inlaid wood panelling with 'tiger stripe' patina which looks to be Art Deco. However, I think that some of the panelling may have been lost during the conversion which if so, would be an awful act. Otherwise the interior is modern with new bare boards, a new restaurant/rear bar with plenty of pus-coloured paint, the same colour applied to the stools' vinyl covering. Above, there are modern spot lights and a new awning to the bar with a cartoonish alligator painted onto it. There are beer glass shelves below the windows which afford a view (almost) out onto the Regent's Canal. The walls are hung with old prints from life in the Deep South of the United States and a boisterous jazz soundtrack played over the gramophone. Another notable feature of the venue is the completely unisex lavatories which may not appeal to all.
Food here is Cajun/creole which has attracted very decent reviews from restaurant critics such as Fay Maschler and Jay Rayner.
Ales: Hammerton's Blank Slate and N1 which was good as it should be at £4.50 a pint.
This isn't really what I'd call a pub anymore but at the same time it would be unfair to call it a restaurant either; you can come here, bag a table and sink some ale in a decent environment. A larger selection of ales would be a bonus but the Plaquemine Lock wouldn't provide a distraction for me on my way to The Charles Lamb, one minute's walk from here.

On 8th September 2017 - rating: 4
[User has posted 964 recommendations about 949 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Richard Boden left this review about The Prince Of Wales

I must admit, if I found myself running short of time, I was going to miss this one out of the itinerary and go straight to the Charles Lamb. That would have been a mistake as it turned out to be the star of the evening. Surrounded by streets where even the smallest terraced house fetches £1m+, it's something of a miracle that such an untouched warm and welcoming local has resisted re-development or gentrification (can't help feeling it's only a matter of time). The barmaid (landlady?) should be preserved as a national treasure. In the end I didn't get to the Charles Lamb.

On 27th November 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Prince Of Wales

I struggle to give a good review to a pub that has both of its TVs playing quiz shows on Challenge TV at full volume because if I had wanted to watch Catchphrase I would have stayed at home.

The locals sitting at a couple of picnic tables outside were very rowdy and seemed slightly threatening. Thankfully I have learnt that first impressions are often misguided and I ended up talking to one of these ‘hooligans' and discovered that he was actually a very nice chap.

Adnams and Spitfire were available during my visit along with a standard draught selection and Old Rosie. My Guinness was well served and I found the barman to be friendly enough.

It's a shame about the choice of TV program and hopefully it was a one off as I liked this pub and I would go back in here again if in the area, but I would turn on my heels at any sign of Roy Walker.

On 4th September 2009 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Prince Of Wales

This is an honest and simple backstreet boozer. They had a couple of real ales on when I dropped in – Adnam's Bitter and Spitfire. I had the Adnam's which I have to say was not in very good nick - hopefully it was a one-off and I was just unlucky. Tiled fireplace and dartboard are notable interior features – outside, what looks like original brewery tiling gives this pub a very authentic “pub” feel to it. Visiting this pub seems like stepping back in time to the 60s. I shall definitely give it another go when I am next in the area.

On 22nd September 2008 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]